FANDOM


OCG Rulings

  • The effect "The equipped monster gains 300 ATK." does not start a Chain Link.[1]
  • The effect "If the equipped monster would be destroyed by battle, return this card to its owner's hand instead." does not start a Chain Link. (The "Vicious Claw" that applied this effect is returned to the hand after damage calculation.)[1]
  • The effect "Then, destroy 1 monster, except the one that battled the equipped monster, and inflict 600 damage to your opponent." does not start a Chain Link. (It does not target. It is applied as part of the resolution of the effect "return this card to its owner's hand instead.".)[1]
  • The effect "After that, Special Summon 1 "Evil Token" (Fiend-Type/DARK/Level 7/ATK 2500/DEF 2500) on your opponent's side of the field." does not start a Chain Link. (It does not target. It is applied as part of the resolution of the effect "return this card to its owner's hand instead.".)[1]
  • Special Summoning an "Evil Token" is considered the last thing to happen when the effect "return this card to its owner's hand instead." resolves. None of the effects are considered to happen at the same time.[1]

Previously Official Rulings

  • "Vicious Claw" is returned to its owner's hand at the end of the Damage Step when the equipped monster would have been sent to the Graveyard.
  • If you cannot return "Vicious Claw" to your hand, its effects disappear.
  • If you cannot destroy a monster, no damage is inflicted to your opponent's Life Points.
  • During the turn "Vicious Claw" is returned to your hand, you cannot Set it or use it to pay a cost. You also cannot activate an effect that requires discarding your entire hand as a cost or the effect of "Jowgen the Spiritualist" that discards a card from your hand at random as a cost.
  • During the turn "Vicious Claw" is returned to your hand, if another "Vicious Claw" is equipped to a monster you control, the remaining equipped "Vicious Claw's" effects are still applied.
  • During the turn "Vicious Claw" is returned to your hand, if your opponent adds the returned "Vicious Claw" to their hand with "Exchange", they can use it during the same turn.


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Konami OCG Card Database: Vicious Claw
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  3. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  11. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.