Spell & Trap Zone

99,116pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Page Help2 Share
Spell & Trap Zone



Formerly: ほうトラップカードゾーン

Japanese (ruby)

Formerly: まほう&トラップカードゾーン

Japanese (base text)

Formerly: 魔法&罠カードゾーン

Japanese (romanized)

Mahō & Torappu Zōn
Formerly: Mahō & Torappu Kādozōn

Japanese (translated)

Magic & Trap Zone
Formerly: Magic & Trap Card Zone


Spell & Trap Zone
Formerly: Spell & Trap Card Zone

Spell & Trap Zones (ほうトラップゾーン Mahō & Torappu Zōn "Magic & Trap Zone"), formerly Spell & Trap Card Zones (ほうトラップカードゾーン Mahō & Torappu Kādozōn "Magic & Trap Card Zone"), are the 5 Zones in which Spell and Trap Cards are placed on the field (except Field Spell Cards, which are played in the Field Zone).

If all Spell & Trap Zones are occupied or rendered unusable, new Spell/Trap Cards (other than Field Spell Cards) cannot be activated or Set, as there must be a usable vacant Spell & Trap Zone to place the card in.

Cards cannot be moved between Spell & Trap Zones.

A Trap Monster requires both a Spell & Trap Zone and a Monster Zone, due to the fact that it is simultaneously treated as both a Trap Card and a Monster Card.[3] However, it is placed in the Monster Zone, and despite the Spell & Trap Zone being unusable it is not considered occupied (for the purposes of cards such as "Straight Flush" and "D/D/D Dragonbane King Beowulf").[4] If a Trap Monster is flipped face-down (such as due to the effect of "Book of Moon" or "Cyber Shadow Gardna") or has its Trap effect negated (such as due to the effect of "Jinzo"), it will return to that associated Spell & Trap Zone as a Trap Card.[5]

On game mats, they are located in the lower-middle and are often colored cyan. Due to their location, they are also unofficially referred to as "backrow". Also unofficially written as "Spell / Trap Zone" or abbreviated as "S/T".

Pendulum Zones

Master Rule 3

In the TCG and previously in the OCG (under Master Rule 3), the Pendulum Zones are distinct Zones in which only Pendulum Monsters can be placed. These Zones are not Spell & Trap Zones, and Pendulum Monsters cannot be played in Spell & Trap Zones.


Master Rule 4

In the OCG, as per Master Rule 4, the leftmost and rightmost Spell & Trap Zones are also used as Pendulum Zones. Each of these Spell & Trap Zones are only treated as Pendulum Zones if and only if there is a Pendulum Monster in that Zone (unless the Pendulum Monster is in that Zone as an Equip Spell Card). If there is a Pendulum Monster in the Zone, it is treated as both a Spell & Trap Zone and a Pendulum Zone. If one of these Spell & Trap Zones has a Pendulum Monster in it while the other does not, only the Zone with a Pendulum Monster in it is treated as a Pendulum Zone.

Playing area Master Rule 4


  1. "Traditional Chinese version of Master Rule 2 version 1.0". Konami.
  2. "Master Rule 3 Overview". Konami.
  3. Miller, Scott (July 11, 2012). "Trap Monsters: How Do They Work?". Konami. Retrieved December 17, 2015.
  4. "Individual Card Rulings [S-T]". UDE. Straight Flush. Archived from the original on 17 February 2009. Retrieved 17 December 2015.
  5. "Individual Card Rulings [D-E]". UDE. Embodiment of Apophis. Archived from the original on 18 February 2009. Retrieved 26 January 2016.

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.