Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Reasoning

86,007pages on
this wiki
Talk0

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • If you have no monsters that can be Normal Summoned/Set in your Deck, "Reasoning" cannot be activated.[1]
  • When resolving this card, your opponent declares a monster Level and you start excavating cards from the top of your Deck.[1]
  • Special Summoning and sending the excavated cards to the Graveyard are considered to happen simultaneously.[1]
  • If the excavated card is a monster that can be Normal Summoned/Set, but it cannot be Special Summoned like "Tsukuyomi", it is not Special Summoned, and it is sent to the Graveyard with the other excavated cards.[1]
  • When resolving "Monster Gate", if the effect of "Vanity's Emptiness" is being applied, since you cannot Special Summon any monster, no card is excavated from the Deck. (Cards are not sent to the Graveyard and no monster is Special Summoned.) When resolving "Reasoning", if the effect of "Vanity's Emptiness" is being applied, since you cannot Special Summon any monster, no card is excavated from the Deck. (Cards are not sent to the Graveyard and no monster is Special Summoned.)[4]
  • While the effect of "Evilswarm Ophion" is being applied, if you have a monster that can be Normal Summoned/Set in your Deck, "Reasoning" and "Monster Gate" can be activated. When resolving "Monster Gate", if a Level 4 or lower monster is excavated, it is Special Summoned normally, but if a Level 5 or higher monster is excavated, it is sent to the Graveyard with the other excavated cards. When resolving "Reasoning", "If that monster is the same Level as the one declared by your opponent, send all excavated cards to the Graveyard." is applied normally, but when resolving "If not, Special Summon the excavated monster, also send the remaining cards to the Graveyard.", if a Level 4 or lower monster is excavated, it is Special Summoned normally, but if a Level 5 or higher monster is excavated, it is sent to the Graveyard with the other excavated cards.[5]

Previously Official Rulings

  • If you pick up a Spirit monster, all picked up cards are sent to the Graveyard.
  • If no monster is picked up, shuffle your Deck and put it back in the Deck Zone; the effect of "Reasoning" disappears.

Mentions in other Rulings

Judge List Rulings

  • You cannot activate this card if you already control five monsters. If you control five monsters when the effect resolves (i.e. your opponent chains "Ojama Trio"), you still apply the effect and when you pick-up a monster that can be Normal Summoned it is sent to the Graveyard along with the other picked-up cards.[8]

Out of Date


Notes

  1. This card's latest errata states that you also stop picking up (excavating) cards if you pick up a monster that can be Normal Set.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Konami OCG Card Database: Reasoning
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: While the effect of "Stellarknight Constellar Diamond" or "Dimension Fortress Weapon" is being applied, can "Reasoning" or "Monster Gate" be activated?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: While the effect of "Vanity's Fiend" is being applied, can "Reasoning" be activated?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Vanity's Emptiness" is activated in a chain to "Reasoning" or "Monster Gate", what happens?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: While the effect of "Evilswarm Ophion" is being applied, can "Monster Gate" or "Reasoning" be activated?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Wulf, Lightsworn Beast" is excavated by "Reasoning" or "Monster Gate", can it be Special Summoned?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a Special Summon Monster be Special Summoned by "Reasoning" or "Monster Gate"?
  8. UDE Judge List: Reasoning
  9. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  16. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  17. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  18. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki