FANDOM


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • This card does not start a Chain Link during your opponent's next End Phase. (Even if there are multiple copies of "Sinister Serpent" in the Graveyard, it is only applied once.)[1]
  • You do not need to banish a "Sinister Serpent" whose effect was activated during your Standby Phase. (If you have multiples copies of "Sinister Serpent" in your Graveyard during your opponent's next End Phase, you can banish 1 "Sinister Serpent" whose effect was not activated during your Standby Phase.)[1]
  • During your Standby Phase, if the activation or the effect of "Sinister Serpent" is negated, "banish 1 "Sinister Serpent" from your Graveyard during your opponent's next End Phase" is not applied.[1]
  • When resolving the effect of "Sinister Serpent", if it is no longer in the Graveyard, "add it to your hand" is not applied, but "banish 1 "Sinister Serpent" from your Graveyard during your opponent's next End Phase." is still applied. Therefore, if you have a "Sinister Serpent" in your Graveyard during your opponent's next End Phase, you must banish 1 of them.[2]

Previously Official Rulings

  • The effect of this card is optional; you do not have to return it to your hand.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Magical Thorn: "Magical Thorn" will deal damage between steps in a chain. For example, both you and your opponent have 100 Life Points remaining, your opponent has two cards in their hand and you have "Magical Thorn" active on the field and a Set "Mind Crush". It is your opponent's turn and they activate "Final Flame" to deal 600 points of damage to you, and you chain "Mind Crush" calling the "Sinister Serpent" you know they have in their hand. After Step 2 ("Mind Crush") resolves, the effect of "Magical Thorn" deals 500 points of damage to your opponent and you win the Duel before Step 1, "Final Flame", resolves.

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Necrovalley: "Necrovalley" will NOT negate effects that are activated when a card is sent TO the Graveyard or that activate IN the Graveyard or that count cards in the Graveyard. So it will NOT negate the effects of ..., "Sinister Serpent",...[Notes 2]


Notes

  1. The latest print of "Sinister Serpent" has Problem-Solving Card Text that states that its effect can only be used once per turn, so even if its effect is negated it cannot be activated again during that same turn. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Sinister Serpent".
  2. 2.0 2.1 The latest print of "Necrovalley" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that it even negates the effects of cards that move themselves from the Graveyard to other locations, so this ruling is invalid.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Konami OCG Card Database: Sinister Serpent
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: If the effect of "D.D. Crow" is chained to the effect of "Sinister Serpent", what happens?
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  12. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.