FANDOM


OCG Rulings

  • It does not target. (When the effect resolves, your opponent randomly chooses 1 card from your Extra Deck, and the effect resolves depending on that choice.)[1]
  • If the result of "your opponent randomly chooses 1 card in your Extra Deck" is a ""Number" monster that has a number between "1" and "99" in its name", "Special Summon it by using this face-up card you control as the Xyz Material" is treated as the last thing to resolve. ("you cannot Special Summon for the rest of this turn" is immediately applied.)[1]
  • If the result of "your opponent randomly chooses 1 card in your Extra Deck" is not a ""Number" monster that has a number between "1" and "99" in its name", the chosen card is returned to the Extra Deck, and and the effect resolution ends. ("you cannot Special Summon for the rest of this turn" is immediately applied.)[1]
  • When resolving the effect of "Number 78: Number Archive", even if "Number 78: Number Archive" itself is in face-down Defense Position, your opponent must still randomly choose 1 card in your Extra Deck. That card will be revealed to both players, but if it is a "Number" monster whose number is 1 through 99, it cannot be Special Summoned by using "Number 78: Number Archive" as the Xyz Material, so it remains in the Extra Deck. Even so, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters for the rest of this turn is applied normally.[4]
  • Resolving the monster effect "banish that monster during the End Phase" of "Number 78: Number Archive" does not make a Chain Link. If "Number 10: Illumiknight" was Special Summoned by "Number 78: Number Archive", the Special Summoned "Number 10: Illumiknight" will be banished during the End Phase. Note that the Xyz Materials attached to "Number 10: Illumiknight", including the copy of "Number 78: Number Archive" that activated its effect, are sent to the Graveyard and not banished.[5]
  • You can activate the effect of "Number 78: Number Archive" even if you have Pendulum Monsters face-up in your Extra Deck. In that case, Pendulum Monsters that are face-up in your Extra Deck are still included among the cards that your opponent randomly chooses from. (If the randomly chosen card is a Pendulum Monster that was face-up, it returns to your Extra Deck face-up, also the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning for the rest of the turn is applied normally.)[6]
  • When resolving the effect of "Number 78: Number Archive", even if "Number 78: Number Archive" itself is on your opponent’s field, your opponent must still randomly choose 1 card in your Extra Deck. That card will be revealed to both players, but if it is a "Number" monster whose number is 1 through 99, it cannot be Special Summoned by using "Number 78: Number Archive" as the Xyz Material, so it remains in the Extra Deck. Even so, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters for the rest of this turn is applied normally.[7]
  • When resolving the effect of "Number 78: Number Archive", even if the effect of "Vanity's Emptiness" is applying, your opponent will still choose 1 random card from your Extra Deck. However, if that card is a "Number" monster whose number falls within the range of 1 through 99, since it is not possible to Special Summon it, it remains in the Extra Deck. Even in that case, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning other monsters for the rest of this turn is applied normally. Note that if "Vanity's Emptiness" is already applying, the effect of "Number 78: Number Archive" cannot be activated.[9]

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Konami OCG Card Database: Number 78: Number Archive
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: If the card randomly chosen for the monster effect of "Number 78: Number Archive" is "Number C32: Shark Drake Veiss", is it Special Summoned?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: If the card randomly chosen for the monster effect of "Number 78: Number Archive" is "Number C88: Gimmick Puppet Disaster Leo", is it Special Summoned?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of "Number 78: Number Archive", if "Number 78: Number Archive" itself has been changed to face-down Defense Position, how does it resolve?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: If the Xyz Monster is banished by the effect of "Number 78: Number Archive" in the End Phase, how does "Number 78: Number Archive" resolve?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: Can the effect of "Number 78: Number Archive" be activated while there are face-up Pendulum Monsters in your Extra Deck?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the monster effect of "Number 78: Number Archive", if control of "Number 78: Number Archive" has been changed to the opponent, how does the effect resolve?
  8. Konami OCG Card Database: If you have no available Monster Zones, can the effect of "Number 78: Number Archive" be activated?
  9. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the monster effect of "Number 78: Number Archive", if "Vanity's Emptiness" is applying, how does the effect resolve?
  10. Konami OCG Card Database: If there are no "Number" monsters in your Extra Deck, can you activate the monster effect of "Number 78: Number Archive"?

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.