FANDOM


This Text property lists the primary English card lore on a card.

Pages using the property "Lore"

Showing 25 pages using this property.

View (previous 25  | next 25) (20 | 50 | 100 | 250 | 500)

"
"A Legendary Ocean" +"[[A Legendary Ocean]]" is a [[Field Spell Card]] with a unique [[Card effect|effect]]: it downgrades all [[WATER]] [[Monster Card|monsters]] on the [[field]] and in players' [[hand]]s by 1 [[Level]]. This has many advantages. The biggest one is that [[Level]] 5 WATER monsters in your hand are now [[Level 4 Monster Cards|Level 4]], so they can be [[Normal Summon]]ed or [[Set]] without [[Tribute]]! WATER monsters that were Level 7 are now Level 6 and can be [[Tribute Summon]]ed with only 1 Tribute, instead of 2. "A Legendary Ocean" is also treated as if its card name were "[[Umi]]". This means that other monsters that gain a benefit from "Umi" will gain their benefits from "A Legendary Ocean" as well. (This also means you can only have 3 copies of "A Legendary Ocean" or "Umi" in your [[Main Deck|Deck]], you cannot have 3 copies of each).  +
"A" Cell Breeding Device +During each of your [[Standby Phase]]s, put 1 [[A-Counter]] on 1 [[face-up]] [[Monster Card|monster]] your opponent [[control]]s.  +
"A" Cell Incubator +Each time an [[A-Counter]](s) is removed from play by a [[card effect]], place 1 A-Counter on this card. When this card is [[destroy]]ed, distribute the A-Counters on this card among [[face-up]] [[Monster Card|monsters]].  +
"A" Cell Recombination Device +[[Target]] 1 [[face-up]] [[Monster Card|monster]] on the [[field]]; [[send]] 1 "[[Alien]]" monster from your [[Main Deck|Deck]] to the [[Graveyard]], and if you do, place [[A-Counter]]s on that monster equal to the Level of the sent monster. During your [[Main Phase]], except the [[turn]] this card was sent to the Graveyard: You can [[banish]] this card from your Graveyard; [[Add a card|add]] 1 "Alien" monster from your Deck to your [[hand]].  +
"A" Cell Scatter Burst +[[Target|Select]] 1 [[face-up]] "[[Alien]]" [[Monster Card|monster]] you [[control]]. [[Destroy]] it and distribute new [[A-Counters]] equal to its [[Level]] among your opponent's face-up monsters.  +
"Backup Soldier" +"Backup Soldier" allows you to add up to 3 [[Monster Card]]s in your [[Graveyard]] to your [[hand]], as long as they are not [[Effect Monster]]s and have [[ATK]] [[1500 ATK Monster Cards|1500]] or less. "Backup Soldier" is very strong in an [[Exodia]] [[Main Deck|Deck]], as 4 of the 5 Exodia cards are [[Normal Monster]]s with ATK 1500 or less. So you can add them to your hand with "Backup Soldier". "Backup Soldier" can also add some very strong defensive monsters to your hand, like "[[Giant Soldier of Stone]]" and "[[Aqua Madoor]]". So even if your opponent wipes out your entire defense, you can easily get monsters back to defend your [[Life Points]].  +
"Blade Knight" +The [[Card effect|effect]] of "[[Blade Knight]]" increases its own [[ATK]] by 400 points when you have 1 or less card in your [[hand]]. You can [[Set]] all your [[Spell Card|Spell]] and [[Trap Card]]s to try and reduce your hand size down to 1 card, but if you have a hand full of [[Monster Card]]s this will not help. When you play with "Blade Knight", try constructing your Deck with fewer Monster Cards. Use only 16 or 17 Monster Cards, so your hand won't fill up with them. You can also use Spell and Trap Cards that require you to [[discard]] a card to [[activate]]. "[[Magic Jammer]]" is a good example. Using these strategies will help you to quickly [[Summon]] a "Blade Knight" with [[2000 ATK Monster Cards|2000 ATK]].  +
"Bottomless Trap Hole" +"[[Bottomless Trap Hole]]" is a [[Trap Card]] that works well in almost any [[Main Deck|Deck]]. It does more than just [[destroy]] a [[Monster Card|monster]], it [[Banish|removes]] a monster from play when it is [[Summon]]ed. Removing it from play ensures that your opponent will not be able to [[Special Summon]] it from the [[Graveyard]] later in the [[Duel]]. "Bottomless Trap Hole" only works against monsters with [[1500 ATK Monster Cards|1500]] or more [[ATK]] points, so having 3 copies in your Deck may be too many. You do not want to have one and not be able to [[activate]] it because your opponent is only Summoning monsters with low ATK's. Try playing with 1 or 2 copies of "Bottomless Trap Hole", and if your opponent is using only low ATK monsters, switch them with cards in your Side Deck for the second Duel of the [[Match]]. This can be a very effective strategy.  +
