FANDOM


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • This card cannot be activated during your turn. Also, it cannot be activated during the Damage Step.[1]
  • This card target 1 face-up monster your opponent controls whose ATK is less than or equal to their Life Points.
    • Example: If your opponent has 3000 Life Points, you can target 1 face-up monster your oppnent controls with 3000 or less ATK.[1]
  • "destroy that face-up monster" and "you take damage equal to its original ATK" are considered to happen simultaneously, but "then inflict damage to your opponent equal to the damage you took." is not considered to happen simultaneously.[1]
  • After resolving "you take damage equal to its original ATK", if your Life Points becomes 0, the Duel ends. (Since "then inflict damage to your opponent equal to the damage you took" is not applied, it is not a DRAW.)[1]

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Barrel Behind the Door: Remember that the effects that Counter-Traps are chained to must immediately precede them in the chain. So if you activate "Ring of Destruction", and intend to chain "Barrel Behind the Door" to it, if your opponent chains something in-between (even an unrelated effect like "Jar of Greed"), then you cannot chain "Barrel Behind the Door" because "Ring of Destruction" is no longer the preceding step in the chain.
  • Berserk Gorilla: If "Final Attack Orders" and "Berserk Gorilla" are both on the field, and the opponent targets "Berserk Gorilla" with "Ring of Destruction", and you chain "Zero Gravity", "Berserk Gorilla" is destroyed in the middle of the chain due to "Zero Gravity"'s effect, and "Ring of Destruction"'s effect disappears.
  • Blast Held by a Tribute: In order to inflict 1000 points of damage to your opponent, you must destroy all monsters on your opponent's side of the field first. So if you activate "Blast Held by a Tribute", and your opponent chains "Ring of Destruction" or "Interdimensional Matter Transporter" so that your opponent has no monsters to destroy, then "Blast Held by a Tribute" inflicts no damage.
  • Book of Moon: If you chain "Book of Moon" to..."Ring of Destruction"...to flip the target of any of those cards face-down, the card's effect disappears. (See "Activation & Targeting Eligibility" in the Advanced FAQ.)
  • Breaker the Magical Warrior: Placing a Spell Counter on "Breaker, the Magical Warrior" [sic] is a chain that begins after it is Summoned. If your opponent chains..."Ring of Destruction" to the placement of a Spell Counter on "Breaker, the Magical Warrior" [sic]..."Ring of Destruction" resolves before the Spell Counter is placed on "Breaker, the Magical Warrior" [sic], so you cannot chain "Breaker, the Magical Warrior"'s [sic] effect.
  • Breaker the Magical Warrior: Removing a Spell Counter is a cost; if you remove a Spell Counter from "Breaker, the Magical Warrior" [sic] and your opponent chains "Ring of Destruction", the Spell Counter has already been removed so "Ring of Destruction" deals 1600 damage to each player; "Breaker, the Magical Warrior"'s [sic] effect that destroys a card is still applied even though "Breaker, the Magical Warrior" [sic] himself has been destroyed at that point.
  • Chain Disappearance: If your opponent activates "Chain Disappearance" and you chain "Ring of Destruction", "Ring of Destruction" resolves first and destroys the monster and sends it to the Graveyard, and there is no monster of the same name so no cards are removed from play for the effect of "Chain Disappearance"...
  • Creature Swap: Both players must have at least 1 eligible monster on the field for "Creature Swap" to be activated. If the opponent chains a card (such as "Ring of Destruction") to destroy the only monster on one side of the field, the effect of "Creature Swap" disappears.
  • Dekoichi the Battlechanted Locomotive: The number of "Bokoichi the Freightening Car" on your side of the field is counted when this card's effect resolves. That means if it is flipped, and the opponent chains "Ring of Destruction" to destroy the only "Bokoichi the Freightening Car" on your side of the field, you only draw 1 card.
  • Des Wombat: If your only "Des Wombat" is destroyed by..."Ring of Destruction", it is no longer on the field so it will not protect you against the damage from these card effects.
  • Diffusion Wave-Motion: When you activate "Diffusion Wave-Motion", and your opponent chains "Ring of Destruction" to destroy your selected Level 7 Spellcaster-Type monster, the effect of "Diffusion Wave-Motion" is negated and your other monsters can attack normally that turn. But, if your opponent activates "Ring of Destruction" AFTER "Diffusion Wave-Motion" resolves (with no chain), and the selected Level 7 Spellcaster-Type monster is destroyed, your other monsters CANNOT attack.
  • Dramatic Rescue: If you activate "Dramatic Rescue" and your opponent chains "Ring of Destruction" and destroys the Amazoness, the Amazoness does not return to your hand and "Dramatic Rescue"'s effect disappears (so no monster is Special Summoned).
  • Hero Barrier: "Hero Barrier" can be activated even if you do not have a face-up "Elemental Hero" [sic] monster on the field. If you do not have an "Elemental Hero" [sic] monster on the field when "Hero Barrier" resolves, then it does nothing. This means if the opponent chains "Ring of Destruction" to destroy your only "Elemental Hero" [sic], then "Hero Barrier" does nothing.[Notes 2]
  • Horus' Servant: "Horus' Servant" has an effect just like "Lord of D.", but only applicable to "Horus the Black Flame Dragon". "Horus' Servant" will not negate a card effect. All it does is prevent "Horus the Black Flame Dragon" from being selected as a target. If your opponent selects "Horus the Black Flame Dragon" as a target (with "Ring of Destruction", for example), and you chain "Call of the Haunted" to Special Summon "Horus' Servant", then "Horus the Black Flame Dragon" will still be destroyed by "Ring of Destruction" because "Horus' Servant" is being Special Summoned AFTER "Horus the Black Flame Dragon" was selected. The fact that "Ring of Destruction" has not yet resolved does not matter; "Horus the Black Flame Dragon" was selected at activation of "Ring of Destruction", and "Horus' Servant" is Special Summoned too late to prevent this.
  • Last Turn: You can chain to the activation of "Last Turn" with cards like "Ring of Destruction"...to eliminate the opponent's monsters. If the player who activated "Last Turn" has no monsters on the field when it resolves, the effects of "Last Turn" are not negated. So the turn player still Special Summons a monster, although the special Battle Phase is not conducted, but the victory check in the End Phase is still performed.
  • Life Absorbing Machine: "The total Life Points you paid" is defined as the Life Points paid for costs (both activation costs and maintenance costs) of cards. It does not include damage or loss of Life Points. Damage is not included even if the damage was caused by an effect you control, such as if you activate "Ring of Destruction".
  • Lord of D.: If your opponent activates "Ring of Destruction" targeting your "Lord of D." and you chain "D. Tribe" to change "Lord of D." to Dragon-Type, "Ring of Destruction" will still resolve and destroy "Lord of D." since he was selected as a target before he was changed into Dragon-Type. If your opponent activates "Ring of Destruction" targeting a Dragon-Type monster you control and you chain "Call of the Haunted" to Special Summon "Lord of D." from your Graveyard, your Dragon-Type monster is still destroyed for the same reason.
  • Machine Duplication: The Machine-Type monster is chosen at activation of this card, so if the opponent chains "Ring of Destruction" to destroy the chosen monster, up to 2 copies of that card can still be Special Summoned.
  • Needle Ceiling: If the number of monsters on the field is reduced below 4 after activation of "Needle Ceiling" (by chaining "Ring of Destruction", etc.), the effect of "Needle Ceiling" still resolves (see "Activation & Targeting Eligibility" on the Advanced FAQ).
  • Pole Position: The opponent has "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" (3000 ATK) and "Pole Position" face-up on the field. I have "Gemini Elf" (1900 ATK), and an "Opticlops" (1800 ATK) equipped with "Axe of Despair"(+1000 ATK; 2800 total) face-up on the field, and a Set "Ring of Destruction". If I activate "Ring of Destruction" to destroy "Blue-Eyes White Dragon", then "Opticlops" will be the highest ATK monster on the field, and cause an infinite loop (it is the highest, it isn't, it is, it isn't, etc.). Therefore, I cannot target "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" with "Ring of Destruction".
  • The Agent of Wisdom - Mercury: When you have "The Agent of Wisdom - Mercury" on your side of the field and you have no cards in your hand at the end of your opponent's End Phase, but it is destroyed before your Standby Phase (such as with "Ring of Destruction" during your Draw Phase), then you do NOT draw during your Standby Phase because "The Agent of Wisdom - Mercury" is no longer on the field.
  • Tyrant Dragon: You Tribute a Dragon-Type monster when the effect that Special Summons "Tyrant Dragon" resolves, not when it activates. So...if you control 1 Dragon-Type monster on the field, and activate "Monster Reborn", and your opponent chains "Ring of Destruction" to destroy your only Dragon-Type monster, you are unable to Tribute a Dragon-Type monster when "Monster Reborn" resolves and its effect disappears.

