if my opponent activate a trap and i activate mystical space typhoon to counter it, will it negate the effect of the trap just because its destroyed?

the effect of mystical space typhoon just say destroy a magic/trap on the field. it did not say negate and destroy. but in the tournements i see mystical space typhoon actually negating an effect of a trap/magic.

So does it negates? Kznightmare 11:04, 18 June 2008 (UTC)

Negate != Destroy. The tournaments you go to seem to lack a judge. --Pizzaman 13:00, 18 June 2008 (UTC)
  • For a more thorough explanation, Spells and Traps that have effects which trigger when the effect is activated have Activated effects. These sort of effects only require the Spell/Trap to be successfully activated (meaning not negated) and cannot be stopped if you destroy the Spell/Trap but not negate it. Things like Continuous Spells and Traps have effects that continue as long as the Spell/Trap remains face-up - these are Applied effects. Applied effects require the Spell/Trap to remain on the field. So, in conclusion, MST does not negate effects unless they are Applied ones. --Gadjiltron 03:59, 21 June 2008 (UTC)

No it does'nt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Everybody should already know MST does not negate the effect of a spell or trap card when activated. Mst is used to destroy normally continous trap and spell cards not negate them. For example your opponent has a face-down card your afraid of and you want to destroy, well then go ahead and knock yourself out by using mystical space typhoon. don't pay attention to those tacky tournaments... they have no lives.. just trust yourself , and remember Mst does not negate effcts of spell and trap cards! :)

Try looking up Spell Speed >_>

=== It really doesnt matter what the general agreement is some say yes some say no... You and your oppenent should decide these things before you start the duel or the tournament... The reason this is a problem is because of spell speed... Mst since it has quick play spell status is considered a spell speed level of 2 anything with equal or lower spell speed is subject to the whole of death it brings...and if it is activated later on than the card you a trying to negate in the chain then its effect resolves first and the spell or normal trap that you activated mst as a chain to is destroyed before its effect can be activated.... On the other hand it says destroy not negate... Technically it would stop the effect but anything saying if an effect was negated would not go into play because the card was not negated just merely destroyed before its effect came into play.... 21:01, February 26, 2010 (UTC)

  • What the hell? No. You don't know what you're talking about. It does matter what the "general agreement" is because those are THE RULES OF THE GAME. You can't just decide to change that because you want to. Mystical Space Typhoon destroys 1 Spell or Trap Card on the field. Dark Bribe NEGATES 1 Spell or Trap Card. There is a DIFFERENCE. Don't give advice if you don't even know the fundamental rules of the game.--YamiWheeler 21:22, February 26, 2010 (UTC)

Oh dear god, shut up if you don't know what you're talking about.

Gadjiltron is correct. MST cannot negate cards per se, and certainly will have no effect if chained to Brain Control, for instance. However, say your opponent activates Royal Oppression to negate your summon. If you chain MST to destroy Oppression, then its effect will not resolve. It works for continuous spells and traps only. Runer5h 21:20, February 26, 2010 (UTC)Runer5h

But a chain...

what if you activate a MST on an activated PRE-SET card as a chain before it was ever flipped therefore it was never activated. This negate::destroy thing is a big issue where I duel and It does not mention this in the rule book

O.o I'm pretty sure that's irrelevant

Even if a card is destroyed, unless its effect is negated, if it's part of a chain it will carry through and pan out. The only reason there would be cards that both 'negate and destroy' is if cards that only 'destroy' do not negate.


This is coming from a judge: "Mystical Space Typhoon" does not negate. The text does not say "negate", it only says "destroy". If MST targets a card in chain, it will destroy the card, but will not prevent the effect from resolving. If MST is chained to a Continuous Trap Card, Continuous Spell Card, Field Spell Card, or Equip Spell Card, their effects will not be applied; they must resolve properly without being destroyed in order for their effects to apply. DemonGodAsura 15:17, March 11, 2010 (UTC)

Precisely. For more proof, just look at the rulings for Good Goblin Housekeeping; according to it, it counts the number of copies of itself for its draw effect during its resolution, but if a card is chained to it that sends it to the graveyard but does not negate its effect, when it resolves, it will count itself for its own effect. It's a perfect example of how destroy =/= negate (and if negate = destroy, then we wouldn't have cards like Skill Drain or Imperial Order, who negates but doesn't destroy cards). 15:29, March 11, 2010 (UTC)

-something to note here on the continuous trap/spells, is that you would have to play mst as a chain to the card, for example if you opponent activates imperial oder and you chain mst, imperial is gone, but if you opponet has imperial order activated and you draw mst and activate it, imperial order negates it, but they can chain imperial order to mst and mst is negated.