"Call of the Haunted" + "Jinzo" +You can use "[[Call of the Haunted]]" to [[Special Summon]] "[[Jinzo]]" from your [[Graveyard]]d. After "Jinzo" is Special [[Summon]]ed, the [[Card effect|effect]] of "Call of the Haunted" is [[negate]]d and "Call of the Haunted" remains on the [[field]] meaninglessly. However, if "Call of the Haunted" is [[destroy]]ed (by "[[Mystical Space Typhoon]]", etc.) "Jinzo" will not be destroyed because "Call of the Haunted"'s effect is being negated by "Jinzo". If you [[chain]] "Call of the Haunted" to the [[activation]] of another [[Trap Card]], such as "[[Trap Hole]]", then "Call of the Haunted" will resolve first. If you Special Summon "Jinzo" with "Call of the Haunted" in a chain like this, then "Jinzo" will negate the effect of the Trap Card you chained to ("Trap Hole", in this example).  +
"Ceasefire" +You cannot [[activate]] cards like "[[Ceasefire]]" when there is no chance for the card to have any [[Card effect|effect]]. For example, if there are no [[Monster Card|monsters]] on the [[field]], you cannot activate "Ceasefire" because it will not do anything. However, if there is a [[face-down]] monster on the field, you can activate "Ceasefire" because it will [[flip]] the monster [[face-up]]. You can also activate "Ceasefire" even if there are no face-down monsters on the field, as long as there is at least 1 face-up [[Effect Monster]] on the field. This is because "Ceasefire" will do 500 points of [[damage]] to your opponent for each Effect Monster on the field. So even though "Ceasefire" will not flip any monsters face-up, it will still do damage, so you can activate the card because it will have an effect.  +
"Command Knight" +"[[Command Knight]]" has an [[Card effect|effect]] that increases the [[ATK]] of all your [[Warrior]]-[[Type]] [[Monster Card|monsters]] by 400, including herself! Such a good effect will make this card the first monster your opponent will want to [[attack]].<br /><br />But "Command Knight" has a second effect, that says she cannot be attacked if you [[control]] another monster. This means that if you have two "Command Knight"s on the [[Playing Field|field]], neither can be attacked by your opponent! Look for ways to [[Summon]] 2 "Command Knight"s using cards like "[[Reinforcement of the Army]]".  +
"Curse of Anubis" +This [[Trap Card]] has a lot of utility. It does affect [[Effect Monster]]s on both sides of the [[field]], but you can work around this. One good use is during your opponent's [[Battle Phase]]. If your opponent only has Effect Monsters, and they declare an [[attack]], [[chain]] your "[[Curse of Anubis]]". Now all his [[Monster Card|monster]]s are changed to [[Defense Position]] and cannot attack! For a more aggressive use, [[set]] "Curse of Anubis" then [[activate]] it next [[turn]] before you [[Summon]]. The opponent's monsters will be changed to Defense Position and have their [[DEF]] reduced to [[0 DEF Monster Cards|0 points]]. Now Summon your monster for the turn. Since you activate "Curse of Anubis" first, your new monster is not affected by it. Now you can attack the opponent's monster and [[destroy]] it.  +
"Cyber Dragon" Fusion program +"[[Proto-Cyber Dragon]]'s" card name becomes "[[Cyber Dragon]]" while it's on the [[field]]. This means that you can use it instead of a "Cyber Dragon" for a [[Fusion Summon]]. That makes it a lot easier to Fusion Summon your powerful [[Monster Card|monster]]s like "[[Cyber Twin Dragon]]" and "[[Cyber End Dragon]]".  +
"Dark Hole" +Since "[[Dark Hole]]" destroys your [[Monster Card|monsters]] as well as your opponent's, it is important to know when to use it wisely. First, if you use "Dark Hole" when you have no monsters, then there is no drawback. Sometimes you will even want to use it when there is only 1 monster on the [[field]] (your opponent's). Nothing wrong with that. Second, if you are obviously outmatched and your opponent will beat you next turn because he/she has 2 or 3 monsters and you only have 1, it is better to [[destroy]] them all rather than keep your 1 monster that won't save you anyway. Third, sometimes you will have a card like "[[Black Pendant]]" on the field and you will want to send it to the [[Graveyard]] to get its [[Card effect|effect]], which [[inflict]]s 500 points of [[damage]] to your oponent when "Black Pendant" is sent from the field to the Graveyard.  +
