Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Can you summon in Face Up Defense?

Forum page

96,686pages on
this wiki
Add New Page

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Cuz Grif on the IRC said I couldn't. The rulebook said nothing against it, just not an example of it. Any proof from UDE? TehBazzard 01:14, 9 January 2009 (UTC)

  • "When a monster is "Set", it is played in face-down Defense Position. Monsters cannot be Normal Summoned in face-up Defense Position, except by a card effect that allows them to be summoned that way (such as "Light of Intervention")."-From the Defense Position Page. Dmaster (Talk Contribs Count) 01:18, 9 January 2009 (UTC)

and that's taken straight out of the rulebook, I'm not sure what version you read, but yea.. you can't summon face-up defense position no matter how many times they do that on the show (especially GX) Klovasos17 05:35, 9 January 2009 (UTC)

There are some online games that allow it (these are generally called "house rules"), but officially you cannot. Danny Lilithborne 00:46, 10 January 2009 (UTC)
There's an OCG ruling on this:
If you want to play a monster from your hand to the field in Defense Position, then you have to Set it in face-down Defense Position. You cannot Normal Summon it in face-up Defense Position.
--Deus Ex Machina 05:45, October 1, 2011 (UTC)

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki