FANDOM


Missing the Timing EN-US

Official explanation of missing the timing

Missing the timing (タイミングを逃す Taimingu wo Nogasu) is the inability to activate a card or optional effect when it would meet its activation timing because it is not possible to activate it in response to the required event.

Overview

Cards and effects can only be activated in response to an event if that event is the last event to occur. If an event is performed, then before it is possible to activate cards or effects another event is performed, it is not possible for any cards or effects to be activated in response to the initial event.

Some Trap Cards, Quick-Play Spell Cards, and optional effects must be activated in response to a particular event (such as the Trigger Effect of "Peten the Dark Clown"). These optional effects are marked by the usage of the word "when" in their activation timing.[1][2][3] Trap Cards, Quick-Play Spell Cards, and optional effects that use other words instead of "when" (such as "if" or "each time") do not need to be activated in response to the event, but simply at the first opportunity after the event occurs. Likewise, mandatory effects do not need to be activated in response to a particular event, always being activated at the first opportunity after the event occurs (regardless of whether they use "when" or not).[4]

If a card or effect is activated in response to an event, all cards and effects activated in the same Chain are in response to that same event. For example, if a monster declares an attack and a player activated "Magic Cylinder", then "Mirror Force" can still be activated as Chain Link 2 or higher because all cards activated in this Chain are in response to the attack.

Chain Links resolve strictly sequentially. The last Chain Link to resolve will be the most recent event (and the only event that can be responded to).[5] Normally this will be Chain Link 1, but if the activation of a Chain Link is negated, it does not resolve. (There is a distinction between negating the activation of an effect and negating the effect itself; if only the effect is negated, the Chain Link still resolves, but without effect.)[4]

It is not possible to activate cards or effects in response to events that occur as part of paying a cost to activate a card or effect.[6]

Simultaneous events

When resolving a card effect, different parts of an effect may or may not be considered to be performed at the same time. As such it is possible for there to be multiple most recent events.

Cards with Problem-Solving Card Text have mechanically significant conjunctives ("and", "and if you do", "also", "then", "also, after that") in their card text which determine whether or not different parts of an effect are considered to be simultaneous.[7] In the TCG, for cards without Problem-Solving Card Text, it is necessary to rely on rulings for details on simultaneity.

The conjunctives "then" and "also, after that" indicate that the part of the effect before the conjunctive is done strictly before the part of the effect after the conjunctive. Therefore, if the part of the effect after the conjunctive is applied, cards and effects cannot be activated in response to the part of the effect before the conjunctive, and so effects that could be activated in response to that event miss the timing.

On the other hand, the conjunctives "and", "and if you do" and "also" indicate that both the part of the effect before the conjunctive and the part of the effect after the conjunctive are done simultaneously. Therefore, if the part of the effect after the conjunctive is the last part of the effect to resolve, cards and effects can be activated in response to the part of the effect before the conjunctive (so do not miss the timing).

Examples

Trigger and Trigger-like Effects

PetentheDarkClown-SDKS-EN-C-1E

Peten the Dark Clown

Sequential events

When "Soul Taker" resolves, first the target is destroyed, then the opponent gains 1000 LP. (This is clear due to the use of the conjunctive "then".) Since the opponent gains LP strictly after the monster is destroyed, cards and effects cannot be activated in response to the monster being destroyed.

The effect of "Peten the Dark Clown" is an optional effect that uses "when", so it must be activated in response to "Peten the Dark Clown" itself being sent to your Graveyard. If "Peten the Dark Clown" is destroyed by "Soul Taker", its effect misses the timing and cannot be activated.[1]

On the other hand, the effect of "Kidmodo Dragon" does not use "when", so its effect can be activated even if it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of "Soul Taker" (it is not necessary for the effect to be activated in response to "Kidmodo Dragon" being sent to the Graveyard). Likewise, the effect of "Dandylion" is a mandatory effect, so its effect will activate when destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by "Soul Taker".

Simultaneous events

When "Psychokinesis" resolves, the target is destroyed, and at the same time, the player that activated "Psychokinesis" takes 1000 damage. (This is clear due to the use of the conjunctive "and if you do".) Since both events occurred at the same time, cards and effects can be activated in response to both events.

Therefore, regardless of whether the destroyed monster was "Peten the Dark Clown", "Kidmodo Dragon", or "Dandylion", it can be activated in response to its own destruction (i.e. "Psychokinesis" cannot cause cards or effects to miss the timing).

Chain Link 2 or higher

The effect of "Blaze Fenix, the Burning Bombardment Bird" is activated as Chain Link 1 and "Raigeki Break" as Chain Link 2 targeting a Fusion Monster. When the Chain resolves, the most recent event will be inflicting damage with the effect of "Blaze Fenix, the Burning Bombardment Bird", so it is not possible to activate cards and effects in response to the Fusion Monster being destroyed by "Raigeki Break".

