Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Difference between Costs and Effects

96,628pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Page Help0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Typically, Costs are determined at Activation, while Effects are determined during resolution of the card.

Example: Cost

MagicalStoneExcavation-LCJW-EN-C-1E

Magical Stone Excavation: Discard 2 cards, then target 1 Spell Card in your Graveyard; add it to your hand.

Notice here, that the controller is required to Discard 2 cards in order to meet the Activation Requirement for the card in question. Then, during resolution, the Spell Card is added to the hand.

Example: Effect

GracefulCharity-LCYW-EN-ScR-1E

Graceful Charity: Draw 3 cards, then discard 2 cards.

Now here, there is technically no cost for activating the card, since Drawing cards is not considered a cost. This also means that the 2-card discard is treated as an effect.

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki