TCG Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

Out of Date

OCG Rulings

  • If "Marauding Captain" is Normal Summoned by the effect of "Ultimate Offering" in the middle of a chain (and is not the last step of the chain to resolve), then you have missed the timing on his effect and you cannot activate his effect to Special Summon a monster from your hand.[2]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

  • If your opponent activates "Torrential Tribute" in response to the Summoning of "Maurading Captain" [sic] (by chaining to the Trigger Effect of "Marauding Captain"), all monsters on the field will be destroyed, and then you Special Summon for "Maurading Captain"’s [sic] effect. If they wait and activate "Torrential Tribute" in response to the Special Summoning of a monster for the effect of "Marauding Captain", then all monsters will be destroyed including the newly-Special Summoned monster.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Diffusion Wave-Motion: You cannot activate "Diffusion Wave-Motion"... if your opponent controls 2 "Marauding Captains" ....
  • Gilasaurus: The effect of this card only activates when you elect to change its Normal Summon to a Special Summon. Not if it is Special Summoned by... "Marauding Captain"....
  • King Tiger Wanghu: If "King Tiger Wanghu" is on the field and "Marauding Captain" is Summoned, "Marauding Captain" can still activate its effect and Special Summon a monster even though "Marauding Captain" is destroyed.
  • Patrician of Darkness: The effect of "Patrician of Darkness" does not override the effects of "Marauding Captain"... You cannot choose an attack target prevented by the effects of these cards. Examples: ...You cannot choose another Warrior-Type monster as an attack target when you control "Marauding Captain".
  • Raregold Armor: If you have a Warrior-Type monster equipped with "Raregold Armor", and "Marauding Captain", your opponent cannot attack.
  • Royal Oppression: Example 1: If "Marauding Captain" is Normal Summoned, its effect activates. You can chain to this effect by activating the effect of "Royal Oppression". The effect of "Marauding Captain" is negated, no monster is Special Summoned, and the "Marauding Captain" is destroyed. (The monster your opponent intended to Special Summon with the effect of "Marauding Captain" remains in his hand.)


  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.

Out of Date

  1. This is no longer correct due to the removal of Ignition Effect priority. Ignition Effects cannot be activated in the Summon response window.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: Stumbling
  2. Konami FAQ: [Chain] If you Summon "Marauding Captain" with "Ultimate Offering"'s effect in the middle of a chain, can you use the effect?
  3. 3.0 3.1 Konami FAQ: Can "Solemn Warning" be Chained to a Spell or Trap Card which does not include Special Summoning?
  4. 4.0 4.1 Konami FAQ: If "King of the Swamp" is used as a Fusion Material, then does the ATK of "Elemental HERO Neos Knight" increase?
  5. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.