Out of Date

Judge List Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Dark Paladin: If you activate "Dark Paladin"'s Spell-negating effect, and your opponent chains "Ring of Destruction" to destroy "Dark Paladin", the Spell Card is still negated even though "Dark Paladin" is destroyed.[Notes 4]


Notes

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 The latest print of "Ring of Destruction" uses Problem-Solving Card Text, which states that the damage dealt is equal to the monster's original ATK. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Ring of Destruction".
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 The latest print of "Ring of Destruction" uses Problem-Solving Card Text, which states that it can only be activated during the opponent's turn. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Ring of Destruction".
  3. The latest print of "Ring of Destruction" uses Problem-Solving Card Text, which states that it can only target an opponent's monster. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Ring of Destruction".
  4. The latest print of "Dark Paladin" uses Problem-Solving Card Text, which states that it must be face-up on the field to resolve this effect.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Konami OCG Card Database: Ring of Destruction
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Ring of Destruction", if you take control of the targeted monster with "Enemy Controller", what happens?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Ring of Destruction" target a monster whose ATK was halved using the effect of "Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind"?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Ring of Destruction", if the targeted monster is in face-down defense Position, what happens?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Ring of Destruction", if the targeted monster is not destroyed because "Forbidden Dress", what happens?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: If a monster equipped with "Unstable Evolution" is destroyed with "Ring of Destruction", how much damage you take?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving "Ring of Destruction", if you take no damage because an effect like "Rainbow Life", what happens?
  8. UDE Judge List: Ring of Destruction vs Limiter Removal
  9. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  16. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  17. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  18. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.