|Forums:||Index → Help desk → Magical citadel official ruling help|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 776 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
Did anyone enter a official tournament w/ (with = w/ for those who don't know)a spellcaster deck, have Magical Citadel of Endymion out w/ spellcounters only to have another player activate another field spell. There have been fights w/ with this cards ruling. i use a citadel and wanted to know about these rulings.
As on one side of the argument citadel cant be destroyed when a field spell is activated. Because the previous field spell is destroyed.
On the other hand the citadel cant protect itself from game mechanics. (COUNTER ARGUMENT: if you look on "Other Rules" page 44 under rules vs card effects it says "if there is a discrepancy between basic rules and a card's effects, the card's effect take precedence.)
Please help and answer truthfully don't hate on citadel because someone used it on you.
cant find the tildes on the keyboard
By: Master Endymion
- Next time, you should ask your questions on the Ruling Queries Forum and not the Help desk. The Help desk is for things such as general wikia editing help and help on some of the articles.
- Probably could have copied the ones at the top, or clicked the sig button.
- You can only apply the effect "If this card would be destroyed, you can remove 1 Spell Counter from this card instead." of "Magical Citadel of Endymion" when "Magical Citadel of Endymion" would be destroyed by a card effect. You cannot apply this effect when you control "Magical Citadel of Endymion" and your opponent activates a new Field Spell Card, regardless of how many Spell Counters you have. -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 22:13, April 2, 2011 (UTC)
But it doesn't say "card effect" only destroyed
1) I can't go to the other page for some reason it won't load.
2) Are you say your argument from your point of view or form what was decided at an actual tournament?
3) Citadel says that if it would be destroyed nothing about card effects or game mechanics.
- It was from Card Rulings:Magical Citadel of Endymion, and the rulings here are all sourced and are quotes of Official Rulings. That one was from Konami.
- It is also confirmed to be true, per Video Game gameplay (e.g. WC11) -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 23:01, April 2, 2011 (UTC)
I use the Citadel in my main deck that I take to tournaments. If a new field spell is played, the citadel dies. Think about it this way and it should make sense: When the Citadel saves itself, it doesn't negate the card trying to destroy it, it just saves itself from destruction. To prove this, if Heavy Storm is activated, the Citadel can save itself, but all other Spells/Traps are still destroyed. Therefore, lets say you have the Citadel out and I activate Necrovalley. You remove a counter to save the citadel, but it doesn't negate Necrovalley. So, after the Citadel tries to save itself, the effect of Necrovalley still goes through, and still has to destroy the Citadel since it's still going to hit the field. That's not the way it actually works, but if you think of it that way it should make more sense. For reference, the real reason you can't save it is simply because destruction by game mechanics has priority over every other effect. If a card says "Do this to negate destruction" It really means "Do this to negate destruction by battle or by a card effect." In the case of a Spell/trap, the battle part is omitted. Hopefully this helps you. SuperKirbyFan (talk • contribs) 04:55, April 6, 2011 (UTC)