The effect of "Branch!" is an optional effect that uses "when", so it must be activated in response to a Fusion Monster being destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, thus it misses its timing in the described scenario. On the other hand, the effect of "Yang Zing Creation" does not use "when", so its effect can be activated even if the monster is destroyed at Chain Link 2 (it is not necessary for the effect to be activated in response to the monster being destroyed). Likewise, the effect of "Supply Squad" is a mandatory effect, so its effect will activate when a monster is destroyed at Chain Link 2.

However, if "Divine Wrath" is activated at Chain Link 2 instead, since it negates the activation of the effect "Blaze Fenix, the Burning Bombardment Bird", the most recent event will be destroying "Blaze Fenix, the Burning Bombardment Bird". Therefore, the effects of "Branch!", "Yang Zing Creation", and "Supply Squad" can all be activated in this case.

Similarly, if "Blaze Fenix, the Burning Bombardment Bird" is destroyed by the effect of "Raigeki Break" as Chain Link 1, all three effects can be activated.

Tribute Summon

If a monster is Tributed for the Tribute Summon of "Summoned Skull", first the monster is Tributed and sent to the Graveyard, then "Summoned Skull" is Tribute Summoned. Once it is possible to activate cards and effects, the last event to occur was the Tribute Summon of "Summoned Skull" (not the monster being Tributed), so cards and effects cannot be activated in response to the monster being Tributed.

If the Tributed monster was "Peten the Dark Clown", its effect misses the timing and cannot be activated.[1] On the other hand, if the Tributed monster was "Kidmodo Dragon" or "Dandylion", its effect can be activated; in that case, the effect of "Kidmodo Dragon" or "Dandylion" will activate in response to the Tribute Summon of "Summoned Skull".

The same applies if the monsters are used as Synchro Materials for a Synchro Summon, since the materials are sent to the Graveyard strictly before the Synchro Monster is Summoned.

Activation cost

If a monster is Tributed as a cost to activate the effect of "Cannon Soldier", because it is not possible to activate cards or effects in response to activation costs, it is not possible to activate a card or effect in response to the monster being Tributed.

If the Tributed monster was "Peten the Dark Clown", its effect misses the timing and cannot be activated.[1]

On the other hand, if the Tributed monster was "Kidmodo Dragon" or "Dandylion", its effect can be activated. In that case, the effect of "Kidmodo Dragon" or "Dandylion" will activate in the next Chain after "Cannon Soldier" resolves (they cannot be activated in the same Chain because they are Spell Speed 1 effects and this situation does not qualify for SEGOC).

Multiple activations

If a card or effect is activated in response to an event, any card or effect activated in the same Chain is also in response to the same event.

If the player controls both "Heart of the Underdog" and "Tethys, Goddess of Light", when they draw a "Shining Friendship" (a Fairy-Type Normal Monster) for their normal draw, the effects of both "Heart of the Underdog" and "Tethys, Goddess of Light" meet their activation timings simultaneously, so they can both be activated in one Chain (as per the rules of SEGOC). One effect being activated does not cause the other to miss the timing, since the entire Chain is in response to the same event.

Trap Cards and Quick-Play Spell Cards

ChthonianBlast-BPW2-NA-C-1E

Chthonian Blast

Sequential events

When "Soul Taker" resolves, first the target is destroyed, then the opponent gains 1000 LP. (This is clear due to the use of the conjunctive "then".) Since the opponent gains LP strictly after the monster is destroyed, cards and effects cannot be activated in response to the monster being destroyed.

Cards such as "Chthonian Blast" and "Reverse of Neos" can only be activated in response to a monster being destroyed. If the monster is destroyed by "Soul Taker", these cards miss the timing and cannot be activated.

On the other hand, "Puzzle Reborn" has an effect that is activated if a monster is destroyed by a card effect (it does not use "when", so it does not require that it be activated in response to that card being destroyed). Even if a monster is destroyed by "Soul Taker", "Puzzle Reborn" can be activated after the Chain resolves.[3]

Simultaneous events

When "Psychokinesis" resolves, the target is destroyed, and at the same time, the player that activated "Psychokinesis" takes 1000 damage. (This is clear due to the use of the conjunctive "and if you do".) Since both events occurred at the same time, cards and effects can be activated in response to both events.

Therefore, cards such as "Chthonian Blast" and "Reverse of Neos" can be activated in response to a monster being destroyed by the effect of "Psychokinesis". (They do not miss the timing.)

Chain Link 2 or higher

The Ignition Effect of "Elemental HERO Aqua Neos" is activated as Chain Link 1 and "Raigeki Break" as Chain Link 2 targeting a monster. When the Chain resolves, the most recent event will be destroying a card in the hand with the effect of "Elemental HERO Aqua Neos", so it is not possible to activate cards and effects in response to the monster being destroyed by "Raigeki Break".

Therefore, cards such as "Chthonian Blast" and "Reverse of Neos" cannot be activated in response to a monster being destroyed by "Raigeki Break" in the described scenario, so they miss the timing.