You cannot Chain "Imperial Order" to "Mystical Space Typhoon". "Imperial Order" is a Continuous Spell Card, which is Spell Speed 1. "Mystical Space Typhoon" is a Quick-Play Spell Card, which is Spell Speed 2. You cannot Chain lesser Spell Speeds to greater ones. You also cannot Chain Spell Speed 1 cards to anything. DemonGodAsura 17:38, March 20, 2010 (UTC)
Objection. Imperial Order is a Continuous Trap. --Gadjiltron 01:10, March 21, 2010 (UTC)

Quesiton on MST

I was dueling and my opponet activated Mind Control, so i activated MST! He says it wasn't negated only destroyed. How can the eff of mind control activate if it is destroyed? Think about it: If someone destroys and apple, can u still eat it? NO u cna't! So after its destroeyd how can u use it? Think about this? Who is right here?! —This unsigned comment was made by (talkcontribs) 16:13, March 17, 2010

Well, that "Apple" is physical solid thing, while all those "spell" and "trap" cards are spirit or drug. Of course you cannot eat the apple after it get destroy. But for spell/trap cards, they still activate though they're destroyed. It's like you pierced your arm with toxin then it get destroyed by MST, you're already infested by that virus/toxin. So think that again in future, S/T are just air, while Apple is physical solid. --FredCat100 16:18, March 17, 2010 (UTC)
Take a step back here. The yu-gi-oh card game has its own definition for the terms "negate" and "destroy". Look them up, but for your reference, if an effect in a chain says to destroy something, the other effects in the chain aren't negated (unless the effects explicitly say that they must be on the field in order to activate/work). Zeroblizzard 18:48, March 17, 2010 (UTC)Zeroblizzard
Ok, think of Apple as Equip Spell Cards, and other are invisible and able to play though it's not on field. --FredCat100 18:51, March 17, 2010 (UTC)
OK, why are we using analogies to apples and poisons? Weird as hell, honestly. MST only works to "negate" Field Spells, Equip Spells, Continuous Spells, and Continuous Traps. Runer5h 19:32, March 17, 2010 (UTC)Runer5h
"Mystical Space Typhoon" does nothing to the card's effect. Even if you destroy the card, its effect is still there.
Here's a better analogy: Someone throws a grenade at you (activates "Mind Control"). If you shoot the guy (activate "Mystical Space Typhoon"), then will you still be killed by the grenade? Of course you will - the grenade no longer cares about the other guy. You need something which specifically takes care of the grenade (something which specifically negates).
Also, remember to sign your posts with four tildes ~~~~, since that automatically creates a signature for you.
--Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 01:03, March 18, 2010 (UTC)
Nice Deus, this is a children's card game, and you bring up throwing grenades and shooting each other. XD DemonGodAsura 01:08, March 18, 2010 (UTC)
Well, he just show some compare for MST and Grenade. It show how they work similar. I cannot believe that this idiot cannot understand what I am blahing about (not referring to you or Deus, just referring to this question maker) --FredCat100 01:22, March 18, 2010 (UTC)

It won't negate but...

They're still players that don't understand "destroy" and "negating" but MST can actually save a card from being negated. Don't be hasty to flame me pros out there. Here's an example:

  • Player 1 summoned JD and use its effect.
  • Player 2 activated "Light-Imprisoning Mirror"
  • Player 1 chained MST targeting LIM.

In the above example, MST "saved" JD from being negated by LIM even though MST doesn't negate it. It works in Continuous trap cards like "Royal Decree" and "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror (just work it out how). They are still some situation that MST can be used to as a "pseudo-negate" cards. Just use your common sense or whatever. --SilentHero26 04:08, March 19, 2010 (UTC)

Whoa, never expected this thing to show up again after a long time. Once again, just take a good look at my explanation of "Activated" effects vs. "Applied" effects above to clear everything up. --Gadjiltron 01:09, March 21, 2010 (UTC)

IT doesn't negate, but I am reading the rule book right now. IF THERE IS A CHAIN, say someone plays smashing ground, its placed at the bottom of the chain, then someone counters with MST which is spell speed two and goes about smashing ground, its placed above it on the chain. Now the effects resolve backwards according to the rule book. MST uses its effect and destroys smashing ground, there is no smashing ground anymore so its EFFECT should not be able to be used.

