So here is the situation:

It is my turn, and in my hand I have Wind-up Shark and Wind-up Magician. My opponent controls an Effect Veiler in their hand, and for this situation assume their field is empty.

I normal summon Wind-up Magician. With the summon being successful, my opponent activates Effect Veiler targeting Magician. My question is, does Wind-up Shark lose it's chance to summon itself off of Wind-up Magician's summon? (since the last thing to happen is the opponent activating Effect Veiller)

Also, does this situation change if instead of Effect Veiller, they used Chain Disappearance?

Many thanks appreciated.

first, don't forget to ad for tildes at the end of your message, (~~ ~~, but then without the space).
second, for my knowledge, you can special summon Wind-Up Shark, that because when Wind-Up Magician is summoned, a summoning window opens, in there you can activate multipule effects on the summon of a monster. your opponent activates Effect Veiler there, and then you can either activate a card on the summon or on the effect veiler.D-range (talkcontribs) 14:11, October 12, 2012 (UTC)
You have priority, so you can activate Shark before your opponent activates Veiler. MadRest 14:20, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

Hm... because it seems really weird, cause from what I understand Shark is an optional trigger effect.

"When a "Wind-Up" monster is Normal or Special Summoned to your side of the field: You can Special Summon this card from your hand. "

Is this a scenario where Turn Player Priority can be used? Not that it would make any difference lol.

So then here is how I think it works: I summon Magician. The summon is successful, and that is my window of opportunity to activate Shark's effect. If I choose to activate Shark, it is placed in Chain Link 1. If I choose not to activate Shark, then I miss the chance and my opponent can use Veiler if they wish.

Correct me anywhere if my logic is flawed. I'm just trying to base this off of Inzektor timings (i.e. how they are optional effects that cannot miss timing)

Jtang00Q (talkcontribs) 14:30, October 12, 2012 (UTC) I don't use the forum often, so I'm not used to signing my posts lol :(

@MadRest The priority you're referring to is turn player priority correct? I just want to clarify since my local players were not too familiar with this situation. Jtang00Q (talkcontribs) 14:37, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

@MadRest, you don't have priority, if you summon or activate an effect, first your opponent can chain to it, if he/she passes the priority, then you can activate it. that's why there are windows. so you can chain on your actions if you want to.D-range (talkcontribs) 14:41, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

@.D-range so then does that mean if I want to summon Shark, I have to chain it to my opponent's Effect Veiler? :S Jtang00Q (talkcontribs) 14:44, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

When a monster is summoned, in summon response window:

  1. Turn player must activate their trigger mandatory effect, like Wanghu, Caius.
  2. Non-turn player's mandatory trigger effect.
  3. Turn player's optional trigger effect, like Stratos, Shark.
  4. Non-turn player's optional trigger effect.
  5. Turn player's fast effect, like their own Torrential Tribute.
  6. Non-turn player's fast effect.

-- (talkcontribs) 14:57, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

That's right; they are both Optional Trigger Effects, but he has priority, so Shark will be Chain Link 1, Magician will be Chain Link 2 (not sure about this), then Veiler will be Chain Link 3. Veiler will resolve first, and negate Magician; Magician can't resolve because it was negated, and then Shark is Summoned. MadRest 18:14, October 12, 2012 (UTC)
Well, never mind that. You can activate Shark, but you can't activate Magician after that. So Veiler will be Chain Link 2, and Shark will be Chain Link 1. Magician can't respond to Shark's effect. MadRest 20:46, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.