However, if "Divine Wrath" is activated at Chain Link 2 instead, since it negates the activation of the effect "Elemental HERO Aqua Neos", the most recent event will be destroying "Elemental HERO Aqua Neos". Therefore, "Chthonian Blast" and "Reverse of Neos" can be activated in this case (they do not miss the timing).

On the other hand, "Puzzle Reborn" (which does not use "when") can be activated even if a monster is destroyed at Chain Link 2 or higher by "Raigeki Break".[3]

Activation cost

If the player discards a card as a cost to activate "Cards of Consonance", because it is not possible to activate cards or effects in response to activation costs, it is not possible to activate a card or effect in response to the card being discarded. The activation timing of "Forced Requisition" uses "when", so it can only be activated in response to the player discarding a card, hence it misses its activation timing in this case.[6]

On the other hand, "That Wacky Alchemy!" has an effect that is activated if an opponent's face-up Spell Card is sent to the Graveyard (it does not use "when", so it does not require that it be activated in response to that card being sent to the Graveyard). If the Ignition Effect of an opponent's "Brotherhood of the Fire Fist - Bear" is activated by sending "Fire Formation - Tenki" to the Graveyard, "That Wacky Alchemy!" can be activated in any subsequent Chain Link.[2]

Multiple activations

"Junk Changer" has an optional Trigger Effect that activates when it is Special Summoned. Even if its effect is activated, since the entire Chain is in response to the same event(s), cards such as "Bottomless Trap Hole" and "Inferno Reckless Summon" (which can only be activated in response to a monster being Summoned) can be Chained to the activation of the effect of "Junk Changer".

Quick and Quick-like Effects

ShinyBlackC-DL14-EN-R-UE-Blue

Shiny Black "C"

Sequential events

When the effect of "Drill Warrior" to Special Summon itself resolves, first it Special Summons itself, then its controller adds 1 monster from their Graveyard to their hand. (This is clear due to the use of the conjunctive "then".) Since the monster is added to the hand strictly after the Special Summon, cards and effects cannot be activated in response to the Special Summon.

The effect of "Shiny Black "C"" can only be activated in response to a Synchro Monster being Special Summoned to the opponent's field. When an opponent's "Drill Warrior" is Special Summoned by its own effect, the effect of "Shiny Black "C"" misses the timing and cannot be activated.

Simultaneous events

When "Soul Charge" resolves, monsters are Special Summoned, and at the same time, the player that activated it loses 1000 LP for each. (This is clear due to the use of the conjunctive "and if you do".) Since both events occurred at the same time, cards and effects can be activated in response to both events.

Therefore, the effect of "Shiny Black "C"" can be activated in response to a Synchro Monster being Special Summoned to the opponent's field by "Soul Charge". (It does not miss the timing.)

Chain Link 2 or higher

"Dian Keto the Cure Master" is activated as Chain Link 1 and "Raigeki Break" as Chain Link 2 targeting a monster. When the Chain resolves, the most recent event will be gaining LP with the effect of "Dian Keto the Cure Master", so it is not possible to activate cards and effects in response to the monster being destroyed by "Raigeki Break".

"Desrook Archfiend" can only be activated in response to the player's "Terrorking Archfiend" being destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. If "Terrorking Archfiend" is destroyed by "Raigeki Break" in the Chain described above, it is not possible to activate cards or effects in response to its destruction, so "Desrook Archfiend" misses the timing.[5]

See also

External links

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 "Individual Card Rulings [P-R]". Upper Deck Entertainment. Peten the Dark Clown. Archived from the original on 20 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090220140220/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com:80/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=P&last=R. Retrieved 4 June 2017.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Berger, Tyler (March 21, 2013). "Don’t Forget About This Card: That Wacky Alchemy!". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=4721. Retrieved 3 June 2017.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Tewart, Kevin (October 24, 2012). "[Official Thread] Abyss Rising". http://www.pojo.biz/board/showpost.php?p=26039471&postcount=113. Retrieved 4 June 2017.
  4. 4.0 4.1 "Advanced Game Play FAQ's". Upper Deck Entertainment. Missing the Timing - Optional Trigger Effects. Archived from the original on February 19, 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090217144746/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com:80/YuGiOh/en/gameplay/faqs/advancedgameplay/default.aspx. Retrieved 4 June 2017.
  5. 5.0 5.1 "Individual Card Rulings [D-E]". Upper Deck Entertainment. Desrook Archfiend. Archived from the original on 18 February 2009. http://web.archive.org/web/20090218205242/http://entertainment.upperdeck.com:80/yugioh/en/gameplay/faqs/cardfaqs/default.aspx?first=D&last=E. Retrieved 4 June 2017.
  6. 6.0 6.1 "Q&A » 強制接収 [Q&A » Forced Requisition]" (in Japanese). Konami. 20 July 2012. http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=4&cid=4948&request_locale=ja. Retrieved 4 June 2017.
  7. Tewart, Kevin (December 12, 2012). "Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 7: 2012 Update – Conjunction Functions". Konami. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=4514.

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.