INCORRECTAMUNDO (no idea if that's a real word). It doesn't work on anything except continuous spells, continuous traps, equip spells and field spells. Now can we please move on? Runer5h 19:50, May 5, 2010 (UTC)Runer5h

Okay, contrary to whatever the heck you think makes sense, card's effects are counted as activating until they are negated or resolved (unless they're continuous). That's as simple as it's going to get. The effect has nothing to do with the card's destruction if the effect doesn't care whether the card that activated it is destroyed at the end of the chain. Zeroblizzard 20:02, May 5, 2010 (UTC)Zeroblizzard

Ha you can destroy a drug habbit but the crave is still there =p

Why...? Why is this thing still alive?! --Gadjiltron 15:14, June 3, 2010 (UTC)

My Lord, this topic is insane, here's how MST works, destroys spell and traps, does NOT negate unless said spell or trap is continuous such as royal decree or ground collapse, or if the card is an equip card such as metalmorph or double tool C&D. they are destroyed and negated. Cards like one for one or magic jammer are not negated, just destroyed. And that's MST in a nut shell. 16:03, June 3, 2010 (UTC)

I agreed with this unnamed user, however, it ain't still negate. It just "canceled" the effect and send to the graveyard afterward. --FredCat100 16:06, June 3, 2010 (UTC)

OMG, the simple reason is that Continuous Trap Cards, Continuous Spell Cards, Field Spell Cards & Equip Cards need to be face-up on the field to be in effect. That is why when you destroy them with MST, even in a chain, you aren't actually negating their effects, you just make it so they can't work.

That's the simple explanation so can other people read this carefully and let this page die already.--Hide Head Turtle 02:28, June 4, 2010 (UTC)

Thank you FredCat100, just for that, I'll make an account here. I talk on the forums alot anyways. 16:11, June 4, 2010 (UTC)


pretty much what everyone's trying to say is that MST will only negate continuous or spells or traps and field spells. MST doesn't negate a spell or trap that leaves the field after its effect resolves.

Yugioh DED 16:47, June 6, 2010 (UTC)yugioh DED

What we're trying to say is that MST doesn't negate anything, it just makes Continuous Trap Cards, Continuous Spell Cards, Field Spell Cards & Equip Cards unable to work.--HHTurtle 16:51, June 6, 2010 (UTC)

Oh yeah, i forgot about equip spells. And if you use an MST on a card that would make it unable to work, it obviously has to be when your opponent ACTIVATES the card.

Dear God, someone should just delete this thread. people shouldn't need any outside information on this topic. That's what the RULEBOOK is for. Just quit assuming what a card does and read the text...otherwise look at the rulings. This is 1st year of yugioh stuff. Goblinpunch787

Don't panic

Mystical Space Typhoon is a card that shouldn't be argued about. Jeez. We all know that MST does not negate. Fallensilence 09:29, June 15, 2010 (UTC)Fallensilence

WOAH deleting this page already? wow Fallensilence 09:52, June 15, 2010 (UTC)Fallensilence

It's been revived too many times. --Gadjiltron 14:36, June 15, 2010 (UTC)

Only because it's the greatest one sided arguement in the forums. It negates? no it doesn't. Can we stop now. Nope. Adamtheamazing64 16:38, June 15, 2010 (UTC)

This is like a zombie article since you did said reviv. Fallensilence 17:34, June 15, 2010 (UTC)Fallensilence

And now it's getting deleted. Thank you Deltaneos. Fallensilence 05:13, June 18, 2010 (UTC)

Maybe if you stop double posting on this topic it wouldn't happen. Adamtheamazing64 20:07, June 20, 2010 (UTC)

No I wanted to delete this page. Fallensilence 21:11, June 20, 2010 (UTC)

There's no reason to keep bumping it.
Thread locked. Err, or about as close to "locked" as we can get. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 21:40, June 20, 2010 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.