Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
|Forums:||Index → Help desk → Set a monster considered a summon?|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 2456 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
Alright, Say during my duel I summon a monster Ojama Blue from my hand into the field in face-down position. Then during my opponent's turn he revives Queen of Thorns from the graveyard by using an effect of some plant monster. He then attacks my face-down defense position monster, it's flipped face up because of the attack. Will Queen of Thorns effect still count?
To be clear my question is, when you set a monster in face-down position then flip face-up by an attack is it considered to be a summon? Then will Queen of Thorns effect count? —This unsigned comment was made by 22.214.171.124 (talk • contribs) 21:57, March 6, 2010
- When you Set a monster it is considered a Summon, however when the set (face-down) monster is attacked and then flip up, it was already summoned so it is not summoned again, it is just flipped up so no Queen of Thorn's effect will not activate, because Queen's effect clearly says "Each player must pay 1000 Life Points to Normal or Special Summon a non-Plant-Type monster from their hand." Setting a monster is neither a Special or a Normal Summon.Altyrell 22:01, March 6, 2010 (UTC)
How about in the case of say my opponent attacks a face-down defense monster then its flip face up defence but the monster has a higher defense stats than the attacking monster atk stats. So the defense monster lives. My opponent then plays bottomless trap hole. This a valid move? in bottom trap hole it has if a monster is normal summon. Will the act of setting a monster in face-down defense position then its attack then flip face-up defense position a summon?
Sorry let me rephrase this sentence "This a valid move? in bottom trap hole it has if a monster is normal summon.". To This a valid move? in bottom trap hole it has if a monster is summon.". Can't edit.
- A Set is not treated as a Summon. Other than that, what Altyrell said is pretty much correct. You don't have to pay to Set a monster, and you don't have to pay if a monster is flipped face-up (since that's not a Summon either).
- Also, remember to sign your posts with four tildes ~~~~, since that automatically creates a signature for you.
- --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 00:37, March 7, 2010 (UTC)