FANDOM


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • The effect "Once per turn: You can target 1 monster your opponent controls; equip that target to this card. (You can only equip 1 monster at a time to this card with this effect.)" is an Ignition Effect. (It targets 1 monster in your opponent's Monster Zone. It can also target a face-down Defense Position monster.)[1]
  • The effect "This card's ATK and DEF become equal to that equipped monster's. If this card would be destroyed by battle, destroy that equipped monster instead." is a Continuous Effect. (If this card is equipped with a face-down Defense Position monster, the ATK and DEF of "Relinquished" become 0.)[1]
  • If the effect "If this card would be destroyed by battle, destroy that equipped monster instead." is applied, the equipped monster is destroyed after damage calculation.[1]
  • The effect "While equipped with that monster, any battle damage you take from battles involving this card inflicts equal effect damage to your opponent." is a Continuous Effect.[1]
  • If the effect "While equipped with that monster, any battle damage you take from battles involving this card inflicts equal effect damage to your opponent." is applied, each player takes damage at the same time.[1]
  • If a Pendulum Monster is treated as an Equip Card by the effect of "Relinquished" and it is placed in the Spell & Trap Zone, even if it is placed in the rightmost (or leftmost) Zone, it is not treated as a Pendulum Monster that was placed using the normal procedure. If "Wisdom-Eye Magician" is equipped to "Relinquished" in the rightmost (or leftmost) Spell & Trap Zone, "Wisdom-Eye Magician" is not treated as a card that was placed in the Pendulum Zone, its Pendulum Effect cannot be activated, and you cannot Pendulum Summon using its Pendulum Scale.[3]
  • The effect of "Relinquished" can treat an opponent's "Link Spider" as an Equip Card. In that case, since "Link Spider" has 1000 ATK, the ATK of "Relinquished" becomes 1000. However, since "Link Spider" has no DEF, the DEF of "Relinquished" becomes 0. (The effect "If this card would be destroyed by battle, destroy that equipped monster instead." can be applied normally.)[4]
  • While a Link Monster, such as "Decode Talker", is treated as an Equip Card by the effect of "Relinquished", even if its Link Arrow points to a Main Monster Zone, you cannot Special Summon a monster from the Extra Deck.[5]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

  • A monster equipped to "Relinquished" occupies a Spell & Trap Zone of the controller of "Relinquished". So if you already have 5 Spell & Trap Cards on the field you cannot activate the effect of "Relinquished". Any Equip Spell Cards equipped to the selected monster are destroyed. "Relinquished" gains the ATK and DEF of the monster equipped to it, but not the effects of an Effect Monster.
  • "Relinquished" inflicts effect damage to your opponent whenever you take battle damage from a battle involving "Relinquished", if it is equipped with a monster. This can occur when “Relinquished” battles another Attack Position Monster, or when it attacks a Defense Position monster with DEF higher than its current ATK.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Batteryman C: A "Batteryman C" equipped to "Relinquished" is not in Attack or Defense Position so it will not be counted for the effect of "Batteryman C".
  • Dark Ruler Ha Des: If your Fiend-Type monster battles with "Relinquished" equipped with a "Sangan" or a "Witch of the Black Forest" and the equipped card is destroyed instead of "Relinquished", the effect of "Sangan", etc., will activate since it was the effect of "Relinquished" that destroyed it. It was not destroyed as a result of battle with the Fiend-Type monster.
  • Elemental HERO Glow Neos: If you destroy a monster that is being treated as an Equip Spell Card by the effect of "Relinquished", it is treated as a monster after it is destroyed so the additional effect for destroying a Monster Card is applied.
  • Falling Down: The Archfiend you need for "Falling Down" doesn't have to be a monster. Cards like...an Archfiend monster equipped to your "Relinquished", will prevent "Falling Down" from being destroyed.
  • Fatal Abacus: For the effect of "Fatal Abacus" to trigger, a Monster Card that is being treated as a monster must be sent from the field to the Graveyard. This means that a Monster Card equipped to "Relinquished"...that is sent to the Graveyard will not trigger this effect...
  • Giant Kozaky: If "Giant Kozaky" is face-up on the field with "Kozaky", and "Kozaky" is equipped to "Relinquished", "Giant Kozaky" is not destroyed because a card called "Kozaky" is on the field.
  • Giant Kozaky: If "Giant Kozaky" is equipped to "Relinquished" as an Equip Spell Card, "Giant Kozaky" will not be destroyed by its effect because it's not a monster (even if "Kozaky" is not on the field).
  • Giant Kozaky: If "Giant Kozaky" is equipped to "Relinquished" and is destroyed by "Mystical Space Typhoon" or the effect of "Relinquished", the effect of "Giant Kozaky" will inflict damage to the controller.
  • Gorgon's Eye: While "Gorgon's Eye" is active, if "Relinquished" equipped with a monster is in Defense Position, the effect of "Relinquished" is negated, it can no longer be equipped with a monster, and the Monster Card equipped to "Relinquished" is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.
  • Guardian Tryce: If "Guardian Tryce" is an Equip Spell Card equipped to "Relinquished"...and "Guardian Tryce" is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, his effect activates.
  • Heart of Clear Water: If your "Relinquished"...is equipped with "Heart of Clear Water" and you its effect to equip it with a Monster Card whose ATK is 1300 or higher, "Heart of Clear Water" is destroyed.
  • Kaiser Glider: If "Kaiser Glider" is equipped to "Relinquished"...and is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, "Kaiser Glider"'s effect activates.
  • Lesser Fiend: If "Lesser Fiend" battles with "Relinquished" equipped with a Monster Card, and that equipped card is destroyed instead of "Relinquished", it is not removed from play since it is the effect of "Relinquished" that destroyed it and not as a result of battle with "Lesser Fiend".
  • Magic Reflector: You can activate "Magic Reflector" and put a counter on a Monster Card equipped to "Relinquished", and if the equipped card would be destroyed, remove 1 counter instead.
  • Morale Boost: "Morale Boost"'s effect includes when monsters are equipped to "Relinquished"...and when such equipped monsters are removed from the field.
  • Neo-Spacian Dark Panther: If you target "Relinquished"...then you can equip "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" with Monster Cards through the copied effect, but at the end of the turn, the effect that allowed them to be equipped disappears, and the equipped cards are destroyed.
  • Remove Brainwashing If your opponent takes control of your monster with "Snatch Steal", etc., and you activate "Relinquished"'s effect on your next turn to equip the monster to "Relinquished", and your opponent chains "Remove Brainwashing" to "Relinquished"'s effect, control of the monster returns to you before "Relinquished"'s effect resolves and, since you cannot use "Relinquished"'s effect on monsters on your side of the field, "Relinquished"'s effect disappears.
  • Skill Drain: Monsters equipped to "Relinquished" while "Skill Drain" is active are negated and destroyed because "Relinquished" no longer has an effect that allows it to be equipped with a monster, and "Relinquished"'s ATK and DEF are returned to normal.
  • Spellbinding Circle: If the targeted monster is Tributed, changed into an Equip Spell Card by the effect of "Relinquished", returned to the owner's hand, or otherwise removed from the field without being destroyed, "Spellbinding Circle" remains on the field meaninglessly.
  • Thousand Knives: The required card only needs to be face-up on the field. It does not need to be a Monster Card, so if "Dark Magician" is equipped to your "Relinquished", you can activate "Thousand Knives".
  • Timidity: While the effect of "Timidity" is active, you cannot destroy a face-down Monster Card equipped to "Relinquished".
  • Trojan Blast: You cannot activate "Trojan Blast" when a monster shifts control to become an Equip Card. So you cannot activate "Trojan Blast" when "Relinquished"...equips itself with your monster.
  • Twin-Headed Behemoth: If equipped to "Relinquished" and destroyed, you can use the effect of this card and it will be Special Summoned on your side of the field with ATK/DEF of 1000 points. (If you have not already used this effect once.)
  • Winged Kuriboh: If "Winged Kuriboh" is treated as an Equip Card (like if it's equipped to "Relinquished") and it's destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, its effect still activates.

Judge List Rulings

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings


Notes

  1. 1.0 1.1 The newest errata of this card has Problem-Solving Card Text which shows its effect to inflict damage is a Continuous Effect and not a Trigger Effect.
  2. Version 8.0 of the official rulebook states that monsters treated as Equip Cards (except Union monsters equipped by their own effects) cannot have their equip target changed.
  3. The newest errata of "Nightmare Wheel" has Problem-Solving Card Text which specifies that it is only destroyed by its own effect when its target leaves the field.
  4. The newest errata of "Vampire Lord" has Problem-Solving Card Text which shows its effect to Special Summon itself will activate regardless of if it was destroyed as a monster.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Konami OCG Card Database: Relinquished
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of "Destiny HERO - Plasma" that equips an opponent's monster to it, if "Destiny HERO - Plasma" is no longer face-up on the field, what happens?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: Can the Pendulum Effect of "Wisdom-Eye Magician" be activated while it is treated as an Equip Card by the effect of "Relinquished"?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a Link Monster be treated as an Equip Card by the effect of "Relinquished"?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: While "Decode Talker" is treated as an Equip Card in the Spell & Trap Zone, can you Special Summon a monster from the Extra Deck to a Main Monster Zone pointed by its Link Arrow?
  6. Konami FAQ: [Basic Rules] When Fusion Summoning, can a Ritual Monster card in the hand be used as a Fusion Material Monster?
  7. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you use a Ritual monster in your hand as a Fusion Material?
  8. Konami FAQ: When "Elemental Hero Absolute Zero" is removed from the field while being treated as an Equip Card, does its effect activate?
  9. Konami FAQ: When a "Red Dragon Archfiend/Assault Mode" etc is being treated as an Equip Card and destroyed, can "Red Dragon Archfiend" etc be Special Summoned?
  10. Konami FAQ: When a "Genesis Dragon" which is being treated as an Equip Card is sent from the field to the Graveyard, can you activate the effect which returns to the Deck?
  11. Konami FAQ: When an "Archlord Kristya" which is treated as an Equip Card is sent to the Graveyard, does it return to the top of the deck with its effect?
  12. Konami FAQ: When a "Fortune Lady Light" being treated as an Equip Card is removed from the field, does its effect activate?
  13. Konami FAQ: When "Hundred Eyes Dragon" gains the effect of "Relinquished" and equips itself with an opponent's monster, how does it resolve at the end of the turn?
  14. Konami FAQ: If a "Elemental HERO The Shining" which is being treated as an Equip Card is destroyed, then can you add removed from play "Elemental HERO" cards to your hand?
  15. Konami FAQ: If a monster like "Relinquished" is already equipped with a monster, then can you equip another monster to it with the effect of "Dragon Mastery"?
  16. Konami FAQ: Can you Special Summon Dragunity Arma Leyvaten" by removing from play a "Relinquished" equipped with a "Dragunity" monster?
  17. Konami FAQ: Can you Special Summon "Exxod, Master of The Guard" by Tributing a "Sphinx" monster that is treated as an Equip Card?
  18. Konami FAQ: Can "Malefic Truth Dragon" be Special Summoned if a "Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon" being treated as an Equip Card is destroyed?
  19. UDE Judge List: Dark Ruler Ha Des Vs. Relinquished, Etc.
  20. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  21. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  28. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  29. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.