FANDOM


OCG Rulings

  • If performing the Synchro Summon of a Synchro Monster, after the required Tuner and non-Tuner Materials have all been sent to the Graveyard, then the Synchro Summon is performed. If a Fiend-Type Synchro Monster would be Synchro Summoned using the only Fiend-Type monster on the field as Synchro Material, because "the Summon of a monster that has the same Type as a monster on the field" is no longer occurring, "The Selection" cannot be activated.[3]
  • If performing the Tribute Summon of a monster, after the Tributed monster(s) have been sent to the Graveyard, then the Tribute Summon is performed. If a Spellcaster-Type Monster would be Tribute Summoned by Tributing the only Spellcaster-Type monster on the field, because "the Summon of a monster that has the same Type as a monster on the field" is no longer occurring, "The Selection" cannot be activated.[4]
  • If performing the Xyz Summon of a Xyz Monster, the combined required 2 or more Materials become Xyz Materials, then the Xyz Summon is performed. If a Warrior-Type Xyz Monster would be Xyz Summoned using the only 2 Warrior-Type monsters on the field as Xyz Materials, because "the Summon of a monster that has the same Type as a monster on the field" is no longer occurring, "The Selection" cannot be activated.[5]
  • If the only monster on the field is "Elemental HERO Neos Alius", "The Selection" cannot be activated when it is Summoned again. "The Selection" is activated only when a monster would be Summoned while another monster with the same Type is already face-up on the field. Therefore, while "Elemental HERO Neos Alius" is treated as a Normal Monster and is the only face-up monster on your side of the field, when you Normal Summon that "Elemental HERO Neos Alius" again so that is is treated as an Effect Monster, the Summon of that "Elemental HERO Neos Alius" cannot be negated by "The Selection".[6]
  • If the only monster on the field is a face-down Defense Position "Armageddon Knight" in your Monster Zone, "The Selection" cannot be activated when it is Flip Summoned. "The Selection" is activated only when a monster would be Summoned while another monster with the same Type is already face-up on the field. Therefore, in this scenario, unless there is another Warrior-Type monster on the field when "Armageddon Knight" is being Flip Summoned, "The Selection" cannot negate the Summon.[7]

References

  1. Konami OCG Card Database: The Selection
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Solemn Judgment" negates the Flip Summon of a Special Summon Monster, can it be Special Summoned from the Graveyard after that?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: In the case that there is a Fiend-Type Tuner on the field, and there is only 1 Fiend-Type monster on the field, if a Fiend-Type Synchro Monster was Synchro Summoned, can "The Selection" be activated?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: In the case that there is only 1 Spellcaster-Type monster on the field, if a Spellcaster-Type monster was Tribute Summoned, can "The Selection" be activated?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: In the case that there are only 2 Warrior-Type monsters on the field that have the same Level, if a Warrior-Type Xyz Monster was Xyz Summoned, can "The Selection" be activated?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: When there is only 1 Gemini monster on the field, can "The Selection" be activated when that monster is Summoned again?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: When there is only 1 face-down Defense Position monster on the field, can "The Selection" be activated when that monster is Flip Summoned?

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.