"Dark Magician of Chaos" +The "[[Dark Magician of Chaos]]" is a [[Level 8]] [[Monster Card|monster]] with two good effects that may make him a good fit for your Deck. The first [[effect]] allows you to add a [[Spell Card]] from your [[Graveyard]] to your [[hand]] when he is [[Normal Summon|Normal]] or Special Summoned. If Spell Cards are an essential part of your strategy, this monster is a must have in your Deck. Try playing with "[[Dedication through Light and Darkness]]" or "[[A Hero Emerges]]", which will let you [[Special Summon]] this monster. The second effect of "Dark Magician of Chaos" makes any monster it [[destroy]]s [[as a result of battle]] be [[Banish|removed from play]] instead. This is especially good against opponents who require certain monsters in the Graveyard to Special Summon their biggest attacker. You could put "Dark Magician of Chaos" in your [[Side Deck]], and if you see the opponent using such a monster, like "[[Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning]]", swap it into your [[Main Deck]] for the remainder of the [[Match]].  +
"Dark Necrofear" +"[[Dark Necrofear]]" is a fun card to play with, but it cannot be [[Normal Summon]]ed or [[Set]], so you have to [[Special Summon]] it by the method described in its text. Getting 3 [[Fiend]]-[[Type]] [[Monster Card|monsters]] in your [[Graveyard]] to [[Banish|remove]] for "Dark Necrofear" can be easy if you use "[[Skull Knight 2|Skull Knight #2]]". When you [[Tribute]] "Skull Knight #2" to [[Tribute Summon]] a Fiend-Type monster, you can Special Summon another "Skull Knight #2" from your [[Main Deck|Deck]]. If you do this you will have 1 Fiend-Type monster in the Graveyard and 2 on the [[field]]. If those 2 are [[destroy]]ed in battle, you will have the 3 required Fiend-Type monsters in your Graveyard to Special Summon "Dark Necrofear".  +
"Destiny Board" +"[[Destiny Board]]" is an interesting way to [[Victory condition|win]] a [[Duel]]. You can win without ever making an [[attack]]. Getting all four "Spirit Messages" on the [[field]] can be difficult, and you may need to start over once if your opponent manages to [[destroy]] your "Destiny Board". For this reason, when you build a [[Main Deck|Deck]] that tries to win by "Destiny Board", you should include 3 copies of it, as well as "[[Spirit Message "I"]]" and "[[Spirit Message "N"]]". 2 copies of "[[Spirit Message "A"]]" and "[[Spirit Message "L"]]" should be sufficient. The rest of your Deck should be defensive, but you do not want to fill up your Spell and Trap Card Zones. Cards like "[[Kuriboh]]" are a good choice for this Deck, because you can [[discard]] it from your [[hand]] to reduce the [[damage]] from one attack to 0. With it you can prevent damage, but still keep your [[Spell & Trap Card Zone|Spell and Trap Card Zone]] open for your [[Spirit Message]] cards.  +
"Dimension Fusion" +"[[Dimension Fusion]]" can be the ace card for a [[Banish|removed from play]] strategy. It costs 2000 [[Life Points]] to [[activate]], but can make it easy for you to claim [[Victory condition|victory]]. Its [[card effect|effect]] allows each player to [[Special Summon]] their [[Monster Card|monster]]s that have been removed from play. This means you can Special Summon up to 5 monsters if all your [[Monster Card Zone]]s are empty. Be careful to watch what the opponent has, if they have a powerful Monster Card removed from play too, you do not want to allow him to Special Summon it. If 2000 Life Points seems like a lot to give up, you can also play with the [[Continuous Spell Card]], "[[Spell Economics]]". This card allows you to play [[Spell Card]]s without any [[cost]] to your Life Points that the card may normally have.  +
"Dust Tornado" +If you are familiar with "[[Mystical Space Typhoon]]", then you are familiar with how to use "[[Dust Tornado]]". "Dust Tornado" is basically "Mystical Space Typhoon" as a [[Trap Card]]. It [[destroy]]s 1 [[Spell Card|Spell]] or [[Trap Card]], just like "Mystical Space Typhoon". The fact that "Dust Tornado" is a Trap Card has a few benefits. For one, you can use "Dust Tornado" to destroy "[[Imperial Order]]" after "Imperial Order" has [[resolve]]d and is active on the [[field]]. "Mystical Space Typhoon" can destroy "Imperial Order" in a [[chain]], but if you [[Draw a card|draw]] it after "Imperial Order" is working then you cannot destroy "Imperial Order" with it.  +
"Elemental Hero Sparkman's" arsenal +"[[Light Laser]]" is an [[Equip Card]] that gives your [[Monster Card|monster]] the power to [[remove from play]] monsters after it battles them. [[Equip]] it to "[[Elemental Hero Sparkman]]" and he becomes a powerful weapon. Now he can clear out any [[Defense Position]] monsters and make many of your opponent's [[Effect Monster]]s useless!  +
"Emergency Provisions" +"[[Emergency Provisions]]" is a good card for gaining [[Life Points]]. It allows you to send [[Spell Card|Spell]] or [[Trap Card]]s on your side of the [[field]] to the [[Graveyard]] to gain 1000 Life Points for each (excluding itself). Since it is a [[Quick-Play Spell Card]], you can [[activate]] it when your opponent uses an [[Card effect|effect]] to [[destroy]] one of your Spell and Trap Cards to gain 1000 Life Points for a card that was going to be destroyed anyway. You can also [[chain]] "Emergency Provisions" to your own Spell and Trap Cards. When you activate a [[Normal Spell Card|Normal Spell]] or [[Normal Trap Card|Trap Card]], chain "Emergency Provisions" and send the card you just activated to the Graveyard to gain 1000 Life Points. The card's effect will still go through, because a Normal Spell or Trap Card is not required to remain on the field for the effect to resolve. But [[Continuous Spell Card|Continuous Spell]], [[Equip Spell Card|Equip Spell]] and [[Continuous Trap Card]]s are required to stay on the field, so this [[combo]] will not work with them.  +
"Fairy Meteor Crush", etc. +Many cards in the [[Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card Game|Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME]] have the "[[Fairy Meteor Crush]]" [[Card effect|effect]]. You can give any card this ability by equipping it with the "Fairy Meteor Crush" card, but other cards have the ability built-in, like "[[Mad Sword Beast]]". When these [[Monster Card|monster]]s "[[attack]] with an [[ATK]] that is higher than the [[DEF]] of your opponent's [[Defense Position]] monster, [[inflict]] the difference as [[Battle Damage]] to your opponent's [[Life Points]]." So if your monster with [[2000 ATK Monster Cards|2000 ATK]] has this ability, or gains it from another card, and it attacks a Defense Position monster with [[1500 DEF Monster Cards|1500 DEF]], you would inflict 500 points of [[Piercing Damage|Battle Damage]] to your opponent's Life Points. Normally you would inflict zero Battle Damage when the monster was in Defense Position. But because of this ability, you inflict Battle Damage to the opponent's Life Points and also [[destroy]] the monster as usual.  +
"Fiber Jar" +Everybody gets in a bad situation during a [[Duel]] from time to time, when your opponent has a couple strong [[Monster Card|monsters]] and you just do not seem to [[Draw a card|draw]] what you need. "[[Fiber Jar]]" will help you survive these situations and allow you to come back and [[Victory condition|win the Duel]]. "Fiber Jar"'s [[Flip Effect]] [[shuffle]]s everything on the [[field]], in the [[Graveyard]]s and in both players' [[hand]]s back into the [[Main Deck|Deck]], including itself. It is almost like starting the game over, except you still have the same [[Life Points]]. Now you have another chance to do your best and try to win the Duel. Another good thing about "Fiber Jar" is that most people [[Normal Summon]] a monster before [[attack]]ing. If you have "Fiber Jar" [[Set]] [[face-down]], and your opponent [[Summon]]s and attacks, then "Fiber Jar" will reset the field, but your opponent has already Summoned this turn and cannot Normal Summon again! This means that during your [[turn]] you can Summon a monster and [[Direct attack|attack directly]]!  +
"Fire Princess" Deck +A [[Main Deck|Deck]] built around "[[Fire Princess]]" can be a strong way to reduce your opponent's [[Life Points]] by doing [[damage]] without [[attack]]ing. "Fire Princess" [[inflict]]s 500 damage each time your Life Points increase. "Fire Princess" is easy to get out of your Deck using cards like "[[UFO Turtle]]". Use cards like "[[Messenger of Peace]]", "[[Gravity Bind]]", and "[[Horn of Light]]" to protect "Fire Princess" and your other [[Monster Card|monsters]]. Instead of 1-shot [[Card effect|effects]] like "[[Gift of the Mystical Elf]]", you are better off using cards that generate Life Points every [[turn]], like "[[Solemn Wishes]]", "[[Cure Mermaid]]", and "[[Marie the Fallen One]]".  +
"Gigantes" +If your [[Main Deck|Deck]] has many [[EARTH]] [[Monster Card|monsters]] in it, "[[Gigantes]]" would make a good addition to your arsenal. It cannot be [[Normal Summon]]ed or [[Set]], but can be [[Special Summon]]ed by [[Banish|removing from play]] 1 EARTH monster in your [[Graveyard]]. This [[Rock]]-[[Type]] monster has [[1900 ATK Monster Cards|1900]] [[ATK]] points, making it a valuable attacker, but its [[card effect|effect]] is what makes it a great card. When it is [[destroy]]ed [[as a result of battle]], all [[Spell Card|Spell]] and [[Trap Card]]s on the [[field]] are destroyed. If your opponent has a valuable Spell or Trap Card, they will be reluctant to [[attack]] your "Gigantes", leaving you free to use it to attack their monsters, or to use as a [[Tribute]] next [[turn]].  +

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.