FANDOM


Tragoedia-JUMP-EN-UR-LE.png Tragoedia-BP01-EN-SFR-1E.png

"Tragoedia" is an example of a card already reprinted with Problem-Solving Card Text. Left is the pre-PSCT Shonen Jump Vol. 7, Issue 9 print. Right is the PSCT Battle Pack: Epic Dawn reprint.

Problem-Solving Card Text (often abbreviated PSCT) is a method of writing card text used for prints released from July 8, 2011 onward. The purpose of Problem-Solving Card Text is to simplify card effects to the point that most situations can be resolved simply by applying logic.[1]

It was announced by Kevin Tewart through a series of blog posts to Konami's Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's TCG Strategy Site.[1][2] It was introduced to Booster Packs with the release of Generation Force[3] and Starter Decks with the release of Starter Deck: Dawn of the Xyz. Reissues of older products, such as Duelist Pack: Kaiba from the Silver Dragon Value Box, often use Problem-Solving Card Text.

Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack was in part created to reprint many old cards with the new text style (including the "HERO" monsters).[4]

Interpretation

Problem-Solving Card Text uses specific words with very particular meanings in the context of gameplay. How to interpret the text is important to understanding how to apply card text to the game.

This interpretation can only be applied for cards that use Problem-Solving Card Text. Cards that were printed with earlier text may use some of the same terms or structures, but this does not necessarily mean that they work as if they were Problem-Solving Card Text.

Text structure

  • All card effects that make a Chain Link include a colon " : " or a semicolon " ; " somewhere in their text (possibly both). If a card effect does not use either, it does not make a Chain Link.[5]
    • The activation of a Spell or Trap Card always makes a Chain Link, but its effect that resolves with the card itself (if any) does not necessarily use a colon or semicolon.[5] This effect is usually the first effect listed in the card's text.
  • Text before the colon " : " describes activation conditions (limits on when or how often a card or effect can be activated).[6][5] These conditions only need to be met when the card is activated.[7]
    • Conditions other than target requirements that have to be met during both activation and resolution are specifically noted in a separate sentence after the effect sentence (e.g. "Zombie Master", "Treeborn Frog").[7]
  • Text before the semicolon " ; " (but after the colon, if any) describes anything that happens when that card or effect is activated (such as costs and targeting).[6][5]
  • Cards with bulleted effects (●) that resolve in the same Chain Link specify whether they resolve simultaneously or sequentially (if sequentially, effects are applied in the order they are listed). In these cases, each effect activated resolves independent of the success of the other(s).

Terminology and phrasing

  • The terms "that target" or "those targets" and "it" or "they/them" have specific meanings in the resolution of the effect.[7]
    • "That target" and "those targets" indicate that targets must still meet the target requirements at resolution to be affected. "Both (those) targets" and "all three targets" indicate that all targets must still meet the target requirements at resolution for any of them to be affected.
    • "It" and "they/them" indicate that the targets do not need to meet the target requirements at resolution, only when targeted.
  • Cards and effects that state "You can only activate this card/effect once per turn/Duel" can be activated again in the same turn/Duel if the activation is negated.
    • For example: "Silver's Cry", which can only be activated once per turn, and "The Seal of Orichalcos", which can only be activated once per duel, can be activated again during the same turn or duel if another copy had its activation negated by a card such as "Magic Jammer", but not if these card are negated by the effect of "Number 38: Hope Harbinger Dragon Titanic Galaxy" that doesn't negate a card's activation but only its effects before removing it from the field.
  • Cards and effects that state "You can only use this card/effect once per turn/Duel" cannot be activated again in the same turn/Duel, even if their activation is negated.[9]
    • For example: "Souleating Oviraptor" can only use each of its effects once per turn, while "Dot Scaper" can only use each of its effects once per duel, even if these monsters' effects are negated by a card such as "Solemn Strike".
  • For prints released from July 2017 onward, Quick Effects of Monster Cards specifically say "Quick Effect" in their text before the colon.
    • For prints released prior to July 2017, Quick Effects are marked by either the text "during either player's […]" in its activation conditions or the text "(this is a Quick Effect)" at the end of the effect text. (Despite being printed before July 2017, Maximum Crisis: Special Edition uses "(Quick Effect)" to mark them.)

