|Japanese (base text)||
|Base text (anime)||
Xyz Materials (pronounced ik-seez) (Japanese:
Many Xyz Monsters have effects that require detaching Xyz Materials (sending an Xyz Material attached to that Xyz Monster to the Graveyard) as an activation cost. If the Xyz Monster is no longer in a Monster Zone, any Xyz Materials that were attached to that Xyz Monster are sent to the Graveyard.
Some card effects allow attaching cards to Xyz Monsters as Xyz Materials (placing them underneath the Xyz Monster) through means other than Xyz Summon. Some card effects allow cards to be attached as Xyz Materials (such as "Xyz Reborn", "Overlay Regen" and "Number 101: Silent Honor ARK").
Unlike the terms Fusion Material Monster and Synchro Material Monster, the term "Xyz Material Monster" was never used. In addition, since July 2017, most instances of effects unambigously referring to Xyz Materials now simply say "material".
Xyz Materials underneath Xyz Monsters do not count as monsters, so detached Xyz Materials will be sent to the Graveyard even if "Dimensional Fissure" is on the field. While monsters are acting as Xyz Materials, they cannot be targeted nor apply their effects.
Xyz Materials are not treated as being on the field, and also being attached as an Xyz Material is not considered to be the card leaving the field. Therefore, when an Xyz Material is attached or detached, any effects of the Xyz Material that only activate when it leaves the field (such as "Reborn Tengu") do not activate. Token Monsters cannot be used as Xyz Materials, because Xyz Materials are attached to the Xyz Monster and attached Xyz Materials are not considered to be on the field.
Even when attaching Xyz Materials with a card effect, Xyz Materials can only be attached to Xyz Monsters (e.g. "Phantom of Chaos" that has copied the effect of "Number C101: Silent Honor DARK" cannot activate the effect to attach a card as an Xyz Material). Likewise, even with a card effect, Token Monsters cannot be attached as Xyz Materials.
Before it was clarified that Xyz Materials cannot be on the field, as an interim ruling, the TCG ruled that they were on the field (whereas the OCG consistently ruled that they were not).
In the anime
In Yu-Gi-Oh! ZEXAL and Yu-Gi-Oh! ARC-V, as previously noted, Xyz Materials are instead called Overlay Units, and are depicted as orbs of light orbiting the body of the Xyz Monster and colored the same as the Xyz Monster's Attribute. Additionally, during an Xyz Summon, the cards to be used as Xyz Material light up with the color of their own Attribute before being overlaid.
When the player detaches Xyz Materials for their respective Xyz Monster's effect, the Xyz Monster is shown to absorb the Xyz Material through several methods, such as through their mouths or any weapon they may be carrying. In some cases, the Xyz Monster will glow the color of the orb it absorbed before releasing its effect. Uniquely, the Xyz Materials of "C" monsters of Barian origin are depicted as magenta crystals that appear in front of or behind the monster. These are named Chaos Overlay Units (abbreviated as "CORU").
In ARC-V, Xyz Materials are still usually absorbed by the Xyz Monster but sometimes they are thrown on the opponent's targeted monster instead. A recurring example of this occurrence is the effect of "Raidraptor - Rise Falcon", which in the anime allows it to gain the total ATK of all Special Summoned monsters on the opponent's field. In general the effects tend to be much less elaborate than in ZEXAL; for example, rather than absorbing Overlay Units into its body, "Dark Rebellion Xyz Dragon" simply causes the Material to disintegrate in its orbital path.
- ↑ "Starter Deck: Dawn of the Xyz". Konami. http://www.yugioh-card.com/en/products/starter2011.html.
- ↑ "Important Rulebook Updates! “Xyz Materials” and “Leaves the Field”". Jerome McHale. http://www.konami.com/yugioh/articles/?p=3195.
- ↑ "Adjudication Conflagration". Kevin Tewart. http://www.facebook.com/groups/248499755248/?view=permalink&id=10150758094475249.