|Forums:||Index → General Yu-Gi-Oh! Discussion → Pendulum Summons, and then some|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 1094 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
So, we're finally discovering details on the Pendulum Summons. Will be updating this as more is revealed over time.
- Pendulum Zones introduced on the leftmost and rightmost edges of the field. Blue scale between Field Spell and Extra Deck Zones. Red scale between Main Deck and Graveyard Zones.
- Pendulum Monsters have markers on their left and right edges. The appropriate scale number applies when they're placed in the Pendulum Zone of the same colour.
- Pendulum Monsters can enter the Extra Deck face-up if they would be sent from the field to the Graveyard. When building a Deck, they still enter the Main Deck fist.
- Pendulum Monsters can be placed in the Pendulum Zones. Doing so is treated as an activation of a Continuous Spell Card, and they're treated as such there. Pendulum Monsters that are being treated as Spells in the Pendulum Zones may have different effects compared to when they're monsters.
- When both your Pendulum Zones are occupied, once per turn, you can Pendulum Summon (a form of Special Summon) any number of monsters from your hand and/or Pendulum Monsters from your Extra Deck whose Level falls between the scale numbers of the Pendulum Monsters on the edges of your field. (i.e. if the scales on your field are 1 and 8, you can Pendulum Summon monsters of Level 2 to 7)
- When I saw the Pendulum Monster Cards, I thought "Oh god they seem Magic's cards", and when I showed them to my friend, who is also an older YGO player than me, he said I was right --XBrain130™「Ｘ頭脳１３０」 14:01, February 17, 2014 (UTC)
- So does this mean certain monsters will be like normal Effect Monsters and remain in your main deck/hand and gain an effect when Pendulum Summoned while other monsters will be given a different border and placed in the Extra? --Dark Ace SP (Talk) 23:34, February 17, 2014 (UTC)
- No, seems like it the Pendulum monsters themselves are placed in seperate zones, the result of pendulum summoning seems to be a flood of monsters from the hand (ATM, looks like its encouraging mid-level stuff). the Pendulum monsters are more comparable to tuners, they aren't the power cards, they are what summons them. and they can be placed in the extra deck on death and pendulum summoned from there themselves, in addition to the hand flood. SWING, swarm, Kill.DreadKaiser (talk • contribs) 00:22, February 18, 2014 (UTC)
Speculations abound that in one single Pendulum Summon per turn you can Special Summon multiple monsters that fall within the appropriate Level range at one go. Discuss/rage. --Gadjiltron (talk • contribs) 01:22, February 18, 2014 (UTC)
I'm not sure that this will even be as explosive as people are saying its going to be. Our instinct is to look at some sort of best-case scenario, where you open with 2 Pendulum monsters and 2-3 other monsters, but how often are you going open with that 4-5 monster hand? Any deck that could actually make consistently good use of this mechanic would probably be unrealistically monster-heavy and weak to mass removal, not to mention that the high number of Pendulum Monsters you'd need to run would make a lot of those summons weak. I'm not saying it won't work, just that it'll need good support. Emmic (talk • contribs) 07:58, February 18, 2014 (UTC)
OCG Gameplay Changes
And while we're at it, OCG rule changes to apply 21 March:
- The player taking the very first turn does not draw during their Draw Phase.
- Both players can simultaneously control an active Field Spell.
- Card text will undergo minor changes to be easier to read. Effects are now numbered to distinguish which ones are separate.
- The drawing thing is kinda alright seeing as the player who goes first can set up. The Field Spell thing kinda goes too far in my opinion, as that kinda ruins the point of playing Field Spell decks to destroy other Field Spell reliant decks. --Dark Ace SP (Talk) 23:27, February 17, 2014 (UTC)
- I'm in two minds about the Field Spell rule. Suddenly, between this and Pendulum Monsters, there won't be enough S/T removal to go around. I find the whole numbering effects implementation a little late, although hopefully it'll help solve some issues with players who are on the dim side. I can't see the TCG adopting it though, considering PSCT was only implemented in recent years and they're still trying to reprint cards with it.--YamiWheeler (talk • contribs) 23:46, February 17, 2014 (UTC)
I'm fine with both of those rules because first, I agree with the first turn set-up, it can get broken at hand and it gives an indicator that they won't make any more broken 1st turn kill decks, or at least that's in my opinion and the second rule is fine because if both players are field spell reliant, at least both players will have an equal advantage assuming both players have the same number of hand. Can't wait to see how the second rule take effect in TCG though. :D Fallensilence (talk • contribs) 00:15, February 18, 2014 (UTC)
I don't really care much on the draw rule, I play more casually so the first turn advantage wasn't as big an issue, typically summon something and set 2. I REALLY liek the new field rule, they had mix'd fields in Duelist friggin Kingdom, never got why we couldn't have those IRL (when fields were really bad anyway). My friend in particular loves this change "EXCELLENT, NOW MY AMAZING SEAL OF ULTIMATE DARK GAME-BREAKY POWER WONT BE DESTROYED BY SOMEONE CONJURING A FIELD OF FLOWERS". he really like the Seal of Orichalcos.DreadKaiser (talk • contribs) 00:27, February 18, 2014 (UTC)
- On the other hand, we won't be able to bait out Imperial Tombs of Necrovalley anymore by threatening to play over their field. --Gadjiltron (talk • contribs) 01:09, February 18, 2014 (UTC)
- oooo, good point, yeah Necrovalley gonna be more annoying now. I wonder what this does for Dragon Ravines chances of coming off 0?DreadKaiser (talk • contribs) 01:19, February 18, 2014 (UTC)
I don't know how I feel about any of the new stuff. I can see how only starting with 5 cards can be okay, but it will still slow things down significantly. Also, I hate the new field spell rule. I don't understand why they waited so long to make these changes. Maybe I'm too old to like these changes, I don't know. I just hope these are a test run, and that they don't make any more changes that affect normal gameplay (excluding new types of summoning, even though I don't like the way Pendulum Summoning is shaping up so far). --Mcoilisprime (talk • contribs) 07:43, February 18, 2014 (UTC)