Conjunctives

Resolved… A or B required?
Neither A Both
Sequentially also, after that then
Simultaneously also and if you do and

The conjunctives "and", "and if you do", "also", "also, after that" and "then" have specific meanings.[10]

  • In "Do A, then do B", B happens after A. These things happen in sequence, not simultaneously. A is required for B, but NOT vice-versa: if A does not happen, then stop; even if B cannot happen, you still do A.[10]
  • In "Do A and B", both A and B happen simultaneously. BOTH A and B are required. If you cannot do both, you do nothing.[10]
  • In "Do A, and if you do, do B", both A and B happen simultaneously. A is required for B, but NOT vice-versa: if A does not happen, then stop; even if B cannot happen, you still do A.[10]
  • In "Do A, also do B", both A and B happen simultaneously. Neither is required for the other to occur.[10]
  • In "Do A, also, after that, do B", B happens after A. These things happen in sequence, not simultaneously. Neither is required for the other to occur.

For prints released prior to May 2012, while "and" does indicate simultaneity, it gives no indication of dependency. However, "then" indicates both sequentiality and dependency for all prints with Problem-Solving Card Text.[7]

Changes

Terminology

Phrasing

Additions

Removals

Modifications

Names

Type/Ability line

XSaberAirbellum-5DS2-EN-C-1E.png XSaberAirbellum-BP03-EN-C-1E.png

KnightDayGrepher-SHSP-EN-C-1E.png KnightDayGrepher-BP03-EN-R-1E.png

ToonGeminiElf-BP02-EN-MSR-1E.png ToonGeminiElf-BP03-EN-R-1E.png

SlateWarrior-BP01-EN-C-1E.png SlateWarrior-BP03-EN-R-1E.png

HeavyMechSupportPlatform-SD10-EN-C-UE.png HeavyMechSupportPlatform-SDGR-EN-C-1E.png

Kinkabyo-TDGS-EN-SR-1E.png Kinkabyo-AP08-EN-C-UE.png

MysteryShellDragon-MP16-EN-C-1E.png MysteryShellDragon-YS17-EN-C-1E.png

Text structure

  • The phrase "in the Graveyard" indicates that the properties of the card must be checked in the Graveyard (e.g. "Armory Arm"). As such, if the card is not in the Graveyard at that time, there is no longer a reference point and the effect disappears.
  • Cards that can be activated in response to the activation of either a card or a card effect include "when a card or effect is activated" in their timing (e.g. "Stardust Dragon").
  • Effects that prevent monsters from being attacked but cannot prevent the opponent from attacking directly specifically note this (e.g. "The Legendary Fisherman"). However, not all cards that prevent monsters from being attacked allow the opponent to attack directly (e.g. "Command Knight").
  • Effects that prevent Summoning but still allow Setting note this (e.g. "Stray Lambs").
  • Flip monsters which have effects other than a Flip effect have a line break between the end of the Flip Effect and the start of the other effect(s) (e.g. "Night Assailant").
  • There is now usually a line break before bullet points (e.g. "Wind-Up Shark").

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Tewart, Kevin (May 20, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 1: Reading the Cards of Tomorrow". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2906. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  2. "Tag - How to read your cards". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?tag=how-to-read-your-cards. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  3. "Product Info - Generation Force". Yugioh-Card.com. http://www.yugioh-card.com/en/products/bp-genf.html. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 Tewart, Kevin (May 23, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 2: New Words & Phrases". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2915. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 Tewart, Kevin (June 1, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 3: Conditions, Activations, and Effects". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2947. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Konami. Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card Game - Official Rulebook Version 9.1. pp. 48-49. http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/File:Rulebook_v9.1.pdf.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 Tewart, Kevin (June 1, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 4: The Clues on Your Cards". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2962. Retrieved September 13, 2011.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 8.3 Tewart, Kevin (July 27, 2011). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 5: Special Summons". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=3111. Retrieved July 28, 2011.
  9. [1]
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 10.4 Tewart, Kevin (December 12, 2012). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 7: 2012 Update – Conjunction Functions". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=4514.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 Tewart, Kevin (December 13, 2013). "New Rulebook Online & Guide to Changes". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=5771. Retrieved December 21, 2013.
  12. Tewart, Kevin (November 27, 2013). "Everything That’s Available for Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG (both now, and soon….)". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=5738. Retrieved December 21, 2013.

External links

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.