FANDOM


TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • "Once per turn, during the Standby Phase, you must pay 700 LP (this is not optional), or this card is destroyed." is a cost to keep "Imperial Order" on the field. (It does not start a Chain Link.)[1]
  • While "Imperial Order" is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, you must pay Life Points during each your Standby Phases and your opponent's Standby Phases. (If you have 700 or more Life Points, you must always pay Life Points. If you have less than 700 Life Points, since you cannot pay Life Points, "Imperial Order" is destroyed.)
  • The effect "Negate all Spell effects on the field." does not start a Chain Link.[1]
  • After the effect of "Thorn of Malice" decreases the ATK and DEF of an opponent's monster by 600, the ATK and DEF remain lowered even if "Thorn of Malice" leaves the field or is negated by an effect like "Imperial Order". The decrease to ATK and DEF lasts as long as the monster remains face-up on the field.[4]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Scrap Lube: "You cannot conduct your Battle Phase the turn you activate this card" is not treated as an effect. Thus, if "Scrap Lube" is removed from the field or is negated (by "Imperial Order", etc.) in the same turn that it is activated, then you still cannot conduct your Battle Phase.[8]

Previously Official Rulings

  • If you activate "Imperial Order" while Equip Spell Cards are equipped to monsters, the Equip Spell Cards remain equipped to the monsters but their effects are negated.
  • Spell Cards can still be activated while "Imperial Order" is active, but their effects are negated.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • 7: If you have 3 "7"'s and activate their effect, your opponent can chain "Imperial Order" to negate the effect.
  • Axe of Despair: Since "Axe of Despair" activates in the Graveyard, you can Tribute a monster to return it to the top of your Deck even if "Imperial Order" is on the field.
  • Bait Doll: If "Bait Doll" is activated and targets an "Imperial Order" the opponent may chain the "Imperial Order" which will negate the effect of "Bait Doll" and it will not be returned to your Deck. Or the opponent can allow "Bait Doll" to force the activation of "Imperial Order", and "Bait Doll" will be shuffled into the Deck and "Imperial Order" will remain active on the field because the timing of its activation was legitimate.
  • Barrel Behind the Door: "Barrel Behind the Door" can only be activated against DAMAGE. It cannot be activated against costs like "Imperial Order"...
  • Big Bang Shot: When "Imperial Order" is active, and you destroy "Big Bang Shot" with "Dust Tornado", the effect of "Big Bang Shot" that would remove the monster from play is NOT applied.
  • Black Pendant: "Black Pendant" activates in the Graveyard, so if it is destroyed when "Imperial Order" is on the field, it still does damage to your opponent.
  • Butterfly Dagger - Elma: While "Imperial Order" is active, if "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, it can return to your hand.
  • Clock Tower Prison: If "Spell Canceller" is Summoned or "Imperial Order" is activated, all the Clock Counters will be removed from "Clock Tower Prison".
  • Dark Necrofear: If "Imperial Order" is active when "Dark Necrofear" is destroyed while a Monster Card, it must still be equipped to your opponent's monster, but you will not gain control of it because its effect is negated by "Imperial Order".
  • Dark Room of Nightmare: A cost is not damage so this card's effect does not apply against...costs for "Imperial Order", etc.
  • Dark Snake Syndrome: If "Imperial Order" is active, you still increase the damage from turn to turn for "Dark Snake Syndrome" even though no damage is dealt.
  • Destiny Board: If "Imperial Order" is active on the field it will not stop the effect of "Destiny Board" to place Spirit Messages on the field, nor will it stop a player who completes the message from declaring victory.
  • Different Dimension Capsule: If "Imperial Order" is activated, count the Standby Phases normally for "Different Dimension Capsule". If "Imperial Order" is active during the 2nd Standby Phase, you cannot add the removed card to your hand and "Different Dimension Capsule" stays on the field meaninglessly, and the removed card remains removed from play for the rest of the Duel.
  • Different Dimension Capsule: If "Imperial Order" is chained to the activation of "Different Dimension Capsule", then the effect of selecting a card from your Deck disappears and "Different Dimension Capsule" is destroyed.
  • Dust Barrier: If "Imperial Order" is active during the 2nd Standby Phase after activation, "Dust Barrier" is still destroyed.
  • Ekibyo Drakmord: If "Imperial Order" was active during the end of the second turn, a monster equipped with "Ekibyo Drakmord" will not be destroyed and "Ekibyo Drakmord" will remain equipped to it.
  • Emergency Provisions: If you have "Imperial Order" active on your side of the field, you may send it to the Graveyard as part of the cost to activate "Emergency Provisions" and "Emergency Provisions" will not be negated.
  • Final Countdown: When your opponent chains "Imperial Order" to your "Final Countdown", the effect of "Final Countdown" is negated and you cannot start counting turns. But if "Final Countdown" is activated and resolves, and later "Imperial Order" is activated, it will have no effect on "Final Countdown" because "Final Countdown" will be in the Graveyard.
  • Gravekeeper's Assailant: If "Imperial Order" and "Necrovalley" are both in play, "Necrovalley" is still on the field so you can still activate the effect of "Gravekeeper's Assailant".
  • Hieroglyph Lithograph: The effect of "Hieroglyph Lithograph" cannot be negated by "Imperial Order" after "Hieroglyph Lithograph" has resolved. You can, of course, chain "Imperial Order" to the activation of "Hieroglyph Lithograph" to negate the effect.
  • Inferno Fire Blast: If "Imperial Order" is chained to "Inferno Fire Blast", the effect of "Inferno Fire Blast" is negated but "Red-Eyes B. Dragon" cannot attack...
  • Jar Robber: "Jar Robber" must be the very next step in the chain, so if you activate "Pot of Greed" and your opponent chains "Imperial Order", you cannot activate "Jar Robber".
  • Last Will: If "Imperial Order" is activated after "Last Will" has resolved, it will not negate "Last Will's" effect.
  • Magic Reflector: If "Imperial Order" is active, and if a Spell Card with a counter on it would be destroyed, the counter is removed instead. "Imperial Order" does not negate the function of counters created by the effect of "Magic Reflector".
  • Maiden of the Aqua: The effect of "Maiden of the Aqua" is active only when there is no face-up Field Spell Card on the field. ...If there is a face-up Field Spell Card but it is negated by "Imperial Order", the effect of "Maiden of the Aqua" is not active.
  • Mirage of Nightmare: When the turn player controls "Mirage of Nightmare" and "Imperial Order":
    • If you draw for "Mirage of Nightmare" during your opponent's Standby Phase, and then activate "Imperial Order" after that, during your Standby Phase you will have 2 mandatory effects: discarding for "Mirage of Nightmare" and paying 700 Life Points for "Imperial Order" or else destroying it. In this case, you choose which effect to resolve first, and you can choose to resolve "Mirage of Nightmare" first, even though its effect will be negated by "Imperial Order".
    • So you activate its effect, and do not discard. Then you can choose not to pay 700 Life Points to keep "Imperial Order", and "Imperial Order" will be destroyed.[Notes 1] Then you can enter Main Phase 1, and you did not have to discard for "Mirage of Nightmare" (because its effect was negated at the time you chose to resolve it).
  • Mirage of Nightmare: When the turn player controls "Imperial Order" and the opponent controls "Mirage of Nightmare":
    • If the opponent controls "Mirage of Nightmare" going into the turn player's Standby Phase, and the turn player already controls a face-up "Imperial Order", then there are 2 mandatory effects that must be resolved: the turn player must pay 700 Life Points or destroy "Imperial Order", and the opponent must draw cards for "Mirage of Nightmare". The turn player has priority to resolve an effect first. If the turn player passes, priority goes to the opponent. If the opponent also passes, then the turn player must resolve an effect, and must pay for "Imperial Order" or it is destroyed. If he does not pay, and "Imperial Order" is destroyed, then the opponent can draw for "Mirage of Nightmare".
  • Necrovalley: If the effect of "Necrovalley" is negated by "Imperial Order", then cards that require "Necrovalley" on the field, such as "Gravekeeper's Assailant", etc., can still apply their effects because "Necrovalley" is still on the field.
  • Offerings to the Doomed: Skipping your next Draw Phase is not a cost, so if your opponent chains..."Imperial Order" to negate this card, you do NOT skip your next Draw Phase.
  • Premature Burial: If you activate this card and your opponent chains "Imperial Order" the effect of "Premature Burial" is negated and the Special Summon never occurs, but you still pay 800 Life Points. If "Imperial Order" is activated after "Premature Burial" is already on the field, the equipped monster is NOT destroyed and "Premature Burial" remains on the field meaninglessly. If "Premature Burial" is then destroyed while "Imperial Order" is still active, the monster remains on the field, but if the monster is destroyed, "Premature Burial" is also destroyed, since it is still equipped to that monster.
  • Scapegoat: If your opponent chains..."Imperial Order" [to your Scapegoat] you may not perform Summons.
  • Scapegoat: If you activate "Monster Reborn" and your opponent chains "Imperial Order" you can chain "Scapegoat" and "Royal Decree" but only "Scapegoat" will resolve since "Scapegoat" will prevent any Special Summons, and therefore "Monster Reborn" cannot resolve.
  • Smoke Grenade of the Thief: If "Imperial Order" is active on the field, the effect of "Smoke Grenade of the Thief" is not activated, even if it is destroyed by a card effect.
  • Soul Exchange: If the activation of your "Soul Exchange" is negated (by "Solemn Judgment", etc.), you may conduct your Battle Phase. If only the effect of "Soul Exchange" is negated (by "Imperial Order", etc.), you may not conduct your Battle Phase.
  • Spirit of the Pot of Greed: If "Imperial Order" negates the effect of "Pot of Greed", "Spirit of the Pot of Greed"'s effect still activates because "Pot of Greed"'s activation was not negated.
  • Spirit Reaper: "Spirit Reaper" is destroyed by its own effect after a card that targets it resolves. If a Spell Card targets it, and the activation of that Spell Card is negated (such as with "Magic Jammer"), then "Spirit Reaper" is not destroyed. However, if the effect of the Spell Card was negated, such as if "Imperial Order" is active, then "Spirit Reaper" is destroyed because the Spell Card resolves (even though its effect is negated). Even if "Imperial Order" is already active on the field, you can activate a card such as "Tribute to the Doomed" designating "Spirit Reaper", and "Spirit Reaper" will be destroyed by its own effect.
  • Sword Hunter: While "Imperial Order" is active, you do not gain ATK for the Monster Cards equipped to "Sword Hunter".
  • Swords of Revealing Light: If "Imperial Order" is active on the field you can still activate "Swords of Revealing Light" and it will maintain its turn count, but it will NOT flip monsters face-up or prevent the opponent from attacking. If "Imperial Order" is destroyed after "Swords of Revealing Light" has been on the field for two of your opponent's turns, it will only prevent your opponent from attacking for one turn and then be destroyed.
  • Talisman of Trap Sealing: While "Imperial Order" and "Talisman of Trap Sealing" are both active, and "Sealmaster Meisei" is removed from the field, "Talisman of Trap Sealing" stays on the field, but if "Imperial Order"'s effect is no longer being applied, "Talisman of Trap Sealing" is destroyed.
  • Tyrant Dragon: You Tribute a Dragon-Type monster when the effect that Special Summons "Tyrant Dragon" resolves, not when it activates. So if you activate "Monster Reborn" and target "Tyrant Dragon" and your opponent chains "Imperial Order" and negates "Monster Reborn" you do not Tribute a Dragon-Type monster...
  • Venom Swamp: If "Venom Swamp" is negated by "Imperial Order", etc., Venom Counters placed by its effect remain in play.
  • Wave-Motion Cannon: If "Imperial Order" is active on the field, count Standby Phases as normal for "Wave-Motion Cannon".
  • Weapon Change: If "Imperial Order" is activated after "Weapon Change", "Weapon Change"'s effect is negated, but if "Imperial Order" is destroyed, then "Weapon Change"'s effect is re-applied.

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Burst Stream of Destruction: It is an effect of "Burst Stream of Destruction" that "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" cannot attack, so if "Non-Spellcasting Area" is on the field, "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" CAN attack. If "Imperial Order" is activated later, "Burst Stream of Destruction"'s effect is negated and "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" CAN attack.[Notes 2]


Notes

  1. The latest print of "Imperial Order" has Problem-Solving Card Text which states that paying the maintenance cost is not optional, so the only case in which it will be destroyed instead of the player paying the cost is if the player is unable to pay the cost. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Imperial Order".
  2. The latest print of "Burst Stream of Destruction" has Problem-Solving Card Text which indicates that the restriction on "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" attacking is a condition that does not affect "Blue-Eyes White Dragons", so it cannot be negated by "Non-Spellcasting Area" or "Imperial Order".

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Konami OCG Card Database: Imperial Order
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: When the effect of "Venom Swamp" and another card reduce a monster's ATK to 0, how is it resolved?
  3. Konami FAQ: When the effect of "Magical Citadel of Endymion" is negated, are all Spell Counters on it removed?
  4. Konami FAQ: How long do you apply the effect of "Thorn of Malice" which decreases the ATK and DEF of a monster?
  5. Konami FAQ: If you do not pay the maintenance cost of "Mirror Wall" etc, is it still destroyed if "Imperial Custom" is active?
  6. Konami FAQ: When "Brain Research Lab" is negated, are the Psychic Counters on it removed?
  7. Konami FAQ: Is the effect which Special Summons a "Dragunity Phalanx" which is an Equip Card negated by "Imperial Order"?
  8. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Scrap Lube" is removed from the field in the same turn that it was activated, then can you conduct your Battle Phase?
  9. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  16. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  17. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  18. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.