Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Ritual Summon

96,686pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Page Help15 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Ritual Summon

AdvancedRitualArt-TF04-JP-VG

Japanese

しきしょうかん

Japanese (ruby)

ぎしきしょうかん

Japanese (base text)

儀式召喚

Japanese (romanized)

Gishiki Shōkan

English

Ritual Summon

A Ritual Summon (しきしょうかん Gishiki Shōkan) is a method of Special Summoning a Ritual Monster which normally uses the effect of a Ritual Spell Card.

Ritual Summons usually require Tributes (from your hand or side of the field) greater than or equal to the Level of the Ritual Monster that is being Summoned. These Tributes are performed as part of the Ritual Spell Card's effect resolution, rather than as a cost.[1]

Some Ritual Spell Cards—including most Ritual Spell Cards that are capable of being used for different Ritual Monsters, such as "End of the World"—require the total Levels of the Tributed monsters to exactly equal the Level of the Ritual Monster. Instead of Tributing monsters, some Ritual Spell Cards have different requirements for performing a Ritual Summon; "Advanced Ritual Art" sends monsters from the Main Deck to the Graveyard to perform the Ritual Summon, while "Gishki Photomirror" requires an appropriate amount of LP to be paid.

Performing a Ritual Summon

During an open game state in the Main Phase, the turn player may conduct a Ritual Summon if the following conditions are generally met:

  • They have an appropriate Ritual Monster in their hand that can be Ritual Summoned with that Ritual Spell Card.
  • There are monsters in the appropriate locations (specified by the Ritual Spell Card and/or Ritual Monster), whose total Levels meet the requirements of the Ritual Spell Card and/or Ritual Monster.

If these conditions are met, that player can activate the appropriate Ritual Spell Card.

When the Ritual Spell Card resolves, if it is still possible to Ritual Summon a Ritual Monster, the player that activated it Tributes appropriate monster(s) from the location(s) specified by that Ritual Spell Card. After that, the player Special Summons (as a Ritual Summon) the Ritual Monster from their hand to their side of the field, face-up.

Exceptions

  • There does not always need to be an appropriate Ritual Spell Card in the hand or Set on the field; a player can use an alternate card or effect that allows them to Ritual Summon, such as "Urgent Ritual Art", "Zefrasaber, Swordmaster of the Nekroz", or a "Luminous Dragon Ritual" in the Graveyard.
    • For "Urgent Ritual Art", the Ritual Summon does not necessarily have to be conducted during the Main Phase of the activating player's turn.
  • The Ritual Monster does not always need to be in the hand; cards such as "Nekroz Cycle" and "Odd-Eyes Advent" allow the Ritual Monster to be in the Graveyard.
  • There does not need to be an appropriate amount of monsters in locations specified by the card or effect that Ritual Summons, if any of the following are true:
    • There is a single monster in an appropriate location, such as "Ritual Raven" or "Gishki Shadow", that has an effect allowing it to be used as the entire monster requirement for the Ritual Summon.
    • There are monsters in a separate location that have effects that allow them to be used for the Ritual Summon, such as "Djinn of Rituals" monsters in the Graveyard.
    • The card or effect does not use monsters for the Ritual Summon, such as "Gishki Photomirror" (which uses LP instead), and those requirements can be met.

Clarifications

  • A player can activate a card or effect that Ritual Summons even if their Monster Zones are full, but only if they Tribute one of their monsters on the field when that card or effect resolves (if all their Monster Zones are still occupied by that point).[citation needed]
  • Face-down monsters can be Tributed for a Ritual Summon, unless the card text specifies otherwise (such as "Forbidden Arts of the Gishki").[2]
    • If a face-down monster has an effect that allows it to be used as the entire monster requirement for the Ritual Summon, such as "Ritual Raven", that effect can be applied if it is Tributed for the Ritual Summon.[2]
    • If you are allowed to Tribute an opponent's face-down monster by a card effect such as "Soul Exchange", you cannot use it for a Ritual Summon since its Level is unknown.[3]
  • If the card or effect that Ritual Summons does not mandate an exact amount of Levels (e.g. "You must also Tribute monsters from your hand or field whose total Levels equal 6 or more."), the player cannot Tribute additional monsters if they met the minimum Level requirement already.[4][5][6]
    • Monsters that do not have Levels, such as Xyz Monsters, cannot be Tributed for a Ritual Summon.
  • When a card or effect that Ritual Summons resolves, if monsters cannot be used for the Ritual Summon or the Ritual Monster cannot be Ritual Summoned, no Ritual Summon occurs, nor are any monsters used for the Ritual Spell Card's monster requirement.[7][8]
  • A Ritual Monster cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard or while banished (except by Ritual Summon)[9], unless it was originally Summoned by Ritual Summon.[10][11][12][13]
    • As long as the monster is not returned to the hand or Deck, it is considered to have been originally properly Special Summoned, so it can still be Special Summoned from the Graveyard or while banished.[14][15]

Example

Anime

Before Yu-Gi-Oh! ARC-V, Ritual Summons didn't follow a common animation pattern.

In that series, when the Ritual Card is activated, the altar depicted on it appears on the field, and then Tributed monsters turn into flames, which position themselves on the altar. A pillar of fire rises from the altar, and explodes in the sky. After that, the Ritual Monster is Summoned, descending from the sky.

References

  1. "Individual Card Rulings [L-O]". UDE. Lich Lord, King of the Underworld. Archived from the original on 20 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090220023927/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=L&last=O. Retrieved 12 December 2015.
  2. 2.0 2.1 "Individual Card Rulings [P-R]". UDE. Ritual Raven. Archived from the original on 20 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090220140220/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=P&last=R. Retrieved 12 December 2015.
  3. "Individual Card Rulings [S-T]". UDE. Soul Exchange. Archived from the original on 20 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090220024252/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=S&last=T. Retrieved 12 December 2015. "You can target a face-down monster, but you cannot Tribute it for a Ritual Summon or for “Metamorphosis” because you do not know its Level."
  4. Jerome McHale (3 February 2010). "Absolute Powerforce Preview: Djinn Disserere of Rituals". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=1408. Retrieved 12 December 2015. "When you Ritual Summon a monster, you need to Tribute monsters whose total Levels [sic] at least the Level of the monster you want to Summon, but you aren’t allowed to “overpay.” For example, if your Ritual monster [sic] is Level 7, you can Tribute a Level 5 and a Level 3 monster. You could not Tribute a third monster for that Ritual Summon."
  5. Scott Miller (23 February 2009). "How Ritual Summons Work". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=3669. Retrieved 12 December 2015. "Some Ritual Spells let you go over that number, others require the Levels of the Tributes to exactly match the Level of the Ritual Monster. No matter what, if you have already selected enough monsters to fulfil [sic] the requirement, you can’t Tribute any extra ones."
  6. Scott Miller (6 January 2015). "Secrets of Eternity: Netherlord of the Flies". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=6852. Retrieved 12 December 2015. "Remember, though, that you cannot overpay by Tributing more monsters than necessary to meet the “total Level 6 or more” requirement."
  7. "Individual Card Rulings [L-O]". UDE. Mask of Restrict. Archived from the original on 20 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090220023927/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=L&last=O. Retrieved 12 December 2015.
  8. "Individual Card Rulings [L-O]". UDE. Lightforce Sword. Archived from the original on 20 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090220023927/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=L&last=O. Retrieved 12 December 2015.
  9. "Q&A » 手札やデッキから墓地へ送られた「トリシューラの影霊衣」を、「影霊衣の反魂術」によって墓地から特殊召喚できますか? [Q&A » If "Nekroz of Trishula" is sent from the hand or Deck to the Graveyard, can it be Special Summoned from the Graveyard by "Nekroz Cycle"?]" (in Japanese). Konami. 20 November 2014. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14410&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 3 April 2016.
  10. "Individual Card Rulings [D-E]". UDE. Dimension Fusion. Archived from the original on 18 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090218205242/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=D&last=E. Retrieved 12 December 2015.
  11. "Individual Card Rulings [A-C]". UDE. Contract with the Abyss. Archived from the original on 17 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090217182013/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=A&last=C. Retrieved 12 December 2015.
  12. "Individual Card Rulings [F-H]". UDE. Fulfillment of the Contract. Archived from the original on 26 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090226221414/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=F&last=H. Retrieved 12 December 2015.
  13. Konami. Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card Game - Official Rulebook Version 6.0. p. 15. http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/File:Rulebook_v6.0.pdf.
  14. "Ritual/Fusion Monsters vs. Legal Revival Target". 18 September 2007. Archived from the original on 2 November 2007. http://web.archive.org/web/20071102200622/http:/entertainment.upperdeck.com/community/forums/thread/853512.aspx. Retrieved 12 December 2015.
  15. Konami. Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card Game - Official Rulebook Version 5.0. p. 13. http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/File:Rulebook_v5.0.pdf.

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki