TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Scary Moth: If your opponent has already Special Summoned this turn and “Scary Moth” is face-up on the field, you may activate “The Shallow Grave.” If you do, only you will Special Summon a monster.

OCG Rulings

  • This is treated as both a Special Summon and a Set.[1]
  • The Turn Player selects first.[1]
  • If you gain control of the monster Special Summoned to your opponent's field, then you can change its Battle Position.[1]
  • "The Immortal of Thunder" needs to be flipped for you to lose Life Points when it is sent to the Graveyard. If it is Special Summoned and sent to the Graveyard without being flipped, then you will not lose Life Points. If it is Special Summoned by "The Shallow Grave" and then flipped and then sent to the Graveyard, you will lose Life Points since it was flipped.[4]
  • You can Set a "Special Summon only" monster (Semi-Nomi monster) from the Graveyard if it has been properly Summoned previously.[5]
  • With "The Shallow Grave", it is treated as each player Special Summoning one monster. Thus, if "The Shallow Grave" is activated while "Summon Limit" is active, then afterwards each player can Normal Summon/Flip Summon/Special Summon one more time.[12]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Big Burn: You can chain "Big Burn" to effects like..."The Shallow Grave"...
  • D.D. Trap Hole: "Set", as a verb (as in the first sentence of "D.D. Trap Hole"), means placing a monster face-down. So you can activate "D.D. Trap Hole" when your opponent Sets a monster from the hand, or Special Summons a monster face-down with "The Shallow Grave", or flips his monster face-down with a card effect.
  • D.D. Trap Hole: If your opponent Sets more than 1 monster simultaneously, as with "Cyber Jar", you cannot activate "D.D. Trap Hole". You can only activate it when your opponent Sets 1 (and only 1) monster. (In the case of "The Shallow Grave" your opponent is only Setting 1 monster, even though you are Setting 1 too. So you can activate "D.D. Trap Hole".)
  • Dark Magician of Chaos: If you Special Summon "Dark Magician of Chaos" face-down with "The Shallow Grave", its effect does not activate.
  • Dark Ruler Ha Des: "Dark Ruler Ha Des" cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard even if you try to Special Summon it face-down by the effect of..."The Shallow Grave".
  • Disappear: When a card that selects a card in the Graveyard as a target, such as..."The Shallow Grave", is activated, you may chain "Disappear" to remove the targeted card from play, and the...[card]...will resolve without effect. This is because these cards select their target at activation, not resolution.
  • Gravekeeper's Chief: You cannot activate "The Shallow Grave" while "Necrovalley" is active, even if you control "Gravekeeper's Chief", because your opponent cannot Special Summon a monster from his Graveyard.[Notes 1]
  • King Tiger Wanghu: Monsters that are Summoned face-down (like with "The Shallow Grave") are not destroyed by King Tiger Wanghu.
  • Molten Zombie: If you Special Summon "Molten Zombie" face-down with "The Shallow Grave"...its effect does not activate.
  • Rivalry of Warlords: As long as "Rivalry of Warlords" is can Special Summon face-down with "The Shallow Grave"...
  • Royal Oppression: You can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate an effect that Summons 1 monster, or Summons multiple monsters..."The Shallow Grave"...
  • Serial Spell: If you have 2 monsters in your Graveyard, and your opponent only has 1 monster in their Graveyard, you can activate "The Shallow Grave" and chain "Serial Spell", even though you would not normally be able to activate a second "The Shallow Grave" because your monster would no longer have any monsters in the Graveyard. As a result, you will Special Summon 2 monsters and your opponent will only Special Summon 1 monster.
  • Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower: If a Zombie-Type monster is Special Summoned face-down (with "The Shallow Grave", etc.) then "Soul-Absorbing Bone Tower"'s effect does not activate.
  • Vanity's Ruler: ..."The Shallow Grave"...cannot be activated while "Vanity's Ruler" is in play...


  1. The latest print of "Necrovalley" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that it negates the effects of cards that move cards in the Graveyard to other locations, so the effect can be activated but will be negated.


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Konami FAQ: Spell Card > The Shallow Grave
  2. Konami FAQ: Can "The Shallow Grave" be activated when either Graveyard does not have a monster which can be Special Summoned?
  3. Konami FAQ: Can "Chain Destruction" be activated when monster is Special Summoned face-down by "Cyber Jar"?
  4. Konami FAQ: Do you lose Life Points when "The Immortal of Thunder" is Special Summoned from the Graveyard and then sent to the Graveyard?
  5. Konami FAQ: Can a "Special Summon only" monster be Set face-down by "The Shallow Grave"?
  6. Konami FAQ: Can "Book of Moon" or "The Shallow Grave" be activated if "Dark Simorgh" is on the field?
  7. Konami FAQ: When "Black Garden" is on the field, what happens when a monster is Special Summoned face-down?
  8. Konami FAQ: When two monsters are Special Summoned to each player's side of the field, can you activate "Giant Trap Hole"?
  9. Konami FAQ: [Priority] At the time of the Set of a card, can the Turn Player activate an Ignition Effect of a monster?
  10. Konami FAQ: While the effect of "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is active, can LIGHT and DARK monsters be Special Summoned in face-down Defense Position?
  11. Konami FAQ: Can "Koa'ki Meiru Tornado" destroy a monster which was Special Summoned face-down?
  12. Konami FAQ: If "The Shallow Grave" is activated while the effect of "Summon Limit" is active, then it is treated as who Special Summoning what?
  13. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Catoblepas and the Witch of Fate" be activated when a monster(s) is Special Summoned face-down by an effect like "The Shallow Grave"?
  14. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you activate "Call of the Haunted" and "The Shallow Grave" (and so on) while "Heat Wave" is active?
  15. Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Torrential Tribute
  16. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  17. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  18. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  19. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  20. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.