Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
|Forums:||Index → Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Queries → Inherent special summon|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signature and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 2269 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
184.108.40.206 11:37, April 6, 2010 (UTC) by the way thanks for giving me the answers for divine wrath and gladial chariot.....but im still confuse with inherent summon...is the effect of THE TRICKY to discard one card to special summon it from hand a InHERENT special SUMMON?how about the darkworld monsters?
- In general:
- If the Summon must happen in response to something, then it's usually a Trigger Effect. (Ex: "Gorz")
- If the monster can Special Summon itself ONLY from the Graveyard, then it's usually an Ignition Effect (Ex: "Plaguespreader Zombie")
- If the monster's text specifies that the effect activates, then it's usually an Ignition Effect (Ex: "Ally Genex Birdman")
- If the monster can be Special Summoned outside of the Main Phase, then it's usually a Trigger or Ignition Effect (Ex: "Treeborn Frog")
- If the effect doesn't fall into any of the above categories, then it's usually an inherent Special Summon.
- "The Tricky" doesn't fall into categories 1-4, so it's an inherent Summon. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 19:13, April 6, 2010 (UTC)
What about creatures such as Dark Simorgh or The Fabled Nozoochee? Playing in WC2010, I have had these monsters' self-summoning effects negated by Divine Wrath and War Chariot, but not Solemn Judgment, whereas the reverse is true for monsters such as Quickdraw Synchron and Dark Grepher.
Textually, I am unsure of the difference. Some folks at locals and I were arguing over such a notion, attempting to find out whether a monster was summoning by Ignition/Trigger or Inheritance. Is there another way to tell said difference textually?
- "The Fabled Nozoochee"'s OCG text specifies, "You can only activate this during your Main Phase. Discard 1...". It activates, which means it starts a Chain Link, which means that it's an Ignition Effect. It falls into #3 in my above chart.
- "Dark Simorgh" has specific rulings saying that its effect activates. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 05:28, September 18, 2010 (UTC)