FANDOM


OCG Rulings

  • The monster effect "Each time your opponent draws a card(s), place 1 Spell Counter on this card (max. 5)" is a Continuous Effect. (Even if your opponent draws during the Damage Step, apply the effect to place a Spell Counter on this card.)[1]
  • Even if your opponent draws multiple cards due to the effect of "Pot of Greed", etc., the number of Spell Counters placed is 1.[1]
  • The monster effect "This card gains 500 ATK for each Spell Counter on it." is a Continuous Effect. (If the number of Spell Counters placed on this card changes, its stat also increases immediately.)[1]
  • The monster effect "During the Standby Phase of your next turn after the 5th Spell Counter is placed on this card: You can send this face-up card with 5 Spell Counters on it to the Graveyard; Special Summon 1 "Silent Magician LV8" from your hand or Deck." is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. Sending the "Silent Magician LV4" with 5 Spell Counters on it to the Graveyard is a cost to activate this effect.)[1]
  • The effect of "Silent Magician LV4" that Special Summons "Silent Magician LV8" can only be activated after its controller has placed the fifth Spell Counter on it. Therefore, if you activate "Dark World Dealings" so that your opponent draws a card and you place the fifth Spell Counter on your "Silent Magician LV4", but during my opponent's next Standby Phase they activate "Enemy Controller" and take control of "Silent Magician LV4", your opponent cannot activate the effect of "Silent Magician LV4" after they take control of it. When the effect of "Enemy Controller" stops applying and you regain control of "Silent Magician LV4", you can activate the effect of "Silent Magician LV4" during your next Standby Phase.[2]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Dark Sanctuary: If the effect of an opponent's "Dark Sanctuary" is activated in response to the attack of your "Silent Magician LV4", but "Silent Magician LV4" is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of "Book of Moon", it is no longer considered an attacking monster. When resolving the effect of "Dark Sanctuary", the coin toss is performed, but even if the result is Heads, the attack cannot be negated and no damage is inflicted to your opponent.[3]

"LV" Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

  • If a level monster fulfills its condition to Special Summon the next-highest level (for example, if "Armed Dragon LV5" destroys a monster as a result of battle), and the level monster is then flipped face-down, or removed from play permanently, or sent to the Graveyard and then Special Summoned from the Graveyard, then its condition is reset and it is no longer considered to have met the condition to level up to the next level.[6][7][8][9][10]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Notes

  1. Some "LV" monsters have Problem-Solving Card Text, which makes clear that the effect to Special Summon the next "LV" monster is Trigger Effect.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Konami OCG Card Database: Silent Magician LV4
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: "Silent Magician LV4" has 5 Spell Counters, but if control is transferred to my opponent before my next turn's Standby Phase, how does its effect resolve?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of "Dark Sanctuary" activated when an opponent's monster attacked, if the attacking monster is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect resolve?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the monster effect of "Silent Paladin" to negate the activation of a Spell Card, if that "Silent Paladin" has been changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect resolve?
  5. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C] [ARMED DRAGON LV5]
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H] [HORUS THE BLACK FLAME DRAGON LV4]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H] [HORUS THE BLACK FLAME DRAGON LV6]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O] [MYSTIC SWORDSMAN LV2]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O] [MYSTIC SWORDSMAN LV4]

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.