Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
|Forums:||Index → Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Queries → Swing of memories|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 3067 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
if i special summon a Gemini, and i Second Summon it, the monster is still destroyed at End Phase?
Cybertwin 07:20, 11 April 2008 (UTC)
I came up with this question while toying with themes for my low-level normal deck... If I use Swing of Memories on one of my little guys and activate Creature Seizure... does that monster I brought back still get destroyed at the end of the turn? The card doesn't say anything about where it should be... =D
I'm assuming Yes, but I just want to be sure. Eminentjonfrost 04:28, 13 June 2008 (UTC)
- It's still destroyed. --Deus Ex Machina 16:57, 13 June 2008 (UTC)
Sweet, I love that combo... total turnover for my advantage! =P Eminentjonfrost 17:29, 13 June 2008 (UTC)
Whoa whoa whoa people stop it.
Check the ruling on the site of the card.
If you normal summon the monster special summoned with Swing of Memories. It is no longer under the effect of Swing of Memories, and therefore not to be destroyed.
Its no longer the same normal monster that was special summoned.
- I cannot find any reference to the ruling on the Konami site, or as a semi-official ruling on the Japanese Wikia. If it was once listed, the ruling has since been removed. --Deus Ex Machina 21:15, 1 July 2008 (UTC)
- I find that lots of TCG players are confused over this so-called OCG ruling. Our rulings regarding this card is same as the TCG; monsters revived with Swing die at the end phase regardless of it being Gemini Summoned. --Pizzaman 01:07, 2 July 2008 (UTC)
I apologize Pizza but I don't understand why you think that. . .
Imagine this situation, Summon Blazewing Butterfly, play Super Double Summon, then use Blazewing's effect to send her to the graveyard to special summon another Gemini, pick one. . . Would you still return Blazewing Butterflyto your hand during the End Phase of your turn, according to the effect of Super Double Summon?
Geminis have a lot of strange things happening with what they do, imagine a situation where you want to activate Chain Summoning, lets say you decide to Swing of Memories a King Pyron, then use Inferno Reckless Summon to pull 2 more from your deck, Then, largely as chaining fodder you activate Super Double Summon and Unleash Your Power!, now that you're at a Chain 3, you activate Chain Summoning, and do whatever you wanted to do with that. . .
After all that is said and done, at your end phase, whoever you chose to SDS goes back to your hand, the rest of the Geminis that were on the field before unleash was played are all set. . .
Geminis tend to have overridden effects. Its examples like these that help explain that if you use Swing of Memories then spend your normal summon on a Gemini Monsters]] tthen the monster is no longer under the effect of the Swing of Memories and therefore will not be destroyed at the end phase. . .
Sorry for the rambling, but I almost entirely play only Geminis, and its kind of a spot that I want to know as much about as possible Lostconfound19 14:20, 3 July 2008 (UTC)
- Blazewing Butterfly is not on the field anymore, that's why it doesn't go back to your hand. It looks like this is going to be argued about a bit, but the rulings on Swing of Memories have been clear. And until I see some proof of this, as Pizzaman says, so-called OCG ruling, that's the way it is. Danny Lilithborne 17:14, 3 July 2008 (UTC)
In your example, after "Swing of Memories" summons "King Pyron", I believe you are doing this:
- Chain 1: "Inferno Reckless Summon"
- Chain 1: "Inferno Reckless Summon" Special Summons two copies of "King Pyron"
- Chain 1: "Super Double Summon" (targetting the "King Pyron" Summoned by "Swing of Memories")
- Chain 2: "Unleash Your Power!"
- Chain 3: "Chain Summoning"
- Chain 3: "Chain Summoning" resolves
- Chain 2: "Unleash Your Power!" resolves, and all three copies of "King Pyron" are treated as Effect monsters.
- Chain 1: "Super Double Summon" resolves. Since "King Pyron" has not been Gemini Summoned yet (it is only being treated as an Effect Monster), the effect resolves properly, and "King Pyron" is Gemini Summoned.
During the End Phase, the original "King Pyron" is under three effects: "Swing of Memories", "Super Double Summon", and "Unleash Your Power!". Since you control all three effects, you decide which to resolve first.
- If "Super Double Summon" resolves first, then "King Pyron" returns to your hand. Since it is no longer face-up on the field, it loses its tie to the other two effects. "King Pyron" is neither flipped face-down nor destroyed.
- If "Unleash Your Power!" resolves first, then "King Pyron" and friends are flipped face-down. Since it was flipped face-down, it loses its connection to "Super Double Summon" and "Swing of Memories", so that "King Pyron" is neither returned to your hand nor destroyed.
- If "Swing of Memories" resolves first, then "King Pyron" is destroyed. Since it is no longer face-up on the field, it loses its tie to the other two effects. "King Pyron" is neither flipped face-down nor returned to the hand.
"King Pyron" does not lose its tie to "Swing of Memories" because it was Gemini Summoned. It loses the tie because it is no longer face-up on the field, similar to how "Return from the Different Dimension" won't remove from play a monster if the monster is not face-up on the field.--Deus Ex Machina 19:13, 3 July 2008 (UTC)