Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Penguin Soldier

Talk0
76,203pages on
this wiki

OCG Rulings

  • This effect can target up to 2 monsters on the field.[1]
  • If this effect is activated, you must target atleast 1 card. You cannot target 0 cards.[1]
  • If "Penguin Soldier" is destroyed by battle, then it cannot return itself to the hand with its effect.[2]
  • If a monster is equipped with an Equip Card, if the monster is returned to the hand by "Penguin Soldier" or "Hane-Hane", then the Equip Card is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard.[3]
  • During the Damage Step, you can only activate Spell/Trap Cards which increase/decrease a monster's ATK or DEF. Also, if a Flip Effect Monster is flipped during the Damage Step, then its effect activates after damage calculation. Because of this, if a face-down Flip Effect Monster is attacked, then you cannot activate "Acid Trap Hole" targeting "Penguin Soldier" to return the flipped monster to your hand before it is destroyed by battle but after the monster is flipped.[4]
  • When the effect of "Penguin Soldier" activates, you can choose to return 0 cards to the hand.[5]

Previously Official Rulings

  • You may choose to return 0, 1, or 2 monsters to their owners’ hands.
  • You may target Monster Tokens, and they will be taken off the field, instead of returning to the hand.
  • Spirit Monsters can still be returned to their owners’ hands by the effect of "Penguin Soldier" even if "Spiritual Energy Settle Machine" is in play.

Mentions in other Rulings

  • Chain Disappearance: If you use "Chain Disappearance" in response to a Flip Summon, any Flip Effects like "Penguin Soldier" would still resolve. The Flip Effect is Step 1 of the chain, and "Chain Disappearance" is step 2.
  • Chaos Command Magician: When "Penguin Soldier" targets 2 monsters, including "Chaos Command Magician", this is an effect targets, but not one that select "1 target". So "Chaos Command Magician" will not negate the effect of "Penguin Soldier". However, if "Penguin Soldier" only targets "Chaos Command Magician", then it is an effect that selects "1 target" so "Chaos Command Magician" WILL negate the effect of "Penguin Soldier".
  • Cyber Phoenix: "Cyber Phoenix's" Continuous Effect will not negate cards that have 2 targets, such as "Penguin Soldier"...
  • Dark Magician of Chaos: When "Dark Magician of Chaos" is sent to your hand by "Penguin Soldier", it is removed from play instead.
  • Dramatic Rescue: You can activate "Dramatic Rescue" when an Amazoness on your side of the field is targeted, such as with..."Penguin Soldier"...
  • Spirit Reaper: "Spirit Reaper" is only destroyed by its own effect if it is face-up on the field when the effect designating it as a target activates, AND after the effect designating it as a target resolves... If "Spirit Reaper" is returned to the hand with "Penguin Soldier", it's not destroyed.
  • Spirit's Invitation: The effect of this card is applied even when a Spirit Monster is returned to its owner's hand by the effect of another card, such as "Penguin Soldier".
  • Spring of Rebirth: You gain 500 Life Points each time a monster or monsters on the field are returned to their owner's hand. So if "Penguin Soldier" returns two monsters at once, you only gain 500 Life Points.
  • Thunder Nyan Nyan: If you have a face-up "Thunder Nyan Nyan" and your Set "Penguin Soldier" is attacked, when it is flipped face-up "Thunder Nyan Nyan" will be destroyed, before it can be targeted by the effect of "Penguin Soldier".

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Penguin Soldier
  2. 2.0 2.1 Konami OCG Card Database: [Chain] "D.D. Warrior" vs "Penguin Soldier" (Flip Effect Monsters)
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: [Basic Rules] When a monster is returned to the hand by "Hane-Hane", what happens to cards equipped to the monster?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: [Basic Rules] At what time can Trap Cards etc be activated during the Damage Step?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: When the effect of "Penguin Soldier" activates when your opponent has no monsters on the field, must you return your own monsters to your hand?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: [Basic Rules] Please explain what happens when a Fusion Monster is returned to the hand.
  7. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  16. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki