Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Thunder King Rai-Oh

Talk10
75,706pages on
this wiki

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

On Negating Summons (In General)

  • Sending this card to the Graveyard is a cost to activate the effect which negates Special Summons. This effect does not target.[1]
  • "Thunder King Rai-Oh"'s effect activates after the Summon has been declared, but before the Summon is successful.[4]

On Negating the Summon of Specific Cards

On Not Adding Cards to Hands

  • If the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" which prevents cards from being added to the hand from the Deck except by drawing is active, then players may still add cards to their hands by drawing them from the Deck. Thus, "Pot of Avarice" may still be activated while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, and the player will still draw cards from his Deck.[11]

Versus Specific Cards

  • Crystal Seer: When resolving the effect of "Crystal Seer", if "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field, then the card to be added to the hand is instead sent to the Graveyard. The other card is returned to the bottom of the deck normally.[13]
  • Wattcobra: If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, then when "Wattcobra" inflicts battle damage by attacking directly its effect activates mandatorily. However, the effect which adds a "Watt" monster to your hand is not applied.[21]

References

  1. Konami FAQ: Effect Monster > Thunder King Rai-Oh
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 2.7 Konami FAQ: Please explain what Special Summons can and cannot be negated by the effects of "Thunder King Rai-Oh", "Solemn Judgment", and so on.
  3. Konami FAQ: Can the effects of cards negate Synchro Summons?
  4. 4.0 4.1 Konami FAQ: What kind of Special Summons can be negated with the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh"?
  5. Konami FAQ: If "Solemn Judgment" negates the Special Summon of "Backup Warrior", then can you Synchro Summon during the same turn?
  6. Konami FAQ: Can the Special Summon of "Endymion, the Master Magician" be negated by "Thunder King Rai-Oh" or "Solemn Judgment"?
  7. Konami FAQ: When you Special Summon "Lava Golem", can your opponent activate the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh"?
  8. Konami FAQ: Can effects like "Solemn Judgment" and "Thunder King Rai-Oh" negate the Special Summon of "Machina Fortress"?
  9. Konami FAQ: Can "Reinforcement of the Army" be activated when "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field?
  10. Konami FAQ: Can you activate "Gold Sarcophagus" when "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field?
  11. Konami FAQ: If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, then can cards like "Pot of Avarice" which draw still be activated?
  12. Konami FAQ: Because you do not know if the card would be added to the Hand, can "Conscription" be activated while the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is active?
  13. Konami FAQ: What happens when the effect of "Crystal Seer" activates while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field?
  14. Konami FAQ: What happens when the effects of "Magical Merchant" or "Cyber Jar" activate while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field?
  15. Konami FAQ: When "Elemental HERO Stratos" is Normal/Special Summoned while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field, can the effect be activated?
  16. Konami FAQ: While the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is active, can you activate "Emblem of Dragon Destroyer" or other cards which can add cards to the Hand from both the Deck and from other places?
  17. Konami FAQ: Can "Painful Choice" be activated when the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is active? How would it resolve?
  18. Konami FAQ: Can you activate "Pot of Duality" if "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field?
  19. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Power Tool Dragon" which adds an Equip Spell Card to the hand be activated while the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is active?
  20. Konami FAQ: What happens when the effect of "Sangan" activates when "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field?
  21. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field when the effect of "Wattcobra" activates, then can you add to your hand?

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki