Fandom

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Royal Oppression

98,558pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk8 Share

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • Paying 800 Life Points is a cost.[6]
  • When used against the Special Summon of a Special-Summon-Only monster like "The Rock Spirit", "Royal Oppression" activates and negates the Special Summon before the Special Summon is successful.[6]
  • When used against a Spell/Trap/Monster Card's effect which makes a Chain, "Royal Oppression" activates in chain to the effect.[6]

On Negating Special Summons

On Not Negating Activations

Versus Cards which Do More than Summon

  • Battle Fader: The effect of "Battle Fader" which Special Summons it and the effect which ends the Battle Phase are resolved as the same effect. If the effect is negated by "Royal Oppression", then you also do not end the Battle Phase.[11]

Versus Effects that Do Not Summon

Versus Uncertain Effects

Versus Specific Cards

  • Snoww, Unlight of Dark World: If this card is discarded by your own card effect, then you have not activated an effect which Special Summons a monster, so "Royal Oppression" cannot be Chained to the effect. If this card is discarded by an opponent's card effect. then when the effect activates, you choose whether or not to apply the effect which Special Summons a monster. Thus, "Royal Oppression" can be Chained only if at activation you choose to apply the effect which Special Summons a monster.[30]

Miscellaneous

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord: "Royal Oppression" can be used to negate both "Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord's" effect to Special Summon itself, and its effect to Special Summon a monster from your Graveyard. In both cases, "Van'Dalgyon the Dark Dragon Lord" will be destroyed.

Out of Date


Notes

  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.
  2. The latest errata of "Dark Necrofear" states that it can only activate its effect if it is destroyed as a Monster Card under its owner's control. Monsters about to be Summoned are not considered to be on the field, so the effect of "Dark Necrofear" will not activate if its Summon is negated.

References

  1. Konami Gameplay FAQ: Duelist Revolution Sneak Peek -- Card Rulings (Version 1.0)
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Royal Oppression Vs 2 Battle Faders
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: Legendary Six Samurai -Shi En vs Mirror Force vs Dim. Prison
  4. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can "Royal Oppression" be activated in the Damage Step?
  5. Konami FAQ: During the Damage Step, can "Royal Oppression" be activated?
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 Konami FAQ: Trap Card > Royal Oppression
  7. Konami FAQ: When "Royal Oppression" is activated when Special Summoning a monster, can "Royal Oppression" be activated?
  8. Konami FAQ: Can the effects of cards negate Synchro Summons?
  9. Konami OCG FAQ: If Special Summoning "Cyber Dragon" (etc.), then can you only activate the card "Royal Oppression"?
  10. 10.0 10.1 Konami FAQ: Can you Special Summon during the same turn in which "Parallel World Fusion" was negated by an effect like "Solemn Judgment" or "Royal Oppression"?
  11. Konami FAQ: Can you end the Battle Phase even if "Battle Fader" cannot be Special Summoned?
  12. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Royal Oppression" be chained to the effect of a Special Summon Monster?
  13. Konami FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" be chained to the effects of "Tragoedia" and "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind"?
  14. Konami FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" negate the different effects of "Stardust Dragon"?
  15. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Royal Oppression" be activated in chain to the effect of "Grandmaster of the Six Samurai" which adds a monster from your Graveyard to your hand?
  16. Konami FAQ: When "Geartown" is activated from the hand, can "Royal Oppression" be activated in Chain?
  17. Konami FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" negate the different effects of "Ancient City - Rainbow Ruins" and destroy it?
  18. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Black Garden" be negated by the effect of "Royal Oppression"?
  19. Konami FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" be chained to "Crystal Abundance"?
  20. Konami FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" be activated in Chain to "Macro Cosmos" to negate and destroy it?
  21. Konami FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" negate the different effects of "Morphtronic Celfon" and destroy it?
  22. Konami FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" be Chained to "Starlight Road"?
  23. Konami FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" negate the activation of and destroy "Call of the Mummy" and "Valhalla, Hall of the Fallen"?
  24. Konami OCG FAQ: At what time do you activate "Royal Oppression" to negate the Synchro Summon of "Formula Synchron"?
  25. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Royal Oppression" be activated in Chain to the activation of "Future Fusion"?
  26. Konami FAQ: When the Special Summoning effect of a "Gladiator Beast" monster activates at the end of the Battle Phase, at what time do you activate "Royal Oppression" to negate it?
  27. Konami OCG FAQ: Is returning a card to the hand when Special Summoning "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World" a cost?
  28. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you Chain "Royal Oppression" or "Solemn Warning" to the effect of "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World"?
  29. Konami FAQ: When "Infernity Launcher" is activated, can you negate the effect with "Royal Oppression"?
  30. Konami OCG FAQ: Can "Royal Oppression" be activated if "Snoww, Unlight of Dark World" is discarded by you or by the opponent?
  31. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Royal Oppression" be activated when it is sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon "Trap Eater"?
  32. Konami FAQ: Can the activation of "Water-Hazard" be negated by the effect of "Royal Oppression"?
  33. 33.0 33.1 Konami OCG FAQ: Can you Chain "Royal Oppression" to the effect of "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" (etc.) which Special Summons it?
  34. Konami OCG FAQ: If you discard multiple "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" (etc.) simultaneously, then can you negate all the Summons with the effect of "Royal Oppression"?
  35. Konami FAQ: If during "Endless Decay" Special Summon the Life Points become 2001 or more, is "Endless Decay" still Special Summoned?
  36. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Herald of Perfection" be Chained to the activation of the effect of a Continuous Spell or Trap Card?
  37. Konami FAQ: If the Synchro Summon of a monster like "Voltic Bicorn" is negated by "Royal Oppression", then can you activate its effect?
  38. Konami OCG FAQ: Can the effect of "Stardust Dragon" be Chained to the effect of "Royal Oppression"?
  39. Konami FAQ: If you discard "The Fabled Catsith" in the middle of a Chain, then its effect activates at what time?
  40. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  41. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  42. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  43. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  44. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  45. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  46. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  47. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  48. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  49. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.