Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Simultaneous Effects Go On Chain

85,310pages on
this wiki
Page Help11

The term "SEGOC" is known in the OCG as 同時に複数のカードが発動した場合 (Dōji ni Fukusū no Kādo ga Hatsudōshita Ba'ai). Sometimes, you will have multiple Flip, Trigger or Trigger-like effects that will try to activate simultaneously, such as when "Mystic Tomato" attacks another "Mystic Tomato", or when two copies of "Sangan" are sent to the Graveyard at the same time by the effect of "Dark Hole". In cases like these, the effects all activate and form a Chain, even if they are Spell Speed 1 effects. This is the only case when Spell Speed 1 effects can be chained to each other, because they are all trying to activate at the same time, and the players are not "choosing" to activate them.

This does not apply to effects that activate "During the ___ Phase,...", such as "Gladiator Beast" monsters. Effects like these do not form a Chain - instead, they activate, and are applied, separately.

Be aware that Flip, Trigger and Trigger-like effects cannot be chained to another Spell Speed 1 effect if their conditions happen "after" that effect activation, such as after paying the cost. You must wait until the resolution of that effect, and then you could activate them.

Order

Effects activate based on the following order:

  1. Turn Player's Mandatory Effects
  2. Non-Turn Player's Mandatory Effects
  3. Turn Player's Optional Effects
  4. Non-Turn Player's Optional Effects
Example 1: The Turn Player controls "Sangan" and "Peten the Dark Clown". The non-Turn Player controls "Sangan" and "Peten the Dark Clown". If the Turn Player activates "Dark Hole", then all four monsters' effects activate at the same time.
  • The Turn Player's only mandatory effects is that of their "Sangan", so the effect of their "Sangan" becomes Chain Link 1.
  • The non-Turn Player's only mandatory effect is that of their "Sangan", so the effect of their "Sangan" becomes Chain Link 2.
  • The Turn Player's only optional effects is that of their "Peten the Dark Clown", so the effect of their "Peten the Dark Clown" becomes Chain Link 3.
  • The non-Turn Player's only optional effects is that of their "Peten the Dark Clown", so the effect of their "Peten the Dark Clown" becomes Chain Link 4.
Afterwards, players can add more cards to the Chain normally.

If a player controls two effects in the same category (for example, the Turn Player controls two Mandatory effects), then the player can activate the effects in any order they wish.

Example 2: The Turn Player controls "Sangan" and "Witch of the Black Forest". The non-Turn Player controls "Dandylion". If the Turn Player activates "Dark Hole", then all three monster's effects activate at the same time.
  • The Turn Player's mandatory effects are those of their "Sangan" and their "Witch of the Black Forest". These effects will be Chain Links 1 and 2, in the order that the Turn Player wishes.
  • The non-Turn Player's only mandatory effect is that of their "Dandylion", so the effect of their "Dandylion" becomes Chain Link 3.
  • The Turn Player has no optional effects, so none are added.
  • The non-Turn Player has no optional effects, so none are added.
Afterwards, players can add more cards to the Chain normally.

TCG

In the TCG, card effects first activate in the order that they were triggered.

Example 3: The Turn Player Tributes "Sangan" for the Tribute Summon of "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch". Both effects activate at the same time. However, the Tribute of "Sangan" occurred before the Summon of "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch", so the effect of "Sangan" must be Chain Link 1 and the effect of "Zaborg" must be Chain Link 2.

OCG

The above rule in the TCG section does not apply in the OCG. All effects follow the chart in the Order section, regardless of Spell Speed or which effects were triggered first.

Example: Using the same situation as above, the Turn Player can choose to activate the effects of "Sangan" and "Zaborg the Thunder Monarch" in any order they wish. If they wants, they can place "Zaborg" as Chain Link 1 and "Sangan" as Chain Link 2.

Exception

There is a single exception to the rules of SEGOC above. The rule for the exception is as follows: Only 1 Trigger Effect of monsters that could Special Summon themselves from the hand can be activated per Chain.

Example 1: Even if you have more than 1 copy of "Battlin' Boxer Veil" in your hand, you can only activate the effect of 1 copy of "Battlin' Boxer Veil" when you take battle damage.[1]
Example 2: When a face-up Beast-Type monster you control is destroyed, you cannot Special Summon multiple copies of "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest". Even if you have multiple copies of that monster in your hand or Graveyard, you can only Special Summon 1 copy of "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest".[2]

References

  1. Konami OCG Card Database: Battlin' Boxer Veil
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: When a Beast-Type monster is destroyed, can you Special Summon multiple "Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest"?

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki