Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Prohibition

Talk2
76,203pages on
this wiki

TCG Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

  • In place of declaring a FULL card name, a precise description of a card's stats, appearance, and/or effects, is considered acceptable so long as both players are in clear agreement over which card is being described. [1]

OCG Rulings

  • "Cannot play" ("cannot be used") includes Normal Summoning/Special Summoning the declared Monster, activating the declared Monster's effect, activating the declared Spell/Trap Card, changing the declared Monster's battle position, or attacking with the declared Monster.[2]

Versus Specific Cards

Previously Official Rulings

  • "cannot be used" means that the declared card cannot be placed onto the field from your hand. A declared Monster Card cannot be Summoned or Set from your hand, and any effect it activates while in your hand cannot be activated. A declared Spell or Trap Card cannot be activated or Set from your hand. Every player in the Duel cannot "use" the declared card.
  • The declared card may be used to pay costs. The declared card can be discarded, Tributed, or sent to the Graveyard.
  • A declared Monster Card can be Special Summoned from the Deck, Graveyard, or Removed Zone. If this happens, the Monster Card's effects are not applied, and it cannot attack or change its battle position manually. Any maintainence costs must still be paid.
  • Declared cards on the field before "Prohibition" resolves are unaffected. Declared Monster Cards Set before "Prohibition" resolves can be Flip Summoned. Declared Spell or Trap Cards Set before "Prohibition" resolves can be activated.
  • After declaring a card for "Prohibition", the declared card cannot be changed.
  • If a declared Monster Card is Special Summoned face-down (by "Cyber Jar", etc.), when it is flipped face-up its effects are not applied. If it has a Flip Effect, the Flip Effect does not activate.
  • The Ignition-like effects of a declared Continuous Spell or Trap Card face-up on the field before "Prohibition" resolves can still be activated.
  • If a Monster Card declared by "Prohibition" is Special Summoned face-down and afterwards "Prohibition" is negated, the declared Monster Card can be Flip Summoned and its effects will be applied.
  • If "Exodia the Forbidden One" is declared with "Prohibition", when a player has all five pieces of Exodia in their hand, they win the Duel. This is a win condition and cannot be prevented with "Prohibition".
  • If "Prohibition" declares "Sangan" or "Witch of the Black Forest", if the declared card is on the field when "Prohibition" resolves, its effect will activate when it is sent to the Graveyard. If the declared card is Special Summoned after "Prohibition" resolves, it "cannot be used", so its effect will not activate when it is sent to the Graveyard.
  • If "Nimble Momonga" or "Giant Germ" is on the field when declared by "Prohibition", when it is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard its effect activates, but the Special Summoned "Nimble Momonga" or "Giant Germ" "cannot be used", so their effects will not be applied when they are destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard.
  • A Level 4 or lower Monster Card declared by "Prohibition" can be Special Summoned by "Cyber Jar", but it "cannot be used" so its effects are not applied and it cannot attack or change its battle position manually.
  • If "Jinzo" is declared by "Prohibition", the effect of a "Jinzo" that is already on the field is still applied. If a "Jinzo" is Special Summoned, it "cannot be used", so the effects of Trap Cards are not negated and Trap Cards can be activated.
  • If the effect of "Prohibition" is being negated, the declared card can be "used". If the declared card is on the field when the effect of "Prohibition" becomes active again the declared card on the field is unaffected.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Notes

  1. These Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.
  2. The word should be "changed", not "chained".

References

  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: Question/Mind Crush/Prohibition/ETC vs. Card Names
  2. 2.0 2.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Prohibition
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Prohibition" declare the name of a Fusion or Ritual Monster, can the declared monster be Fusion or Ritual Summoned?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a monster that was declared by "Prohibition" be Special Summoned by "Monster Reborn"?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a monster declared by "Psi-Blocker" used as a Synchro Material Monster for a Synchro Summon?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a monster declared by "Psi-Blocker" used as an Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a Token Monster be declared by "Prohibition" or "Psi-Blocker"?
  8. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "A Legendary Ocean" be declared by "Prohibition"?
  9. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a monster that was declared by "Prohibition" be targeted by the effect of "Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor"?
  10. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a "Fire Formation - Tensu" that was declared by "Prohibition" be Set by the effect of "Brotherhood of the Fire Fist - Hawk"?
  11. Konami OCG Card Database: When "Prohibition" is activated and declares "D.D. Scout Plane", can it be Special Summoned during the End Phase?
  12. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Elemental HERO Prisma", etc gain the name of a monster declared by "Prohibition"?
  13. Konami OCG Card Database: While the effect of "Prohibition" is being applied, if "Evilswarm Thunderbird" is banished by its own effect, what happens?
  14. Konami OCG Card Database: Do you still win the Duel if you complete "Exodia the Forbidden One" while "Prohibition" has "Exodia the Forbidden One" declared?
  15. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a "Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder" that was declared by "Prohibition" be Special Summoned by sending 3 Continuous Spell Cards to the Graveyard, including "Prohibition"?
  16. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Harpie Lady" was declared by "Prohibition", can "Harpie Queen" be Normal Summoned?
  17. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a "Hazy Flame Sphynx" that was declared by "Prohibition" be treated as an Xyz Material by the effect of "Hazy Pillar"?
  18. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" was declared by the effect of "Psi-Blocker", can you use it to Special Summon "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus"?
  19. Konami OCG Card Database: Can you Special Summon "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World" by returning to the hand a "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" declared by "Prohibition"?
  20. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" is declared for "Prohibition", then are you unable to activate its effects which add it to your hand from your Graveyard?
  21. Konami OCG Card Database: When activating "Psi-Blocker" and declaring "Jinzo", is its effect still applied?
  22. Konami OCG Card Database: Can you activate the effect of "Necro Gardna" to negate an attack when "Necro Gardna" is declared by "Prohibition"?
  23. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Prohibition" has declared "The Creator God of Light, Horakhty", can "The Creator God of Light, Horakhty" be Special Summoned from the hand?
  24. Konami OCG Card Database: Can a "Vampire Kingdom" that was declared by "Prohibition" be activated by "Vampire Takeover"?
  25. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  28. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  29. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  30. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  31. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  32. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  33. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  34. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki