Wikia

Yu-Gi-Oh!

Card Rulings:Hand Destruction

93,236pages on
this wiki
Talk3

OCG Rulings

  • If there are not at least two cards in both your hand and your opponent's hand, or if there are not at least two cards in both your Deck and your opponent's Deck, "Hand Destruction" cannot be activated.[1]
  • "Each player sends 2 cards from their hand to the Graveyard" and "then draws 2 cards" are not treated as being done at the same time. Also, each player drawing by "then draws 2 cards" is treated as happening at the same time.[1]
  • The first player conducts their Draw Phase during their first turn, but they only cannot conduct their normal draw at the start of that Draw Phase. Therefore, if the effect of the card "Hand Destruction", etc. is activated, it is possible to draw by a card's effect.[3]
  • When resolving "Hand Destruction", if the number of cards in either player's hand has become 1 or fewer and so 2 cards cannot be sent to the Graveyard, the resolution of the effect of "Hand Destruction" is not applied. Neither player sends cards from their hand to the Graveyard or draws.[4]
  • When resolving "Hand Destruction", even if the number of cards in either player's Deck has become 1 or fewer, the effect is still applied. Because 2 cards must be drawn from the Deck, the player who cannot draw 2 cards loses the Duel.[4]
  • Even if the cards that would have been sent to the Graveyard by "Hand Destruction" are banished without being sent to the Graveyard by the effect of "Macro Cosmos", "Banisher of the Light", etc., after that 2 cards are still drawn from the Deck.[5]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Arkbrave Dragon: If "Arkbrave Dragon" is sent to the Graveyard during the Draw Phase by the effect of "Hand Destruction", etc., its effect will not activate during the Standby Phase of the same turn. If "Arkbrave Dragon" was sent to the Graveyard, its effect can be activated during the Standby Phase of the next turn. (Therefore, even if "Arkbrave Dragon" is sent to the Graveyard during the Draw Phase, its effect cannot be activated during the Standby Phase of this turn, but it can be activated during the Standby Phase of the next turn.)[7]

Previously Official Rulings

  • If either player has 1 or less cards in their hand when "Hand Destruction" resolves, its effect disappears.[Notes 1] If either player has 1 or less cards remaining in their Deck, they lose the Duel when they are unable to draw a card.


Notes

  1. The latest print of "Hand Destruction" uses Problem-Solving Card Text, which makes it clear that even if one player cannot discard, the other player still does and then draws.

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Konami OCG Card Database: Hand Destruction
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Sillva, Warlord of Dark World" use its effect to Special Summon itself from the Graveyard when it is sent to the Graveyard by the effect of "Hand Destruction" or "Veil of Darkness"?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: Do you conduct the Draw Phase in the first player's first turn?
  4. 4.0 4.1 Konami OCG Card Database: If the number of cards in the hand or Deck becomes 1 when "Hand Destruction" resolves, how does it resolve?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: At the time "Hand Destruction" is being resolved, if cards sent to the Graveyard are banished instead due to the effect of "Macro Cosmos", etc., can cards be drawn?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Hand Destruction" be activated if "Protector of the Sanctuary" is face-up on the field?
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Arkbrave Dragon" is sent to the Graveyard during the Draw Phase, can its monster effect be activated during that turn's Standby Phase?
  8. Konami OCG Card Database: When resolving the effect of a Tribute Summoned "Erebus the Underworld Monarch", if there are no longer 2 different "Monarch" Spell/Trap Cards in your hand/Deck, how does its effect resolve?
  9. Konami OCG Card Database: After activating the monster effect of "Zushin the Sleeping Giant" in the hand, if "Zushin the Sleeping Giant" is no longer in the hand, what happens to the Zushin Counters placed on a monster(s)?
  10. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  16. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  17. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  18. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  19. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki