Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
|Forums:||Index → Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Queries → Maiden with Eyes of Blue|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 1136 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
Maiden wiyh eyes of blue at face down (----)
Can be effect Maiden with eyes of blue actived if this card is attacked at face down position?
- No. Maiden must be face-up to use its effect. ChaosGallade (talk • contribs) 13:36, August 2, 2013 (UTC)
Maiden with Eyes of Blue's card effects only specify that the monster needs to be face-up for the effect that occurs with being targeted by an effect. No such verbiage exists for the effect that activates when being targeted by an attack, so logic would dictate that the effect still activates even in face-down defense mode. Is this logic incorrect? Zorpheus (talk • contribs) 08:05, October 17, 2013 (UTC)
Declaration of attack targets occur during the Battle Step, but flipping up face-down attack targets for damage calculation (and thus making their identities public) occurs in the Damage Step, where the attack target declaration timing has passed. Maiden's "When this card is targeted for an attack:" effect thus cannot activate if attacked face-down since she is still face-down during the attack target declaration step. It's also common sense that a card effect can only activate while its identity is public (face-up, or in a position that's public knowledge), otherwise how else can one confirm that a certain effect is being activated? --Gadjiltron (talk • contribs) 09:07, October 17, 2013 (UTC)