Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Tribute

Redirected from Tributing

98,558pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Page Help12 Share
Tribute

Japanese

リリース (formerly にえささげる)

English

Tribute
Formerly: offer as a Tribute or offer as Tributes
Noun: Tribute (Monster)

Tribute, called Release (Japanese: リリース Rirīsu) in the OCG and the Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's and Yu-Gi-Oh! ZEXAL anime series (previously called Sacrifice (にえささげる Ikenie ni Sasageru) in the OCG and the Yu-Gi-Oh! and Yu-Gi-Oh! GX anime series, and offer as a Tribute in the TCG) refers to a method of sending a monster(s) the player controls to the Graveyard.

Monsters can be Tributed in two ways:

Unless a card specifically states that you can Tribute monsters in your hand or under your opponent's control, such as "Gishki Aquamirror" and "Reptilianne Vaskii", you can only Tribute monsters you control (on the field).

While normally only monsters can be Tributed, some cards, such as "True Draco" cards and "Kiryu", can Tribute Spell and Trap Cards.

Tributed cards do not need to end up in the Graveyard to still be considered Tributed. For example, Tributed cards banished by the effect of "Macro Cosmos" will still be considered to be Tributed, so the cost of cards such as "Horn of Heaven" can still be paid while "Macro Cosmos" is active.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.