Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Limitation Text

96,628pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Page Help0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Limitation Text is the name given to the text sometimes displayed in the bottom-left of a card, which is used in lieu of a passcode, and details special limitations for when that card may be used.

There are currently four types of text used in the TCG and two types in the OCG.

This card cannot be used in a Duel.

This Limitation Text states that the card is illegal in any official Duel. This is the most common type of Limitation Text. However, some cards with this text are specifically allowed at Yu-Gi-Oh! Day events in Japan.

The following cards use this text:

Several Giant Cards and Case Toppers also use this text to state that only that particular copy cannot be used in a Duel, due to its nonstandard size.

Language Text Translation Notes
English This card cannot be used in a Duel.
French Cette carte ne peut pas être utilisée en Duel. This card cannot be used in Dueling.
German Diese Karte darf nicht in Duellen verwendet werden.
Formerly: Diese Karte kann nicht in Duellen benutzt werden.
This card cannot be used in Duels.
Italian Questa carta non può essere utilizzata in un Duello.
Formerly: Questa carta non può essere usata in un Duello.
This card cannot be used in a Duel.
Portuguese Este card não pode ser usado em um Duelo.
Spanish Esta carta no puede ser usada en un Duelo.
Japanese ※公式デュエルには使用できません。
*Koshiki Dyueru ni wa Shiyō Dekimasen.
*Not usable in Official Duels. Formerly without the period (。).
Korean ※공식 듀얼에서는 사용할 수 없습니다.
*Gongsik Dyueor-eseoneun Sayonghal su Eoptseumnida.

This card cannot be in a Deck.

This Limitation Text states that the card is legal in official Duels, but cannot be put in the either the Main Deck, Extra Deck, or Side Deck. This is used on all Monster Token cards, counter cards, and the "Command Duel-Use Card".

Language Text Translation Notes
English This card cannot be in a Deck.
French Cette carte ne peut pas être dans un Deck. This card cannot be in a Deck.
German Diese Karte darf nicht in keinem Deck befinden. This card cannot be in any Deck.
Italian Questa carta non può messa in un Deck. This card cannot be placed in a Deck.
Portuguese Este card não pode ser colocado no Deck.
Spanish Esta carta no puede estar en una Deck. This card cannot be in a Deck.
Japanese ※デッキ構築には使用できません。
*Dekki Kōchiku ni wa Shiyō Dekimasen.
*Not usable in Deck construction. Formerly without the period (。).
Korean ※덱 구성에는 사용할 수 없습니다.
*Dek Guseong-eneun Sayonghal su Eoptseumnida.
*Not usable in Deck arrangement.

Not usable in Official Duels.

This Limitation Text is a more direct translation of the OCG equivalent of "This card cannot be used in a Duel", and has exactly the same meaning. This is only used on the TCG promotional card "Get Your Game On!".

Not an Official Yu-Gi-Oh! TCG Card.

This Limitation Text states that the card is considered unofficial, and thus like all unofficial cards (fan-made, counterfeit, etc.), it is illegal. This was only used on the Upper Deck Entertainment promotional "The Seal of Orichalcos", which was specifically made for and used at the Duel the Master 2005 Event, hosted by the then-distributors of the TCG.

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki