|Japanese (base text)||
The Pendulum Zones (Japanese: ペンデュラムゾーン Pendyuramu Zōn, abbreviated
Pendulum Monsters can either be Summoned as monsters, or activated as Spell Cards in a Pendulum Zone. When a Pendulum Monster is activated as a Spell Card in a Pendulum Zone, its Pendulum Effects are applied rather than its monster effects. A Pendulum Monster cannot be Set in a Pendulum Zone. Pendulum Monsters are only treated as Spell Cards (of a non-specific variety), not monsters, while in a Pendulum Zone.
Master Rule 3
In the TCG and previously in the OCG (under Master Rule 3), the Pendulum Zones are distinct Zones in which only Pendulum Monsters can be placed, and only as Spell Cards. The left Pendulum Zone is located in between the Field Zone and the Extra Deck Zone, and the right Pendulum Zone is located in between the Graveyard Zone and the Deck Zone.
Master Rule 4
In the OCG, as per Master Rule 4, the Pendulum Zones are not separate Zones, but rather the leftmost and rightmost Spell & Trap Zones can be used as Pendulum Zones. Each of these Spell & Trap Zones are only treated as Pendulum Zones while there is a Pendulum Monster in that Zone (unless the Pendulum Monster is in that Zone as an Equip Spell Card), although effects that place Pendulum Monsters in a Pendulum Zone still place them in these Zones even while they are unoccupied. If there is a Pendulum Monster in the Zone, it is treated as both a Spell & Trap Zone and a Pendulum Zone. If one of these Spell & Trap Zones has a Pendulum Monster in it while the other does not, only the Zone with a Pendulum Monster in it is treated as a Pendulum Zone.
- yugioh-card.com/hk Master Rule 3: Overview (Asian English)
- yugioh-card.com/hk Master Rule 3: Overview (Chinese)
- yugioh-card.com/en Learn How to Pendulum Summon Tutorial Video (English)