FANDOM


OCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

  • While "Non-Spellcasting Area" is active, and only one player has Effect Monsters on the field, you can activate “Creature Swap” but its effect will be negated because none of the non-Effect Monsters can switch control due to a Spell Card’s effect.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Doitsu: While "Non-Spellcasting Area" is active and "Doitsu" is equipped to "Soitsu", the increase to ATK is not applied. However, the effect that destroys "Doitsu" instead of "Soitsu" is not an effect that "Soitsu" gets, so that effect is applied normally. Also, the effect of "Doitsu" that allows it to unequip and be Special Summoned is applied normally.
  • Inferno Fire Blast: If you control "Red-Eyes B. Dragon" and activate "Inferno Fire Blast" to inflict damage, and then after that resolves you activate "Non-Spellcasting Area", "Red-Eyes B. Dragon" still cannot attack because "Non-Spellcasting Area" will not negate the condition.
  • Instant Fusion: Even if "Non-Spellcasting Area" is active, a Fusion Monster that is not an Effect Monster (such as "Flame Swordsman") will still be affected by the restrictions on "Instant Fusion". So it still cannot attack and it is still destroyed at the end of this turn.
  • Ritual Foregone: Even if "Non-Spellcasting Area" is active, a Ritual Monster that is not an Effect Monster (such as "Hungry Burger") will still be affected by the restrictions on "Ritual Foregone". So it still cannot attack and it is still destroyed at the end of this turn.

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Power Bond: If "Non-Spellcasting Area" is active and "Power Bond" is used to Special Summon a Fusion Monster that has no effect, the Fusion Monster will not gain the ATK bonus from "Power Bond", but the controller will still take damage for "Power Bond" (because the player is not a non-Effect Monster Card).[Notes 3]


Notes

  1. The latest print of "Burst Stream of Destruction" has Problem-Solving Card Text which indicates that the restriction on "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" attacking is a condition that does not affect "Blue-Eyes White Dragons", so it cannot be negated by "Non-Spellcasting Area".
  2. The latest print of "Inferno Fire Blast" has Problem-Solving Card Text which indicates that the restriction on "Red-Eyes Black Dragon" attacking is a condition that does not affect "Red-Eyes Black Dragons", so it cannot be negated by "Non-Spellcasting Area".
  3. The latest print of "Power Bond" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that the damage taken is equal to the ATK gained from "Power Bond", so if the Fusion Monster does not gain ATK the player does not take damage.

References

  1. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Non-Spellcasting Area" is applied to the field, will a monster Special Summoned by "Ritual Foregone" or "Instant Fusion" be destroyed?
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  3. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  11. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.