I just read on an old post that Effect Veiler can't negate Stardust Dragon's Effect because when it activates, it resolves in the graveyard after tributing that Stardust Dragon.

I don't think it makes any sense because: How can you pay the cost for a non existent effect?

If it's negated, you can't activate it, you pay the cost when you activate it. Right?

Having an effect negated is like putting the key to a safe inside of it. You can't open the safe to take the key to open the safe once again... It's there or it's not there.

Same should go for Exiled Forced.

And this leads to another question.

How can you synchro summon a monster with atk higher than 1800 with Testudo erat Numen?

I understand that Testudo erat Numen is no longer on the field when the Synchro Monster is summoned, but to pay the cost for a synchro summon, you must be able to do it in the first place right?

I need people's thoughts on this.

Rayved (talkcontribs) 22:20, June 27, 2011 (UTC)

It's because "Cost" is paying first, before Effect coming onto the image and activate. "Stardust Dragon", "Exiled Force" and etc. that can escaping the negate when they were "tribute" in the cost, which they cannot be affected by "Skill Drain", "Effect Veiler", etc.
For "Testudo erat Numen", it's sent, not paying the cost. So that's not same thing, it have to stay on the field if it's required to summon a huge size monster, ever it was included. It's like "Ally of Justice Quarantine" prevented Nature LIGHT-Attribute Monsters from be able to Summon to the field, but it cannot prevent any monster that were NOT a LIGHT-Attribute, like Dark World, Elemental HERO (except for LIGHT monsters), etc. --FredCat 22:29, June 27, 2011 (UTC)


veiler can negate stardust, exiled force and the like, see this, with veiler there is no difference. -dest- (talkcontribs) 22:45, June 27, 2011 (UTC)

1) If your oppponent active Stardust's effect, and you want chain with Effect Veiler, it is too late. Because after Stardust active, it will be immedially tributed, and Veiler can only target a face-up monster on the field. So Veiler cannot chain to Stardust effect.
2) If you use Veiler before, and negate Stardust effect, then Stardust can still active its effect and tribute itself, but when effect resolve, it will be negated.
3) If you use Skill Drain/D-Hero Plasma, Skill Drain/Plasma is useless, because they can only negate monster effect if monster card still face-up on the field when they effect resolve.
4) Negated effect ≠ Unable active effect. If Angel 07 prevent you active monster's effect, you cannot active Stardust Dragon's effect. And you cannot tribute Angel 07 for Cannon Soldier's effect to escape its effect too.-- (talkcontribs) 23:20, June 27, 2011 (UTC)

Alright so a strong synchro monster can be played if Testudo is used as a synchro material. What about Lava Golem? If my opponent controls Testudo, can I tribute it for Lava golem? I'm asking this because Testudo would be tributed rather than being sent. (seriously the makers of the game should have made things more obvious)

I'm asking this because I read here:

that Archlord Kristya can't be tributed for Lava Golem since he prevents special summons. Rayved (talkcontribs) 20:21, June 28, 2011 (UTC)

eh... no, testudo may not be used as a synchro material for a 1800++ attack monster. It is the same reason, it prevents the summon, so you can't begin it in the first place. -dest- (talkcontribs) 20:40, June 28, 2011 (UTC)

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.