Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
|Forums:||Index → Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Queries → Pyro Clock Gravity Combo?|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 2269 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
Well, I discovered a quite powerful combo, but I don't know if it's a legal move: In Traditional Format, in the first turn of the game I activate a card effect to send Makyura the Destructor to the Graveyard and then I activate Pyro Clock of Destiny from my hand. Technically it's not the first turn of the game. So should I be able to Normal Summon Gravity Behemoth without tribute and attack directly with it, am I right?
Well,.... Pyro Clock of Destiny is one of those cards with old rulings and lousy translation.
The Japanese card text: "カード１枚のターンカウントを１ターン進める。"
Translation: Move the turn count of 1 card forward by 1.
What it means is that it doesn't work like the anime Mischief of the Time Goddess. It only affects the turn count of one card. It targets 1 card on the field. You can never target cards in the hand. However, keep in mind that it has some weird rulings.-- 17:59, September 17, 2010 (UTC)
You didn't understanded. I said hipothetically, considering it's my turn and the first turn of the game I activate a card like Foolish Burial to send Makyura to the graveyard. Then I activate Pyreo Clock effect to advances the turn count. Only the Turn Count, but the turn continues normally. But still, the turn count is 2 not 1, and I should be able to summon Gravity Behemoth without tribute and attack directly with it, shoudn't I? By Snetonobre (talk • contribs) 15:06, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
You don't understand.
1) If Pyro Clock of Destiny is suppose to work as it should be in the OCG, its effect only targets and changes the turn count of 1 card. That means it can only target a card in the graveyard or on the field, since you cannot target cards in the hand or deck. It also means that it only changes the turn count for 1 card but the general turn count still remains the same. If you activate Pyro Clock of Destiny on the first turn, the card it is affecting will have its turn count changed but it is still the first turn.
2) As I've said, the rulings and card text for Pyro Clock of Destiny are old and weird.-- 15:36, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
No, you didn't understand. First of all, the card lore is: "Move the turn count forward by 1 turn. The turn in which this card is activated continues as normal." so it advances the turn count, not the turn count of only one card. Second I,ve never said it would target any card. I said Makyura effect would allows me to activate it from my hand during my turn being the first turn of the game, to do the combo. Third, the cards in the TCG work by their card lores, not by the OCG lores. Some time ago, the card lore of Time Machine would only return a monster to the field without special summoning, so it could return a card like Red-Eyes Darkness Dragon, but a new reprint adjusted it to Special Summon the monster so it would be like the OCG lore, and then it cannot return cards like Five-Headed Dragon. Fourth and finally, I've used this card in Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's World Championship 2009: Stardust Accelerator, and advanced the entire turn count, not only the turn count of Final Countdown. By Snetonobre (talk • contribs) 15:55, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
That's where you are wrong. In the TCG, we've frequently seen cards that suffer from bad translation. Most of the time, they still work according to the OCG card text. Examples, include Royal Oppression, Stardust Dragon & Zombie Master. That is why there are a lot of BKSS rulings in the TCG.
One more thing, activating a Trap Card from your hand doesn't mean that you don't get to target. If you activated Nightmare Wheel from your hand by the effect of Makyura, you would still need to target a monster.
As for Final Countdown, that is why I said that its effect is weird.-- 15:58, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
Listen I'm getting angry. If there's something I hate is when I know I'm right people disagree. I've seen that "bad translation" as you called in this site in the card trivia for time machine and it wasn't me that wrote that. Also, I never said I woudn't target a card only because I activated it from my hand. I said PYRO CLOCK DOESN'T TARGET. By Snetonobre (talk • contribs) 16:02, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
There's 2 rulings that you need to pay attention to:
- "Based on OCG text, "Pyro Clock of Destiny" only affects the turn count of one card."
- ""Pyro Clock of Destiny" targets the card whose turn count you wish to advance. If the card is not on the field, you must still declare the effect which "Pyro Clock of Destiny" will affect."
It is an old and weird card. Normally for cards like that, they suffer from a lot of rulings inconsistencies.
As for Time Machine, it is different. Its OCG card text was errata'd, that is why the TCG card text was also errata'd.-- 16:11, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
... If you don't want to follow the official rulings, then why are you asking here anyway? Of course, you can make up your own rulings for it if you are playing for fun.--16:24, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
Okay, what you talked now calmed me down. I really plays only for fun, not in any official tournament. If you're right, you're right, and that's all. I hate when I know I'm right and people disagree, but I'm too prideful to ever admit I'm wrong. Okay them. But again, I used it in a yu-gi-oh game and it's effect was different. This is a game error? By Snetonobre (talk • contribs) 16:31, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
If you want to play in an official tournament, then you need to understand the official rulings. It's ok. Pyro Clock of Destiny is a very weird card and its rulings are very inconsistent with its official card text. What I don't understand is why are you asking for help with rulings if you are going to play by your own rules anyway?-- 16:35, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
It's because me and my friends prefer to use true rules. The only rule change we use is that a player needs at least 20 cards in their deck, instead of 40. This is because some people don't have money to buy the packs, structure decks they want, and even when they have more than 40 cards, they normally wants to do a kind of deck that can't use some of the cards, like a tuner in a elemental hero deck. We also let people use fake cards, but only if they have the right effects, stats, level type, attribute, artwork and name as in their TCG Original Versions, and cannot be counterfeits. This means that a a Skelengel with the level, artwork and DEF of King's Knight can't be used as well as the popular counterfeit Exodia Star (which shows the five pieces of Exodia in one card). By Snetonobre (talk • contribs) 16:47, September 21, 2010 (UTC)
Ok. Well, hoped that my explanation helped.--16:48, September 21, 2010 (UTC)