FANDOM


OCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Avatar of The Pot: If you have your opponent's "Pot of Greed" in your hand because of "Exchange" or "Graverobber", you CAN send your opponent's "Pot of Greed" to the Graveyard to activate your "Avatar of the Pot"'s effect. But if you did this with "Graverobber", you take 2000 points of damage to do so.
  • Butterfly Dagger - Elma: Missing the Timing: Because the effect of "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" is an optional "when... you can" Trigger Effect, "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" being sent to the Graveyard has to be the very last thing that happened in order for you to activate its effect. So if it is destroyed in the middle of a chain, you cannot return it to your hand. Example: If the turn player activates "Pot of Greed", and the opponent chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" to destroy "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" during the chain, it cannot return to the owner's hand.
  • Desrook Archfiend: Missing the Timing: Because "Desrook Archfiend"'s effect is optional, the "Terrorking Archfiend" being sent to the Graveyard has to be the very last thing that happened in order for you to activate "Desrook Archfiend"'s effect. You cannot activate "Desrook Archfiend"'s effect in the middle of a chain, such as if "Pot of Greed" was activated and "Ring of Destruction" was chained to destroy "Terrorking Archfiend" and send him to the Graveyard in the middle of the chain.
  • Greed: The effect of "Greed" only applies to cards drawn while "Greed" was active. If "Jar of Greed" is chained to "Greed"'s activation, "Jar of Greed" (Step 2) resolves and you draw 1 card for "Jar of Greed" before "Greed"'s effect (Step 1) was active, so no damage is inflicted during the End Phase. But if you chain "Greed" (Step 2) to "Pot of Greed" (Step 1), then "Greed" is active before "Pot of Greed" resolves, so the activator of "Pot of Greed" takes 1000 damage from "Greed".
  • Jar Robber: You can chain "Jar Robber" to your own or your opponent's "Pot of Greed".
  • Jar Robber: The only way to activate "Jar Robber" is to chain it to the activation of "Pot of Greed".
  • Jar Robber: "Jar Robber" must be the very next step in the chain, so if you activate "Pot of Greed" and your opponent chains "Imperial Order", you cannot activate "Jar Robber".
  • Mokey Mokey King: Missing the Timing: If "Mokey Mokey King" leaves the field in the middle of a chain (for example, if destroyed by "Ring of Destruction" chained to "Pot of Greed", or Tributed for a Tribute Summon or for the effect of "Cannon Soldier", etc.,), you miss the timing and you cannot Special Summon. Only when the last action of the chain is the removal of "Mokey Mokey King" from the field, can you activate its effect.
  • Null and Void: You can only chain "Null and Void" to an effect that draws cards and does nothing else. You can chain "Null and Void" to the activation of "Pot of Greed" or "Jar of Greed". You can chain "Null and Void" to the activation of the effect of cards like "Airknight Parshath".
  • Peten the Dark Clown: If "Peten the Dark Clown" is destroyed in a chain and not as Chain Link 1, his effect does not activate. (Example: "Pot of Greed" is activated and "Ring of Destruction" is chained, targeting "Peten".)
  • Pharaoh's Treasure: If you draw a face-up "Pharaoh's Treasure" with "Graceful Charity", you miss the timing for the effect of "Pharaoh's Treasure" and the effect disappears. "Pharaoh's Treasure" is simply added to your hand. In order to apply the effect of "Pharaoh's Treasure", the very last action must have been to draw. You CAN apply Pharaoh's Treasure's effect if it is drawn while face-up due to "Pot of Greed"...
  • Spirit of the Pot of Greed: "Spirit of the Pot of Greed"'s effect does not chain to "Pot of Greed"; instead, you activate it after "Pot of Greed" resolves.
  • Spirit of the Pot of Greed: "Spirit of the Pot of Greed" must be face-up on the field to resolve its effect; if "Book of Moon" is chained to "Pot of Greed" or to the effect of "Spirit of the Pot of Greed", "Spirit of the Pot of Greed"'s effect is negated.
  • Spirit of the Pot of Greed: If "Imperial Order" negates the effect of "Pot of Greed", "Spirit of the Pot of Greed"'s effect still activates because "Pot of Greed"'s activation was not negated.
  • Tower of Babel: "Tower of Babel" cannot blow up in the middle of a chain. If you wind up with 5 Spell Counters on "Tower of Babel" after a chain resolves, the player who caused the 4th Spell Counter to be placed takes the damage. So if you have "Tower of Babel" with 3 Spell Counters, and you activate "Pot of Greed", and your opponent chains "Reload", "Reload" resolves first and places the 4th Spell Counter, and your opponent takes the 3000 damage after the current chain resolves.


References

  1. Konami OCG FAQ: Who wins the Duel when "Pot of Greed" forces you to draw the last card in your Deck, which has you complete "Exodia the Forbidden One"?
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  3. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  11. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.