Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Battlin Boxer Rulings

76,205pages on
this wiki

Forum page

Rulings on Battling Boxer Monsters

Say I attacked Apocatequil (effect monster that special summons another monster when destroyed by battle and sent to the grave) in face up defense with Star Cestus (XYZ Battlin Boxer Monster), and used his effect to detach and negate apocatequil's effect. Is Apocatequil's effect negated with Star Cestus, even in the grave, kind of like Quasar does?

And, say a monster with 2300 attacks Battlin Boxer Lead Yoke. The card ruling: http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Battlin'_Boxer_Lead_Yoke says it activates during the damage step, does this mean it attack changes AFTER the attack goes through (and lead yoke detaches to gain 800), thus losing 100 LP, or does it mean my opponent lose 700 after detaching during the attack? 76.186.106.104 (talk) 19:16, May 26, 2013 (UTC)

  1. The effect text of "Number 105: Battlin' Boxer Star Cestus" doesn't say "negate the effects of the opponent's monster on the field", so it can safely be presumed that the effect negation is permanent (until the end of the turn) even if the monster is banished or sent to the Graveyard.
  2. Battle damage is inflicted before a monster is considered to be "destroyed by battle". That's common game manual stuff. =/ As such, you take 100 battle damage first before "Lead Yoke" would be destroyed by battle, at which point you detach an Xyz Material instead and "Lead Yoke" gains 800 ATK. --UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 19:44, May 26, 2013 (UTC)
No, Cestus doesn't negate the effects of the monsters in the Graveyard. It only negates effects that are activated or applied on the field, like Effect Veiler. 200.195.170.162 (talk) 12:25, May 27, 2013 (UTC)
This is based on
"Q:このカードで効果を無効化した《輝光子パラディオス》を戦闘破壊しました。墓地で発動する《輝光子パラディオス》の効果は無効になりますか?
A:墓地で発動するモンスター効果は無効とならないため、《輝光子パラディオス》の効果でドローできます。(13/05/04)"

which insinuates otherwise. "Effect Veiler" and "Breakthrough Skill" only say, "negate that target's effects" or "negate the effects of that opponent's face-up monster", meaning they only negate the affected monster's effects while it's on the field (even if it removes itself from the field as a cost). "Number 105" does not mention this though, meaning that the effects of the opposing monster are negated, even if its effect activates in the Graveyard or banished zone during the same turn.
--UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 12:48, May 27, 2013 (UTC)
From Brotherhood of the Fire Fist - Tiger King's rulings, which has a similar effect: The effect of "Brotherhood of the Fire Fist - Tiger King" that negates the effects of non-Beast-Warrior-Type monsters only negates effects that are activated or applied on the field. Therefore, the effect of "Sangan" that activates in the Graveyard is not negated. There is almost no effect that negates effects both on the field and in the Graveyard. Dark Ruler Ha Des, for example, explicitly states that he negates the effects of monsters destroyed by battle. 200.195.170.162 (talk) 15:56, May 27, 2013 (UTC)
Woop, woop, I concede. A person proficient in Japanese corrected me regarding the translation of that ruling. --UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 23:17, May 27, 2013 (UTC)

**NEW QUESTION** Say my opponent uses compulse or some other effect (like caius) to get rid of yoke while it still has Battlin Boxer Glassjaw attached to it, does glassjaw still get its effect? What if I have switchitter and glassjaw attached and they're both sent to the grave at the same time, Can I pick up switchitter with glassjaw's effect?

Lastly, how can I tell if an xyz monster's detaching is a cost or not? I need to know in order to use glassjaw effectively. 76.186.106.104 (talk) 20:28, May 29, 2013 (UTC)

New question go below the whole discussion - can't have them in middle of the discussion, please! --iFredCat 20:32, May 29, 2013 (UTC)
Glassjaw only activates its effect if it's sent to the Graveyard by a card effect. If Yoke is removed from the field, then it is sent to the Graveyard by game mechanics, so it won't activate. Everything before a semicolon is considered a cost. Yoke's protective effect has no cost. Detaching is done as part of its Continuous Effect. 202.162.218.138 (talk) 20:41, May 29, 2013 (UTC)
Even though "Battlin' Boxer Lead Yoke" left the field by a card effect ("Caius the Shadow Monarch" in this case), it doesn't mean its Xyz Materials do as well; they just naturally "fall off" by game mechanics, and not by a card effect. For the 2nd question, if both monsters are in the Graveyard by the time the effect of "Battlin' Boxer Glassjaw" activates, then yes, you can target "Switchitter" for its effect. Last, you can tell whether or not "detaching" is a cost or not if there is a semi-colon ( ; ) after it says "Detach 1 Xyz Material". This includes cards such as "Daigusto Emeral", "Number 17: Leviathan Dragon", "Number 39: Utopia". Examples of cards that detach as part of their effects include "Number 30: Acid Golem of Destruction" and "Wind-Up Zenmaines". To better understand what qualifies as an effect or cost, I suggest you look at our PSCT page, and read the associated Konami links. --UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 20:43, May 29, 2013 (UTC)



What happens when Battlin' Boxer Lead Yoke attacks Ally of Justice Catastor and/or Ally of Justice Catastor attacks Battlin' Boxer Lead Yoke??? Gomer glen (talkcontribs) 13:43, October 1, 2013 (UTC)

Well, at the start of the Damage Step, "Catastor" will attempt to destroy "Lead Yoke" with its effect. However, if "Lead Yoke" has 1 or more Xyz Material, its controller can detach 1 of them instead. Then, "Lead Yoke" gains 800 ATK. From that point on, you proceed into the rest of the Damage Step (where "Lead Yoke" will presumably destroy "Catastor" by battle). --UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 14:45, October 1, 2013 (UTC)

so, in short, even though Lead Yoke is a Fire monster catastor will be destroyed? Gomer glen (talkcontribs) 15:23, October 1, 2013 (UTC)

If Lead Yoke has Xyz Materials, then yes, Catastor will be destroyed by battle after Catastor "destroys" Lead Yoke. If Catastor battles a Materialess Lead Yoke, then Catastor will destroy him as usual. --BGMaxie (talkcontribs) 15:32, October 1, 2013 (UTC)

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki