When a flip monster (face-down) is removed from play the flip activate?

when you flip summon a card can you move it into defense mode before the end of your main phase?--Blueyeyesawesomedragon 02:23, 2 March 2009 (UTC)

  • No you cant since you can only change the Position of a monster once per turn without using a card effect. 08:17, December 14, 2009 (UTC)

Wait a minute....

As far as i can remember, flip summoning was always considered a form of special summon. Unless it has recently changed in the rulebooks, the page is in error. I'm too lazy to log in, someone please look it up and change it if necessary. -Sanctuary 7 11:41, 30 April 2009 (UTC) -Flip summon is Only when you change from set to face-up attack position.


I want a wild card who purchase a card, help me!!

A flip summon is not a special summon, nor is it a normal summon. It has a category of it's own, seeing as it doesn't take your normal summon up, but isn't a special summon, either. it is a flip summon, nothing more, nothing less.


So can you flip summon the turn it is summoned. And, can you flip summon on your opponents turn, the turn after it's summoned?

  • The answer is no, to both questions

Set to defense

Can you flip a set monster to faceup defense position instead of faceup attack position? need answer a.s.a.p.

  • If you flip it yourself (meaning not via an effect like Swords of Revealing Light) then no, it is flipped into face-up Attack Position, unless it is attacked.Altyrell 03:55, February 1, 2010 (UTC)

Trap hole

I got in an argument with my friend because he keeps saying flip summon is considered normal summon, which he says he's able to activate trap hole on a flip summoned monster...Help me out please!!! cause I know you can't activate trap hole on a flip summoned monster.-- 04:31, April 1, 2010 (UTC)

Hint: Read the card, it says "Activate only when your opponent Normal Summons or Flip Summons a monster with 1000 or more ATK. Destroy that monster." Falzar FZ 04:39, April 1, 2010 (UTC)

Aw damn, my bad lol.-- 06:08, April 1, 2010 (UTC)

Ok, so what if trap hole DOESN'T say it destroys flip summons, then would it not work?

You always follow what the newest errata says, even if the card you own says otherwise. In this case, it says Normal Summons or Flip Summons. Falzar FZ 06:45, April 1, 2010 (UTC)

Your friend is correct in saying that Trap Hole can be activated on a flip summon, however a flip summon is NOT considered a Normal Summon.--Qim1 (talkcontribs) 22:59, August 2, 2010 (UTC)

Morphing Jar #2 Flip Summon

I flip summon morphing jar #2 and use its effects. Then I got morphing jar #2 again by its own effect. Can I flip summon it again?(would it be treated as a different monster compare to itself before returning to the deck) -- 05:36, April 30, 2010 (UTC)Vincent T.

You can't manually change a monsters position on the same turn it is Summoned or Set. Falzar FZ 06:23, April 30, 2010 (UTC)


Hello I was wondering about the Wind-Up archetypes? Now they basically focus on using their effects then either returning them or flip summoning them continuously to use their effects constantly. What I'm wondering is this, if you can flip summon indefinitely since it's not considered a normal or special summon, does that mean say.. I had all 3 copies of Legendary Wind-Up Key in my hand and a few of the wind-up monsters out of the field, does that mean I could flip summon them and spam their abilities 3 times or not? Also when say a card like Wind-Up Warrior or Wind-Up Soldier uses his ability on another Wind-Up monster, when the 'affected' monster is flipped face down, does it still keep the changes Wind-Up Warrior/Wind-Up Soldier made to it after it's flip summoned again? Sandy Sagebrush (talkcontribs) 09:30, September 5, 2011 (UTC)

Not exactly. See, if you have 5 face-down monsters, you can Flip Summon all of them, hence the difference between it and Normal Summoning/Setting. However, since you also change Battle Positions (which you can only do to a monster once per turn), you cannot re-Flip Summon that monster even if it was flipped back into face-down position.PoirotH (talkcontribs) 09:44, September 5, 2011 (UTC)


as from yugioh.wikia talking about flip.

If a face-down monster is attacked, it is flipped face-up and maintains its battle position. Monsters can also be flipped by the effects of other cards. Neither of these methods are considered to be a Flip Summon.

so, if I attack 1 set monster it would be flipped face-up right? then as it says to last sentence. " neither of these methods are considered to be a Flip summon." so a flipped face-up monster caused by attacker monster that attacks face-down monster is considered to be a Flip Summon right? so I can use solemn judgement to negate its flip summon right? im so confused -_-

No. It isn't a flip summon. A flip summon only occurs when a monster is manually changed from face-down defense to face-up attack without an attack or external card effect. You cannot Solemn Judgement a monster being turned face-up by an attack or a card effect because the monster is not being summoned. This technicality allows a person to set Gandora the Dragon of Destruction, then use Book of Taiyou to change it to face-up attack position. Gandora was never summoned, therefore is never sent to the grave. Likewise, set Arcana Force monsters that are attacked or flipped by a card effect never have a coin flip. Does this help?? (talk) 19:59, November 16, 2011 (UTC)

Guardian Sphinx HELP

Guardian Sphinx Can this monster be flipped down from it's effect then back up in the same turn? Can this monster be flipped up then back down from it's effect in the same turn?

Are both of these possibilities or only one or neither because it can only change it's battle position once per turn including it's effect?

(MukaMaster360 (talkcontribs) 20:47, January 16, 2012 (UTC))--> I've read on this site that a way for stopping Guardian Sphinx from using its effect next turn is forcing a flip (by attacking). This leads me to assume that you cannot flip it face-down and then afterwards manually flip to activate its effect. This still begs the question of why this happens, I don't understand how it can't be activated as such but it can be when done vice-versa... I would like an answer to that.

Blu - You should be able to still flip Guardian Sphinx face down (via its effect) and then manually flip it face up. You can only change the position of a monster (without effects) once per turn and this doesn't violate that rule. However, one downside is that Guardian Sphinx will be in attack position with its 1700 attack during your opponent's next turn if you do this.

Question, If someone attacks my set defensive monster, can they use force back once it gets flipped face up, after the attack.

1 question- Does solemn judgment work when you attack a face-down monster?

Shien's Advisor's effect say when this card is normal summoned I can declare 1 monster type, that monster can be special summoned or attack. So lets say I first normal summoned then my opponent uses a spell card to flip Shien's Advisor to face down. The next turn I flip it back up, would the effect still apply? (talk) 23:52, November 6, 2012 (UTC)

Page edit

How come this page doesn't clarify that a flip summon doesn't count as the normal summon? (talk) 07:52, January 13, 2013 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.