i am a bit confused about how the operations of chains and how they are resolved works, for example if i use a card like gold sarcphogaus and my opponent chains dark bribe what happens first? do i still search one card from my deck then my opponenet activates dark bribe destroying gold sarcphogaus and the card i selected OR does does bribe activate before i search for the card so only gold sarcphogaus is destroyed? and just so i understand better lets also use a card like terraforming what happens?

Redeagler (talkcontribs) 21:11, August 24, 2010 (UTC)redeagler

Your opponent MUST chain Dark Bribe to your Gold Sarcophagus' activation. You select the card from your deck when Gold Sarcophagus' effect resolves. Dark Bribe negates the activation of Gold Sarcophagus so you won't search for the card.

The chain looks like this:

[Chain Link 1] You activate Gold Sarcophagus.
[Chain Link 2] Your opponent chains Dark Bribe.

The chain resolves backwards:

[Chain Link 2] Dark Bribe resolves. Dark Brive negates Gold Sarcophagus and you draw 1 card.

END OF CHAIN.-- (talk) 21:45, August 24, 2010 (UTC)

oh ok thanks alot man that clears things up (talk) 02:18, August 25, 2010 (UTC)redeagler

one more question

i just have one more question i thought about last night, what about cards that target things like mystical space typhoon, do i select my target before my opponent chains or do i have to wait for my opponent to chain then i resolve the chain and when i come to mystical space typhoon i select my target?

example 1

my opponent has tower of babel face up on the field i activate mystical space typhoon and select tower of babel as my target, then my opponent chains MST with imperial custom. since my target was tower of babel and not imperial custom, MST's effect is stopped and MST is destroyed since it was activated.

example 2

my opponent has tower of babel face up on the field i activate mystical space typhoon, then my opponent chains imperial custom, the chain looks like this

chain link 1 mystical space typhoon chain link 2 imperial custom

chain resolves backwards.

imperial custom prevents face up continuous trap from being destroyed except imperial custom then mystical space typhoon activates i choose imperial custom as my target, imperial custom is destroyed and tower of babel is still on the field.

which example is correct operation of play, when is targeting done right upon activating of the card before chaining or not?

Redeagler (talkcontribs) 22:00, August 25, 2010 (UTC)redeagler

The first one. When you activate a card, selecting a target and paying the cost is what you HAVE to do before your opponent may chain. For example: I activate Tribute to the Doomed. The firs tthing that happens, is that I discard 1 card, then I designate what monster I choose. Now my opponent can chain to it with Magic Jammer or any other counter. --Drew-Gi-Oh! (talk) 22:47, August 25, 2010 (UTC)

ahh i think i get it now, so if my opponent attacks me and i activate scrubbed raid, i have to send 1 card to the graveyard Before my opponent can chain to something like darkbribe which would destroy scrubbed raid and the card i selected.

Redeagler (talkcontribs) 23:08, August 25, 2010 (UTC)redeagler

But Wait

i just read gold sarcophogaus's effect and it says SELECT and remove from play

so wouldn't i have to select and remove from play one card from my deck before my opponent can chain? to dark bribe?

Redeagler (talkcontribs) 23:13, August 25, 2010 (UTC)redeagler

There are some exceptions. Even if the card's text says "select", Gold Sarcophagus is one of those exceptions. When a card says that you have to select 1 or more cards from your hand or Deck then that card's effect doesn't target. When a card says that you have to select 1 or more cards on the Field and/or in the Graveyard then that card's effect almost always targets.-- (talk) 23:28, August 25, 2010 (UTC)

It's like how "Rising Energy" works. You first have to select a monster, then your opponent can chain to it. If they don't, it gains 1500 ATK. Also, please note that sending a card to the Graveyard for Scrubbed Raid is not a cost, so as soon as it activates, you do not send a card to the Graveyard before your opponent can chain. --Drew-Gi-Oh! (talk) 00:26, August 26, 2010 (UTC)

From Scrubbed Raid's Rulings page: Sending one other card you control to the Graveyard is a cost to activate the effect of "Scrubbed Raid" which ends the Battle Phase.-- (talk) 00:34, August 26, 2010 (UTC)

Yes, but you do not pay it's cost during initial activation. --Drew-Gi-Oh! (talk) 01:17, August 26, 2010 (UTC)

Note that he can both activate "Scrubbed Raid" and activate its effect at the same time. He's activating "Scrubbed Raid" in response to an attack, so I'm pretty sure that he's using its effect at that time too. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 17:40, August 26, 2010 (UTC)

What is a Cost

well that is intresting to know about scrubbed raid but now i am not sure what is a cost, what defines a cost, is it because scrubbed raid's effect is optional it is not considered a cost?

heres another question can i activate a face down scrubbed raid and not use it's effect

Redeagler (talkcontribs) 21:42, August 26, 2010 (UTC)redeagler

  • 1) A cost is usually the first line of text in a card, that you MUST do before using the card's full effect. You must also pay the cost before your opponent may chain, i.e. Lightning Vortex. You activate Lightning Vortex, discard 1 card, then your opponent chains Solemn Judgment. You can also identify them by usually looking at rulings, or if it sais that you must do something before the actual effect, I.E. RRed-Eyes Wyvern, who's effect sais, "You can remove play this card in your graveyard to Special Summon 1 'Red-Eyes' monsters from your graveyard, except 'Red-Eyes B. Chick'.", meaning that you must remove it from play as a cost to acitvate it's effect. Another example is that of Demise, King of Armageddon. You must pay 2000 Life Points to nuke the field. Don't get confused with costs and effects, though.
  • 2) You don't have to. You can flip Continuous Trap Cards face-up at any time as long as it's conditions have been met. You also don't ahve to activate it's effect, or pay it's cost yet, i.e. The Dragon's Bead or Scrubbed Raid. --Drew-Gi-Oh! (talk) 22:49, August 26, 2010 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.