Yeah um, question i really need help with.
Can someone please explain the difference between trigger quick effects and multi quick effects, And can some tell me how you determine what effect is what. I know Lodd is trigger quick and Horus is multi, I would really appreciate if someone can help with this.

—This unsigned comment was made by Dirsion (talkcontribs) 00:02, September 17, 2011Dirsion,

Please be sure to sign your edits with four tildes in future, k? I can't answer this one myself. --FredCat 00:15, September 17, 2011 (UTC)
Um, I'm not sure what you're asking. Both "Light and Darkness Dragon" and "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8" have Quick Effects. The former has a mandatory one (since its effect doesn't give you any option) and the latter is optional (since it says "you can"). --Deus Ex Machina 03:49, September 17, 2011 (UTC)

The rulings say Lodd can only activate once per a chain, where Horus can activate during the chain multiple chains, can someone tell me how to determine the difference on other cards with similar effects. —This unsigned comment was made by Dirsion (talkcontribs) 06:23, September 17, 2011

That's right, friend. It's because Horus LV8 has no negative "side-effect" beside being NOMI - which can activate multiple times in same chain. While L&DD required to reduce it ATK/DEF by 500 first to negate the activate of card itself (except for summon, obviously) - therefore make it missing a chance to negative the second card in same chain through the resolved. And didn't you know how to sign your edits with four tildes (look like this; ~~~~) at end of your comment, it help you place your name magically when you click publish button. --FredCat 09:03, September 17, 2011 (UTC)
Quick Effect without cost or limitations (like one per turn, etc.) cannot actives many times in same chain. Both LADD and Formular Synchron have no cost to active their effect, so they cannot active many times in same chain.-- (talkcontribs) 10:20, September 17, 2011 (UTC)
Then, can you tell me, why Horus LV8 can be ass like that to negate ANY Spell Cards many times? Oh and it's Formula, not Formular. --FredCat 10:27, September 17, 2011 (UTC)
Limitation (is this right word?) of Horus is "chain to Spell Card", while LADD can (and must) respond to itself.-- (talkcontribs) 10:30, September 17, 2011 (UTC)
Indeed. And you got the spell correct. :-) --FredCat 10:47, September 17, 2011 (UTC)

So any card with quick effects that has a cost that like losing attack or returning a card can only activate once per a chain and cards that don't have something that resolves in the chain like horus and paladin can activate multiple times. Am I understanding this right? Dirsion (talkcontribs) 04:33, September 18, 2011 (UTC)

"losing attack" is not a cost.
Any effect that can chain to itself with no cost can only be actived once per chain.-- (talkcontribs) 05:15, September 18, 2011 (UTC)

Hello, this forum appears to me contradictory.

I just want someone to clarify the Answer.

How can you tell the difference between a quick effect monster whose effect can be activated multiple times on a chain and the one you can just activate once per chain?????

In first place, I found obvious that you can't activate the quick-effect of a monster who is not on the Field anymore (Stardust Dragon after activating it's effect).

Light and Darkness can't activate the effect cause Konami says so (RULINGS), and logic of course, Light and Darkness would loop infinitely to itself.

But, I heard that if there is not a ruling saying the contrary, you can chain more than once a Quick monster Effect on a Chain.

Haven't found anything official, besides this forum, that says that Quick monster effects cannot be activated more than once per chain, because of having costs, or other effects (the term: "negative" was used here). (talk) 03:48, August 7, 2012 (UTC)Charlie888

If the quick effect has no cost and it can chain iself, it can only be used once per chain (LADD, Formula Synchron, etc. except Galaxy Eyes Photon Dragon, BKSS). Otherwise, it can. Very simple.-- (talkcontribs) 05:51, August 7, 2012 (UTC) if a Monster have a Quick Effect that can be chained, and IT HAVE COST, you can chain that effect more than once in the same chain. Example: Chain link1: Dark Hole Chain link2: Lightray Gearfried (Negate removing a Warrior from grave) Chain link3: Raigeki Break (target Gearfried) Chain link4: Lightray Gearfried (Negate Raigeki Break now). So this would be possible?

If I got that right, then I suppose Horus the Black Flame Dragon Lv8 is an exception. He doesn't have cost, but it's effect can be used more than once in a chain. (talk) 23:46, August 29, 2012 (UTC)

If a Quick Eff can chain to ITSELF and has no cost, it is once per chain. Horus cannot chain to itself, it can only chain to a Spell card.-- (talkcontribs) 02:40, August 30, 2012 (UTC)
How does a card chain to itself and what does chaining to itself mean?. -- (talk) 17:57, October 12, 2012 (UTC)
LODD activates when an effect activates, i.e. it would've been possible to chain to its own effect as well. For example, your opponent activates a Spell Card as Chain Link 1; LODD becomes Chain Link 2 and negates the Spell Card. This is how it would work in the real game. It can only activate once in a chain, because if it doesn't, this would happen: Spell Card - Chain Link 1, LODD - Chain Link 2, LODD - Chain Link 3, LODD - Chain Link 4, LODD - Chain Link 5, LODD - Chain Link 6, and so on until it ran out of necessary ATK/DEF, and it would just end up negating its own effect. Horus only chains to Spell Cards; it cannot chain when its effect is activated. MadRest 18:10, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

but what about if this happened: Spell Card - Chain Link 1 - Chain Link 2, LODD - Chain Link 3, continous trap like solem wishes - Chain Link 4, LODD, etc. till he can no longer use it due to... would that be possible since it's not chaining to itself. -- (talk) 18:23, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

No, LODD can't activate again in the same chain. That's the whole point I made in my last comment. Since LODD already activated, it can't negate Solemn Wishes or any other card after that in the Chain. MadRest 20:34, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

ok. I got it.-- (talk) 20:46, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

As stated before, L&DD can't multiple chain on multiple cards in single chain - 500 ATK/DEF loss is cost and that was it. Horus LV8 can negate many Spell Cards as long as he's face-up on the field; it's because it has word "You can negate the activation and the effect of Spell Card, and destroy it." in it lore. Horus LV8 is cheap and cheater while L&DD kept it holy. --iFredCat 21:01, October 12, 2012 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.