Ok, the Rulings here tell me one thing, and my friends and other pages tell me another thing. I understand that the second effect of Geartown is activated when Geartown is replaced by another Field Spell, when it is destroyed, and when it is discarded from the hand or deck, if I am not mistaken. However, the Rulings here tell me that if the card is chained to Magic Jammer, the second effect still goes. So here's the question:

Does this apply to all cards that negate and destroy magic cards upon activation? Or there are some that can fully negate the effect? I am concerned with this, mainly because I see the cards rulings and it just confuses me out of my mind. Thank you in advance for the enlightenment. D-Rogue 16:57, 6 January 2009 (UTC)

  • If Geartown is sent to the Graveyard because another Field Spell was activated, it misses the timing for its effect and cannot activate it (i.e. the last thing to have happened is the new Field Spell card activating, so Geartown misses the timing). If a new Field spell is Set, then the last thing to have happened is Geartown being destroyed and sent to the graveyard, so you can activate its effect. Also, Geartown's second effect activates in the Graveyard, not on the field, and it cannot be negated by Magic Jammer, because it's an effect, not the activation of a card. Magic Jammer negates the activation of Geartown and destroys it (so Geartown dpesn't resolve), but its second effect still activates since it is sent to the Graveyard and that is the last thing to have happened. If Geartown is Chain link 1 and Mystical Space Typhoon is Chain link 2, targeting Geartown, MST destroys GT but doesn't negate it, so GT still resolves in the Graveyard. Since the last thing to have happened is GT resolving, not GT being sent to the graveyard, it misses the timing. Also, GT's effect will not activate if it is discarded from the hand or sent to the graveyard from the deck, as it is not considered destroyed. I hope I cleared the field a bit. --Darth Covah 20:09, 6 January 2009 (UTC)


Then why does the ruling page here says that it is so? because it's kinda hard to destroy anything in the hand.. I mean Look! It says so in the Rulings. It's a bit confusing, but it makes sense what you said.

So this applies to any card that negates spell effects, like for example Horus Lv 8 and others as such? Sorry for the hassle, but I need to clear all doubt, thanks.

  • Darth Covah says that "discard" isn't "destroy", so "Geartown" didn't activate it's effect if it is discarded from the hand. It's ruling page says "If your "Geartown" is destroyed in your hand or Deck and sent to your Graveyard, you can activate its effect." which apply to cards like "Crush Card Virus" and "Chain Destruction". ATEMVEGETA 23:09, 6 January 2009 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.