Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
|Forums:||Index → Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Queries → Terms defined and effects on card rulings|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 2445 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
Ok just a minor irritation but one i would like some feedback
DESTROYED!! What exactly does this mean? I mean when a card is tributed, fused or sent to the graveyard does this count as destroyed?
well... there are differences. Basicly the same thing happens: monsters go from the field to the grave. But some effect specifically need the cards to be destroyed.
Example 1: Stardust Dragon can only negate effects which destroy. If for example Dark End Dragon use his effect, stardust can't negate it. Read the effect: he sends monsters to the grave, he doesn't destroy them, so stardust can't negate his effect.
Example 2: You use Mind Control and take control of the opponents monster. The effect of mind controll states, that the monster can't be tributed. But it can be sent to the graveyard. Therefore it can be used for syncro summoning. Synchro summoning takes monsters on your side of the field and send them to the grave in order to summon the syncro monster.
Example 3: Look at the card text of Polymerization. It is stated, that the monsters are sent to the grave. That means you can even use monsters which have the sentence "cannot be tributed" in their card text.
So there are basicly 3 things: destroy, tribute and send. All 3 do the same, they put monsters from the field to the grave. But as you can see above some effects specifically need certain conditions for their effects or they lock some of them. Hope you understand now^^ -dest- 16:41, March 27, 2010 (UTC)
- Nice explain, but you forgot something, all users need to post their own names by ~~~~ in order to show who they are. --FredCat100 16:54, March 27, 2010 (UTC)
- Well, the issue was slightly danced around. Destroying is not the same as tributing or sending. A card is destroyed either through battle, or by a card effect, which like dest says, says "destroy". Likewise, tributing isn't destroying or sending, however, in the case of Ritual Monsters, tributing may be "sending". And finally, sending doesn't mean destroy or tribute, unless it is for Rituals, then it is a "tribute". Placing a card from the field to the graveyard does not mean that it is destroyed, sent, or tributed, it is merely the mechanic of placing the card in the graveyard when a card is destroyed, sent, or tributed. DemonGodAsura 17:34, March 27, 2010 (UTC)