Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Forbidden Dress vs. Raigeki Break

Forum page

96,674pages on
this wiki
Add New Page

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.


Ok, just a few minutes ago I discovered that Forbidden Dress can't protect you from cards like Dimensional Prison or Compulsory Evacuation Device if the targeting of the monster I want to protect already happened... which I found extremely dumb, for not saying worse words...

But anyway, I was wondering what's the case if my opponent activates Raigeki Break or any effect that targets and then destroys. Can I chain Forbidden Dress in response to stop the destruction? Or I already lost the monster?

Also, what happens if I chain to effects like Ally of Justice Catastor?

I would be very grateful if someone can clarify this to me, thanks in advance. Kentaru Z (talkcontribs) 02:27, December 7, 2012 (UTC)

If you learn to build a chain, it is becomes obvious.

Chain Link 1: Dimensional Prison / Compulsory Evacuation Device (Targets monster now)
Chain Link 2: Forbidden Dress

resolve

Chain Link 2: Forbidden Dress (The monster now cannot be Targetted or be destroyed)
Chain Link 1: Dimensional Prison / Compulsory Evacuation Device (Banishes/Returns monster)

the other one is

Chain Link 1: Raigeki Break (Targets monster) / Ally of Justice Catastor
Chain Link 2: Forbidden Dress

resolve

Chain Link 2: Forbidden Dress (The monster now cannot be Targetted or be destroyed)
Chain Link 1: Raigeki Break / Ally of Justice Catastor (cannot destroy monster)

-Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 02:37, December 7, 2012 (UTC)

(Edit conflict) For both situations, the Dress would protect it.
If "Forbidden Dress" only prevented your monster from being targeted, and you tried to Chain it to "Raigeki Break" or a similar "target and destroy" card, then it would be too late, as your monster was already targeted. Fortunately though, the Dress also prevents destruction. Note that if you tried to Chain the Dress to "Compulsory Evacuation Device", Dress's effect would resolve, but your monster would return to the hand, since it was targeted before Dress resolved.
For "AOJ Catastor", you are lucky that Dress makes the monster lose a fixed amount of ATK, because this automatically qualifies it to be "activateable" during the Damage Step (though an issued ruling could have allowed it if it didn't have the ATK loss effect). And yes, Chaining it to "Catastor" will prevent it from being destroyed by the card effect. --UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 02:44, December 7, 2012 (UTC)

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki