Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Sangan

Talk0
72,392pages on
this wiki

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Double Tool C&D: A monster equipped with “Double Tool C&D” only negates a monster’s effect during your turn while the 2 monsters are battling. This means that it only negates effects that activate on the field, or are continuous effects while on the field. Effects that activate in the Graveyard like “Sangan” are not negated.
  • Greed Quasar: This card cannot be searched from the Deck by cards like “Sangan” that search based on ATK/DEF.
  • Puppet King: If a card like “Sangan” adds a Monster Card to your opponent’s hand, and their Deck is then shuffled, the last action that occurred was that a Monster Card was added to their hand. So you can activate “Puppet King” and Special Summon it. (The end of “Sangan”’s effect is when the monster is added to the hand.)

OCG Rulings

On Searching

  • If this card is sent to the Graveyard from your hand or Deck, the effect is not activated.[1]
  • The card that is added to the hand is confirmed by the opponent.[1]

On SEGOC

In Other Rulings

  • Lightning Warrior: The damage inflicted by the effect of "Lightning Warrior" is based on the number of cards in your opponent's hand when the effect resolves.[8]
    • Example: Your opponent has two cards in his hand, and your "Lightning Warrior" attacks your opponent's "Sangan". The effect of "Lightning Warrior" activates as Chain Link 1, and the effect of "Sangan" activates as Chain Link 2. Resolving backwards, the effect of "Sangan" adds a card to your opponent's hand, and afterwards the effect of "Lightning Warrior" resolves. At this time, your opponent has three cards in his hand, so your opponent takes 900 damage.[8]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings: On Activating in the Graveyard

Previously Official Rulings

On Activating

In Other Rulings

On Searching

  • You must show your opponent the monster you select from your Deck for this card's effect. If you have no eligible monsters, your opponent gets to see your Deck to verify.

In Other Rulings

On SEGOC

In Other Rulings

  • 7: If other cards are also sent to the Graveyard at the same time, like "Sangan" ..., the card controlled by the turn player is Step 1.

Judge List Rulings

In Other Rulings: On Activating in the Graveyard

  • Prohibition: If "Prohibition" declares "Sangan" ..., if the declared card is on the field when "Prohibition" resolves, its effect will activate when it is sent to the Graveyard. If the declared card is Special Summoned after "Prohibition" resolves, it "cannot be used", so its effect will not activate when it is sent to the Graveyard.

Judge List Rulings

Miscellaneous

Out of Date

Notes

  1. An email ruling states that "Cyber Blader" can negate cards everywhere, making this ruling invalid.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Sangan
  2. Konami FAQ: Can "Sangan" add monsters to your hand with indefinte ATK, like "The Wicked Avatar"?
  3. Konami FAQ: When "Sangan" is Tributed to Tribute Summon "Mobius the Frost Monarch" while "Doomcaliber Knight" is on the field, how do you resolve it?
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 Konami FAQ: When "Goblin Zombie" is used as a Synchro Material for "Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier", can its Ignition Effect be activated at the time of its successful Synchro Summon?
  5. Konami FAQ: When "Sangan" is a LIGHT monster and battles with "Ally of Justice Nullfier", when it is sent to the Graveyard by another card effect, is the effect negated?
  6. Konami FAQ: Will the effect of a monster which activates in the Graveyard or in the place to where the monster is removed from play be negated by "Armed Sea Hunter"?
  7. Konami OCG FAQ: Who wins the Duel if both players use the effect of "Sangan" to complete "Exodia the Forbidden One"?
  8. 8.0 8.1 Konami FAQ: The effect of "Lightning Warrior" inflicts damage to your opponent's Life Points based on your opponent's hand size at what time?
  9. Konami FAQ: What happens when the effect of "Sangan" activates when "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field?
  10. Konami FAQ: When a monster is affected by "Rush Recklessly" and then "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind", what does its ATK become during the next turn?
  11. 11.0 11.1 Konami FAQ: When a monster is affected by "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind", can the monster's ATK/DEF change with other effects?
  12. Konami FAQ: When a monster has its ATK/DEF halved by "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind" while it is equipped with a card, what does its ATK become when the equipped card is destroyed?
  13. Konami FAQ: After the effect of "Elemental HERO Great Tornado" is applied, what does the ATK become if an Equip Card is destroyed?
  14. 14.0 14.1 Konami FAQ: For the damage-inflicting effect of "Infernity Doom Dragon", the damage inflicted uses the ATK of the destroyed monster at what time?
  15. Konami FAQ: Does the effect of "Sangan" activate if it was destroyed when resolving Chain Link 2 and "Obelisk the Tormentor" was Summoned at Chain Link 1?
  16. Konami FAQ: When "Obelisk the Tormentor" is Normal Summoned and "Sangan" is Tributed and sent from the field to the Graveyard, will the effect of "Sangan" be activated?
  17. Konami FAQ: When "Obelisk the Tormentor" is Normal Summoned by "Ultimate Offering" in the middle of a Chain, will the effect of a Tributed "Sangan" activate?
  18. 18.0 18.1 Konami FAQ: After you gain control of a monster because of the effect of "Possessed Dark Soul", does control of it reset if its Level becomes 3 or higher?
  19. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Tempest Magician" place Spell Counters on cards like "Sangan"?
  20. 20.0 20.1 20.2 Konami FAQ: Does the ATK of "The Tyrant Neptune" increase by the total ATK and DEF?
  21. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Alector, Sovereign of Birds" negate an effect that does not activate on the field, or an effect if the card is not on the field at resolution?
  22. Konami FAQ: When "Sangan" etc is Special Summoned by the effect of "Debris Dragon" etc, is its effect which activates in the Graveyard negated?
  23. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Double Tool C&D" negate an effect if the monster is not face-up on the field?
  24. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Forbidden Chalice" negate the effect of a monster which is not on the field?
  25. Konami FAQ: If "Hundred Eyes Dragon" gains an effect which activates in the Graveyard or in the place to where cards are removed from play, then can the effect be activated?
  26. Konami FAQ: Please explain the effect of "Koa'ki Meiru Powerhand" which negates the effects of LIGHT and DARK monsters.
  27. Konami FAQ: If "Sangan" is negated by "Majestic Star Dragon" and sent to the Graveyard, then is its effect negated?
  28. Konami FAQ: When a "Majestic Star Dragon" who is negating the effect of "Sangan" is sent to the Graveyard, can you add a card from your Deck to your hand?
  29. Konami FAQ: When "Sangan" is Special Summoned by "Mosaic Manticore", is its effect which activates in the Graveyard negated?
  30. Konami FAQ: If "Phantom of Chaos" obtains an effect which activates in the Graveyard or the place to where cards are removed from play, then can the effect be activated?
  31. Konami FAQ: While "Skill Drain" is active, can you negate the effects of monsters like "Sangan" which activate in the Graveyard?
  32. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "The Fabled Unicore" negate the effect of a card which activates in a place other than on the field?
  33. UDE Judge List: Sangan vs. Soul Exchange vs. Thestalos
  34. UDE Judge List: soul exchange; gravekeeper's servant w/ Macro Cosmos/Dimensional Fissure]
  35. UDE Judge List: Banisher of the Radiance and Sangan - simultaneous destruction!
  36. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  37. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  38. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  39. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  40. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  41. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  42. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  43. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  44. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
Advertisement | Your ad here

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki