Card Rulings:Gorz the Emissary of Darkness

99,116pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk8 Share

TCG Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

OCG Rulings

On Special Summoning

Missing the timing

  • If you take damage in the middle of a chain, then you cannot activate the effect of "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness". Its effect cannot interrupt the resolution of a chain, and after the chain resolves, you have missed the timing to activate the effect.[8]



On the Token

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings


  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.
  2. The example with "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" is invalid since "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" can only activate its effect when its controller receives effect damage by an opponent's effect, and "Against the Wind" can only inflict damage to its controller, not to its opponent.


  1. Konami Judge Program Forum: Trap trigger effect and chains, Gorz, Robbin Goblin
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Damage Step: X-Saber Airbellum vs Gorz
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: solemn warning/judgement, or War Chariot vs Gorz.
  4. Konami Judge Program Forum: Gorz/tragodia/battle fader vs solemn judgement
  5. Konami FAQ: When you take damage from "Ring of Destruction", can you activate the effect which Special Summons "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness"?
  6. Konami FAQ: If you have multiple "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness", when you take damage, can you Special Summon multiple copies?
  7. Konami FAQ: When "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" and "Tragoedia" are in your hand, when you receive Battle Damage, can both be activated as a chain?
  8. Konami FAQ: When you take Effect Damage at Chain Link 2 or higher, can "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" be Special Summoned?
  9. Konami FAQ: Are the "damage" and "add to your hand" effects of "Against the Wind" considered to resolve simultaneously?
  10. Konami FAQ: For "Evil Thorn", are the "damage" and "add to your hand" [sic] effects considered to resolve simultaneously?
  11. Konami FAQ: When "Spirit Reaper" deals Battle Damage, can "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" be chained and Special Summon itself?
  12. Konami FAQ: Can "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" be Special Summoned in chain to the effect of "Fake Explosion"?
  13. 13.0 13.1 Konami FAQ: Please explain what Special Summons can and cannot be negated by the effects of "Thunder King Rai-Oh", "Solemn Judgment", and so on.
  14. 14.0 14.1 Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" negate the effect of a monster like "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" which activates in the hand?
  15. Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "The Fabled Unicore" negate the effect of a card which activates in a place other than on the field?
  16. Konami FAQ: When "Megamorph" and "Shrink" are activated and target "Emissary of Darkness Token", how does its ATK change?
  17. Konami FAQ: What is the Original ATK and DEF of a Token Monster?
  18. 18.0 18.1 Konami FAQ: If you Tribute monsters like "Zoma the Spirit" or a Token Monster to Summon "The Tyrant Neptune", then do its ATK and DEF increase?
  19. 19.0 19.1 Konami FAQ: Please explain whether or not a player can activate an effect which Special Summons a monster while the effect of "Calming Magic" is being applied.
  20. 20.0 20.1 20.2 20.3 20.4 20.5 20.6 UDE Official Judge List: Rulings Update: November 20, 2008: Gorz the Emissary of Darkness
  21. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  22. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  23. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  24. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  25. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  26. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  27. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  28. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  29. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.