Contact Fusion (コンタクト融合 Kontakuto Yūgō), is an unofficial term defined by Konami to be a Special Summon used by Fusion Monsters that state, "You do not use 'Polymerization'." This concept was first introduced in Power of the Duelist, and was originally a term from the Yu-Gi-Oh! GX anime used to describe the Special Summoning method of the "Neos" Fusion Monsters, which shuffled their controller's Fusion Material Monsters into the Deck. This term was later applied to the "Gladiator Beast" Fusion Monsters by the Yu-Gi-Oh! fanbase, as those monsters Special Summon themselves via the same method. This Special Summon can somewhat be considered to be a precursor to Synchro Summoning, as it only requires the proper monsters on the field and the appropriate monster in the Extra Deck, without the support of a Spell Card (as used in Ritual Summons and traditional Fusion Summons).
Fusion Monsters that are capable of Contact Fusion currently consist of:
- All "Neos" Fusion Monsters, except "Rainbow Neos", "Elemental HERO Divine Neos" and "Elemental HERO Neos Knight".
- All "Gladiator Beast" Fusion Monsters.
- All "VWXYZ" Fusion Monsters.
- "Chimeratech Fortress Dragon" and "Armityle the Chaos Phantom".
General rules regarding Contact Fusion:
- All monsters involved in the Special Summon must be on the side of the field of the player conducting the Contact Fusion (not the case for "Chimeratech Fortess Dragon"), and cannot be replaced by Fusion-Substitute Monsters.
- If a monster is face-down and you wish to use it for a Contact Fusion that shuffles the Fusion Material Monsters into the Deck, you must allow your opponent to verify the card's identity before shuffling it into the Deck.
- Much like any other Extra Deck monster, Fusion Monsters that use Contact Fusion can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard or the so-called Banished Zone, as long as they were Special Summoned from the Extra Deck via Contact Fusion first, without that Summon being negated. (This does not apply if the monster is returned to the Extra Deck; in that case, the monster must be Special Summoned via Contact Fusion again.)
- Contact Fusion is not treated as a Fusion Summon. Because of this, Fusion Monsters Summoned by Contact Fusion are not affected by cards like "Chthonian Polymer" and "Non-Fusion Area".
- ↑ Taketa, Gregory. "Special Summons – Spotting the Different Kinds". Konami.com. https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=1099.